We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveler rating
539
515
163
48
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
515
163
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busmont blancchamonix sud bus stopshag pile carpetspa facilitiescable carsteam roomhot tubhalf boardair conditioningswimming poolsuperior roomtown centreexcellent hotelmountain viewfew minutes walkski shop
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2017

Sweet hotel. Great staff, very helpful. The outdoor heated pool and sauna area is outstanding - just what you need after getting up early to battle the crowds up to Mont Blanc! And that view from the pool is breathtaking. Treat yourself and stay here, you wont regret it!.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Prudense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann C, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear Prudense,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments with us and for your very positive review concerning your stay at Le Refuge des Aiglons****.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Yann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017

We stayed ten nights at this hotel on an Inghams Lakes and Mountain package. It has a good location close to the bus station, where the two local buses of most use to visitors both stop, and to the Aiguille du Midi cable car system. We had paid a supplement to have a room with a view of Mt Blanc but the room we were allocated only had views of birch trees which completely hid the mountain. The next morning we pointed this out and were told we had a room on the same side as the mountain. We suggested that this was not the same as actually seeing the mountain.and we were moved to another room which did, indeed, have a nice view of Mt Blanc.

Room decor is a matter of personal choice so our room would appeal to those who like dark brown walls and ceiling and dark brown carpet and who are content with such dull lighting that reading is difficult. It would also appeal to those who don't mind a lack of comfortable chairs to sit on. The sofa was too small to seat two people while the other chair was of an extremely small and very uncomfortable metal construction. The room though was kept clean so the quality of room service was good.

The food was of variable quality. The breakfasts were fine with a good choice of food including freshly made pancakes. The evening meals were less impressive. The presentation usually looked good but the taste often disappointed. The sauces were invariably very salty and the vegetables were usually pureed and with no discernable taste. The serving staff were friendly but the service was sometimes terrible. One evening we waited 30 minutes before our order was taken while on another occasion we waited 25 minutes to give our order, our starter came 45 minutes after we entered the restaurant and the main course only came after 85 minutes. After all that time the food could be expected to be hot but it was tepid. My wife sent the fish back and after a suitable time the same fish, albeit somewhat disguised, was brought back rather than a freshly cooked one. It was little better and unappetising.

If we judge the hotel overall by comparing it with similar quality hotels we have stayed in previously on a number of Ighams holidays then it was the least impressive in terms of room size, quality and food.

Room Tip: A mountain view is well worth opting for but make sure you don't end up payig for such a view only to find it is obscured by trees.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rah14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann C, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear jeffveilleux,

Thank very much for your detailled comments

We all really hope having the chance to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Yann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a week at this hotel recently and would recommend it for its location (a 10 minute walk from the city centre) and its friendly staff. The restaurant had a good fixed menu as well as a more expensive a la Carte choice. The buffet breakfast was superb they even made fresh crepes to order. Chamonix itself was a pleasant surprise as even in the summer it is very busy with plenty of shops and restaurants.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann C, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear Liz N,

We thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments with us and for your very positive review concerning your stay at Le Refuge des Aiglons****.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Yann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

Exellent location. A few steps from the bus station and 5- 10 min walk from the city center and the main attractions. The staff is kind and welcoming. Loved the big rooms with view on the mountains and balcony, big bathrooms, free wifi, tea an coffee. Loved the urban decoration, the outside pool and generally the hotel had a great atmosphere. We went off season and payed much less than season prices.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank zalchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann C, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear zalchemist,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments with us and for your very positive review concerning your stay at Le Refuge des Aiglons****.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Yann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

Lovely hotel just a few minutes walk from the centre of Chamonix. Stunning views of Mont Blanc. However the rooms are quite small and get quite warm during the night. We opened the patio doors to cool the room down and then had the noise from the busy road outside from early morning. Apart from that would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a mountain view room away from the road
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceriandkev13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann C, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear ceriandkev13,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments with us and for your very positive review concerning your stay at Le Refuge des Aiglons****.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Yann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews