We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very welcoming and friendly staff. Great place to stay as it's walking distance from the lovely town and attractions. Clean and spacious room with mountain view. There are several eateries as well as laundry closeby. If you want to hike, there are several trails but please do your research. As for the town, it is always picturesque in autumn and winter..our favourite place to visit in france.





Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Zad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
There are newer reviews for Le Refuge des Aiglons
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Quite conveniently located (near the Aiguille du Midi) and professionally run, but not really up to expectations: average rooms, average atmosphere, average services. The outdoor swimming pool was heated (in February) more or less just enough for the water not to freeze, but certainly not enough to deserve the term 'heated' or to be advertised at all in the winter season. Restaurant fine but rather pricey; we preferred to eat our in the town centre or around the Aiguille du Midi. Will not return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We picked this place because it is within walking distance to the cable car, also free parking nearby which is a bit hard to find. When we arrive on a Saturday night the nearby free parking lot was full, however the reception immediately worked something out for us. Very good. The buffet breakfast (15 EUR) is one of the best hotel breakfast I have ever had. We will definitely stay there again. The only thing to improve is the air inside the room is not that fresh as the A/C is not adjustable... may be OK for winter seasons.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FL360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

If anyone has a Glocals deal its worth every Euro !!! You get what it says with no quibble. If you only bought for one night go early on your check in day. There is so much to see and do I didn't have enough time, even though I stayed two nights !!! I so wished I had bought more vouchers !!! My room
had view's of the pool and Mont Blanc which was breath taking, seeing it so close for the first time. Free drink was very alcoholic although it tasted wonderfully like a fruit drink !!! I chose the white (free bottle) wine, which was very nice. Dinner was delicious (I had doe !!!) melt in the mouth. Only ate dinner the first night as had very late lunch the following day. Breakfast was huge with so so many choices, so please ignore the review where it's suggested you go out to eat. You'd pay more just for the coffee I drank !!! Train up to Glacier €27.50 is scary if you don't like heights like me, but having kept my eyes shut on the way up had them open on the way down and the views are wonderful. When staying at hotel you get a free bus and local train pass which is fab to just hop on and off. When taking train just be aware when it returns as it has a few long breaks on return journeys. Tourist office is soooo helpful. Swimming outside in heated pool with views of Mont Blanc is awesome !!! To sum up --- room was big - comfy bed - no noise - food great - staff all helpful and speaking English. Free parking opposite hotel although with voucher it's free in hotel car park. A fabulous restful weekend. Thank you to everyone who made that possible

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBJBBedBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at Les Aiglons for three nights and very much enjoyed it. Everything was bright and clean and everywhere there were spectacular views of Mont Blanc. The staff, especially Miguel, were friendly and were very helpful to us in making the most of our stay in Chamonix. The location is excellent. We really enjoyed a delicious dinner one night and the wonderful breakfast every morning. We loved this hotel and Chamonix!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have balconies with mountain views, but some may be better than others. If a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byrdrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed there one night in a Standard double room. The room is OK, simply furnished but pleasant, the beathroom small but nice. The WC is not wonderful... Service is very good. Private parking costs 10 euros per night! No other parking avilable at the hotel, but a parking place just in front of it.
Hotel is OK, good price but the decoration is closer to a Novotel or a Mercure.
The restaurant presents an excellent cuisine for a very good price.
This place is agood compromise if you want to stay in a comfortable place (offering good cuisine, bar lounge, swimming pool hammam and sauna) and not spend too much.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms 1st floor just above the restaurant... early morning you hear the chairs an...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sunshine7571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked Hotel Les Aiglons for a short break in Chamonix during our honeymoon. We drove from Geneva to Chamonix and the hotel was very easy to find off the main road. Having driven to Chamonix we initially struggled to find parking for the hotel. There was a public car park opposite the hotel which was constantly full so the hotel allowed us to leave our car in one of the few restaurant reserved parking spaces.
The hotel itself was modern with a great lobby space and outside restaurant and bar. The rooms were nice but maybe a little bit basic. The decor was very plain and when compared with the modern lobby this was a bit of a let down. There was also no air con in the room which meant that the room was boiling at night.
Having had this little moan, the hotel's location was perfect. Very close to town, the train to the Mer de Glace and of course, Mont Blanc! There is also the most spectacular view of Mont Blanc from the hotel pool and outside bar area - truely breathtaking!
I would stay here again but just wish that the rooms were a little bit more luxurious!

Room Tip: If you can afford to, get a room facing Mont Blanc
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky_b_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
403 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#9 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $95 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing