We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We spent two nights in Chamonix with our adult daughter in July.
Our very large room / suite (2 bath - 2 bed rooms) balcony was opening on a spectacular view of the Mont Blanc and le glacier des Bossons. Absolutely superb.
It seems like most of the rooms are enjoying a similar view.
Very comfortable, modern and trendy this hotel has the intelligence to emphasize a relaxed "mountain vacations" feel.
One of this property's best asset is the staff. From the manager and the check in desk to the young men taking care of lugage or the breakfast waiters waitresses, all were welcoming, competent, charming and helpful .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Froggytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    440
    133
    36
    16
See reviews for
211
510
40
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limington, Maine
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We went to Chamonix to do some climbing. We had reservations to stay at this hotel the first and last nights of our trip. The staff here was super friendly and helpful. They stored the bulk of our climbing gear which we were able to access anytime we weren't camped in the mountains to swap out equipment for day hikes and ice climbing. The weather turned horrbile for us and we ended up staying here for a couple extra days mid-week. The folks at the front desk called to reserve a tent site for us at a camping area and arranged transportation to and from Geneva's. The bus stop is right across the street as well and everything is within walking distance. I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed here for a week in June/July and really enjoyed the hotel. The room was well equipped and modern, comfortable and very clean. The mountain view from our balcony was a delight. Every single employee we met--the wait staff in the restaurant, the people at the front desk, housekeeping people, everyone--was unfailingly helpful, polite and friendly. The food and service in the hotel's restaurant were so good that we ate there more than once, even though there were many other good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engiebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Stayed at Hotel les Aiglons [a Best Western] for three nights and again for one night while trecking around Mont Blanc with Mountain Sobek. Each time the room was perfect, with a nice balcony looking over the pool, high speed internet included, and LOTS of closet space [skiers stay here for a week or more at a time in the winter].

Staff were very helpful and nice [one told use about Chalet de les Florets, which was a great little hike up one of the mountain trails from Chamonix and is so nice we went back thrree times]; there is a good restaurant downstairs; and good bar and meeting rooms. Handy location -- easy walk to the rest of Chamonix and out on to the trails around Chamonix.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed a total of 6 nights at this hotel prior to/after the Chamonix marathon and self-guided 10 day tour of Mont Blanc trek, and found the location great and staff, particularly Alona, invaluable in helping to plan the rest of my itinerary in the region. She was friendly and conscientous and offered to call and make several reservations for me (in French) and made my stay most enjoyable. There is a comfortable lounge and free internet which was convenient. I also enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi, pool and sauna, but the spa (hot stone massage) was incredibly disappointing. Breakfast was good, if not a bit expensive.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherivp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

A Best Western upgraded in to a minimalistic decor of crispness and spaciousness complementing the grandeur of the overlooking Mont Blanc. A superior room has that view. Cuisine is outstanding from the shy, retiring David Cochereau - the total antitheses
of another well known chef in the UK.The spa is being developed at present but the heated pool and jacuzzi excellent.
Location is on the edge of the town , quiet ,but 10 mins walk to the main centre.
Staff welcoming and helpful particularly to walkers with a fund of tips and information.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horatioHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

This hotel was excellent, very good value for money, it was worth waiting until the last minute to book, as we got an even better deal as it was low-season. The spa facilities were fantastic and very clean. Hotel room was spacious and very clean and modern.
Only a 5 minute walk away from the main area of the village. Parking is available right accross the street for free.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samwel1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,089 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
516 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Property: Le Refuge des Aiglons
Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing