We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Really good hotel with good staff and facilities in a fantastic location with great views of Mont Blanc and the glacier.
This was our second stay at this hotel for 8 days walking and sightseeing and no doubt we will be back again soon.
I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DexterG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    440
    133
    36
    16
See reviews for
211
510
40
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Great place, great room, great service, great everything

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We had a great experience here. It really added to our enjoyment of Chamonix. The staff was superb, and gave excellent recommendations and help. The pool was a perfect temperature, and the view of the mountains from the room was spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and the food is good. The pool and indoor gym are an added bonus! The hotel is about five minutes walk from the centre of chamonix but the bus stops more or less direc tly outside the front door if you dont want to walk. My husband and i just didnt want to leave!. Thre is free internet access via two computers situated in the bar / lounge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunk5pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in July, the amneties for this hotels are amzing, indoor parking, Pool with a view, jacuzzi, steam bath, sauna, massage. This is one of the best Best Westerns we stayed in. The restaurant food qulity was superb as well. The hotel is close to everything so you can easy walk to the attractions. My only negative comment no AC, so if you are situated on the road side vs garden - pool side you and open your window lots of noice, if you leave your door clode then it gets very hot. Over all great value for the money, the redecorations are wonderfull. Dont hesitate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thematou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
538 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Check in was efficient; the staff spoke English and were very helpful. Rooms are modern and spotlessly clean. Our room overlooked the pool, so we had full view of Mt Blanc and the Aiguille du Midi lift. I recommend you ask for a room facing the mountain at check in. Our balcony was very lovely, but you could only stand outside (no chairs to sit on). The room is not air conditioned, but we opened the door to the balcony and the room was chilled each evening. No bugs bothered us, even though there was no screen to the balcony. We stayed for one week in July when temperatures tend to be hot during the day. Our room was comfortable the whole time.

The breakfast was very nice with fresh juices and unlimited buffet. The pool was very nice, but always crowded during my stay (except during dinner time). There was a nice bar that had live music one night.

The hotel is located very close to the main bus center for Chamonix - the "Chamonix Sud" stop. All buses pass the stop. You can get a free "visitor" pass from the front desk to use on any bus or train.

The main street in Chamonix where all the stores and restaurants are located is within easy walking distance.

Only downside to the hotel was lack of exercise facilities and a business center. At a minimum a computer with a printer where we could check in for our return flights and printed our boarding passes would have been nice.

If you book this hotel, ask them about the airport transfer from Geneva. They can advise a reliable shuttle service for 12 euros per person.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Booked this hotel for a two week holiday in July after reading the Trip Adviser reviews. Staff were very efficient and helpful, room was a good size, very comfortable and expectionally clean. Pool and garden area are great and well kept. Good variety of food at breakfast and evening meal was delicious. Wines are quite expensive but no pressure to buy. Location was excellent, just two minutes from centre of town, so nice and quiet, and handy for bus and cable car. Would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to visit again some day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbcur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
389 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Property: Le Refuge des Aiglons
Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing