We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed Two Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stayed Two Nights”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed two nights during summer off ski season. It is an apartment located 5-10 minutes walk away from all the 'downtown' shops. I felt it is perfect location. Front desk speaks English, rooms were very clean, and staff was very willing to assist. What else can you ask for. Underground garage would be fantastic if this was winter. Only have two items for feedback that are fairly minor....keep pool open later for the kids (9pm is too early) and add a tv for the bedroom. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    117
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
170
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I booked a Studio room and was impressed with the size. It was very clean. All wood flooring and all wood closets. Lots of storage space. Great location. Has parking underground. We took our 2 dogs and it was pet friendly with a large pasture behind the hotel to take your dogs out to use the restroom.Flat screen TV with a few English channels. I took a star off because we were on the 5th floor on the corner and we had no Wifi in our room, so we had to go to the lobby to use the internet which was a big hassle for us.We also had a balcony and just wished there were better furniture to make use of the balcony, it was plastic chairs and table and were dirty. They have a drying rack on the balcony which was cool and a warmer for your clothes/towels in the bathroom.Another slight problem was there is no plugins in the bathroom and no mirrors outside of the bathroom so it was hard to dry your hair, my hairdryer could just barely reach the edge of the mirror in the bathroom so I could somewhat style my hair. The hairdryer provided in the bathroom was awful, it would take you 2 hours to dry your hair

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is very well located, 7-10 minutes walk away from everything. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Very clean hotel. My kids ordered a bottle of water and they even delivered that to the room, unlike European hotels ! Rooms are fully equipped with kitchen.
The rooms/ hotel is designed in Swiss style and has the best views of Midi and Mont Blanc... I think the best views we had of Mont Blanc were from the hotel... Has a small heated inside pool.. was a nice dip !

Room Tip: ask for a room with view to Mont Blanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApurvGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived may 26 and stayed for 6 nights! There must have been only 5 couples in the entired place while we were there! The staff were very friendly and helpful, our apartment was upgraded at no charge due to it being the quiet season and it was also spotlessly clean. When we return we will be staying here again and that is a 100% guarantee. We had a mt blanc view which was amazing! Be warned though that the prices in Chamonix itself are high! €7-€9 for a pint! Even a McDonald's is over double the standard english price! The €50 price tag for the Aguile Du Midi and €27.50 for the train to the Mer De Glace are high but well worth it and I would recommend going on a clear day to guarantee a good view! Also check Which lifts are open before booking a stay in chamonix as these vary between seasons.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G4vvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very nice room with kitchen and the most amazing views of the Alps. Great hiking right out the front door. The hotel is located just outside the busy part of Chamonix but just a few minute walk to the pedestrian area. The staff was helpful with obtaining ski passes and the pool was very nice after a long day skiing. Easy access to the city bus syste.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfriderVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for a week in the last half of April. We had one of the 45m3 apartments which was perfect of our needs. With a comfortable lounge with a stunning view of the mountains, small but usable kitchen and very comfortable bedroom. All was very clean when we arrived.

It is only a short walk to the centre of Chamonix and it is just far enough out to be quiet. Occupancy was very low when we were there, which meant a week of peace.

If you do stop here and can't be bothered to cook for yourself, visit the Cousin Albert restaurant on the way into town. It is one of the better restaurants and not so expensive.

The only negative points were the pool, which really was too cold to be any fun and the internet which would sometimes fail over night. I suspect it would struggle when fully occupied too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davestly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Having previously stayed in shoebox sized apartments which would credibly pass for a dog shelter back home my expectations of the 3-person accommodation we'd booked via Neilson were pretty low prior to arrival. How wrong I was. Surprisingly well appointed and spacious apartment, fully equipped with all necessary amenities and TV (with plenty of international channels) and DVD player. Bring your swimming gear too as there's also a fabulous pool. Location wise it's no more that a 5 minute walk to the main bars and restaurants in the town and is as ski-in/out as anything in Chamonix is. We didn't need to have a huge amount of interaction with the staff beyond checking in and out but both processes were smooth and pleasurable. If I had to be picky the Wifi coverage is distinctly patchy once you get any distance from Reception - but at least it has Wifi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,057 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
523 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#20 of 73 in Chamonix
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons Du Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons Du Savoy

Property: Les Balcons Du Savoy
Address: 179 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Balcons Du Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Suites Hotel with suites from 45m2 to 85m2. In each suite : bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom, balcony or terrace, view on the Mont-Blanc range. - Swimming pool - Sauna & steam bath - Fitness - Arcade - Concierge 24/24 - Private underground carpark - Apres-ski bar / Tea room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Balcons Du Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons Du Savoy Hotel Chamonix
Les Balcons Du Savoy Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing