We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights in August and from the moment we walked into the reception area we knew we'd made the right choice, the hotel is of a very high standard, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Our balcony had the most stunning view of Mont Blanc. We didn't eat at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The spa was lovely as was the swimming pool but the pool area is fairly small and it was difficult to get a lounger there late afternoon. There is a free car park opposite the hotel but it was full most of the time. The hotel is very well situated for the local free busses and is only a short (5minute) walk to the town centre. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great position not far from the main road as you arrive in Chamonix so easy to find if you're on a late flight and it's an easy to walk to the main street for restaurants and bars. There's a free car park across from hotel and it's usually easy to get a spot on the street nearby if that's full. Hotel staff are friendly and very helpful and the rooms looking down the valley are worth paying extra for if, like us, you can't sleep with road noise. Breakfast has a good choice for a French hotel of this rating and a bonus for the summer are the outside tables in the sun with a view to die for. The public areas are trendy and the bar is a lovely cosy apres ski spot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Like every year we travelled to the French Alps with our sportscars and stayed for one night at the Les Aiglons. The reception staff is really kind and helpful. The room is clean and has good equipement. I have had one to the street and was sleeping with open windows without problems - the traffic on the street was not really busy. The pool area was full of people around at 17 o'clock and is not so big. I did not use the various sauna. Breakfast buffet is very rich but you have to serve yourself - the waiters only remove the empty plates and glasses.

I can recommend to everybody and yes, we came again next year!

Room Tip: the room under the roof (3rd floor) are very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Patrick,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Les Aiglons Ressort and Spa.

I am really happy to learn that you had a wonderful time at the Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive such a nice feedback.
Be sure that your comments will be shared with the entire team in order to let them know they managed to reach your expectations.
We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon at the Aiglons Chamonix during a next trip in Alps.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived and walked into the foyer to an amazing view of the mountains we knew we'd love this hotel. The staff can't do enough to help. The lady that works as a concierge doesn't seem to ever go home and the bar man is really friendly and chatty. The rooms can get a little warm but they explain that they don't have air con because of the chamonix Eco agreement. There are fans if you ask though. It's a short walk to the centre of chamonix (less than 10 mins) and there are bikes you can borrow. The hotel doesn't have much parking but there is a large free car park opposite. The facilities are excellent, the pool is superb as is the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Johnny_kebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Johnny,
“Thanks, thanks, thanks” for your contribution.
Your comments, compliments are the result of team welded behind the desire to make you happy, so we're all delighted.
You take us into your happiness to be at the Aiglons in its atmosphere, its serenity, pampering, a little green paradise in front of Mont Blanc ...
Come back soon ... We are waiting for you ...
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was the perfect spot for our family in Chamonix. We had just come from three days of overcast damp weather in Zermatt (is that a surprise?) and having warm sunny weather with a pool to enjoy was just what we needed. The kids (teenagers) were thrilled. The hotel is clean and the amenities are perfect. Maude was the concierge on staff when we arrived and she was adorable. Perfect English speaker and she could help with all our questions. The front desk staff were also helpful. The pool is wonderful and it was great to enjoy after our days of long hikes in the mountains. Hot tub, sauna and spa if you want to get massage and such. There is a free city bus that stops right in front of the hotel if you want to use it. The view of Mont Blanc is beautiful from the pool. We did not buy breakfast as I found it pricy (15 Euro per person) so we found a wonderful bakery 5 min. away and picked up fresh pastry in the morning as well as fresh baguette on our way out. We shopped at the Super U market and bought brie, meat, and tomato and made wonderful sandwiches for lunch. The rooms at this hotel are a nice size. We had a family suite and it was plenty big. The bathrooms are nice and clean. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner as most of the hotels have one "soap" that is multipurpose.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruby3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Ruby,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel les Aiglons during your stay in Chamonix.
It is our pleasure to receive your feedback and we are really excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
All our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service.
We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.
I hope you come back again to appreciate the delicious pool view, in front the Mont-Blanc.
Maud and all the front desk team are appreciated about your kind comments, and we would like to give you a warm reception again.

We are looking forward to your next stay in Chamonix !
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had 2 rooms, on a room only basis, in this hotel overlooking the pool and Mont Blanc/Bossons glacier and stayed for a week on our first trip to Chamonix. We really enjoyed the hotel: the rooms were very comfortable and quiet, the staff was helpful and friendly and the location of the hotel suited us very well. We managed to park our car each day in the car park across the road. The children, in particular, enjoyed the pool. A great base in Chamonix and would recommend and return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discerning1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your contribution, I will share with all teams Les AIGLONS, your satisfaction make us very pleased.
Your feedback energize and motivate us.

All teams works with the best of motives to make your stay unforgettable, and give you the urge to return as soon as possible in our beautiful region!

Looking forward to welcome you again very soon in Chamonix.
Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a view to arrive to.
First visit to Chamonix and walking into the reception area simply takes your breath away!
The view of Mont Blanc and the pool area overwhelming.
Lovely stay with my only complaint being that the rooms were too hot and because of the road noise we could not sleep with the doors of the balcony open.
Eventually we asked for a fan which was speedily brought up to the room.
One would think that a hotel of this standing would have air conditioning in the rooms!
Pool and spa area is great as well as the very friendly helpful reception staff

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbuddy032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Client,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Les Aiglons during your stay in Chamonix. We are appreciated that you have taken your time to share your experience on Trip advisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. , I will share with all teams Les Aiglons your satisfaction really pleased us.

All of our staff would strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are sorry to know that a part of equipments didn’t achieve some level of your expectation.

Les Aiglons is an Ecolabel hôtel due to the protection of the Mont-Blanc, that's why we don't have Air conditioning in the room.

We are regretted your unsatisfaction of the room that you met.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
2.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $143 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing