We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We got a junior suite as were with two small children which was lovely. You could see mountains and the rooms looked new and were comfy. The best bit of the hotel I felt was the jacuzzi overlooking the Alps. Could spend my whole holiday there. It's a close distance to the centre but we usually drove everywhere. Service was ok but people were very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thackern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel Les Aiglons is OK. No better no less. Rooms again are OK but nothing special. Food again is OK but a bit bland. The bar is a joke - no-one uses it. The barman has the best job in Chamonix. He has absolutely nothing to do because the prices are ridiculously high. Visitors from the UK and the USA will be totally astonished at the prices and will not visit twice. To confirm the view of another reviewer - there is absolutely no atmosphere here. Most of the staff are very good but some are absolutely useless - unemployable!! AVOID. I certainly will not be back.

Room Tip: If you really must stay here opt for a "Mont Blanc view room". You might not get a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were travelling to Italy and did not know that the Mont Blanc tunnel was closed for the night for maintenance.
Hotel Les Aiglons was the first place we saw and we decided to try it. Just after midnight, it took five minutes for a slow concierge to answer the bell but all preliminaries were dealt with quickly. We paid 87 euros for a double room and another solo person paid 86 euros for the single use of a double. I suppose there were no single rooms left but it did not seem fair.
The room was spacious, very clean and had a comfortable double bed.
The TV worked well so did the kettle (although rather ancient). Only 3 paper cups were available. Plenty of Green tea and some coffee. We had our own Pukka teas!
The bathroom was fine with robes and towels. The soap came from dispensers on the wall. Excellent idea. Towel slippers were provided. It took a few minutes to work the shower.
The balcony was compact and the view of the mountain covered in snow was excellent.
The rooms are sound proofed so we had an excellent night.
Breakfast was excellent: my husband had scrambled eggs, sausages and bits and I had some very good yogurt with fruits, freshly baked mini patisserie and local honey. The coffee was acceptable. Some guests had freshly made crepes with Nutella and seemed to enjoy them.
Altogether and for the money paid, I would recommend this hotel.
We did not have time for the swimming pool and spa because we wanted to continue on our journey.
However, we will remember this hotel with pleasure because we left behind a laptop and important documents. We phoned them when we realized and they were most helpful. We had to drive back (we were in Genova when that happened!) and found the bag waiting for us.
There are honest people around. We wish to thank the staff from the bottom of our hearts. Well done.

Room Tip: The higher the floor you are in the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marzia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Les Aiglons is a great place to stay during a visit to Chamomix. The hotel is modern and wuite large. so doesn't really have a cosy or quaint atmosphere. However the rooms are very spacious, the views are fantastic, the parking is very safe and secure (if not a bit tricky to get into - I was driving a mini bus!) and the pool area is just perfect (although the hot tub is quite small). It's a clean and spacious hotel run by BeatWestern, in a good location about 8 minutes from the aiguille du midi ski lift.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pohutukawa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is one of the new type of 'b&b' hotels. Very little atmosphere in the foyer, you can't sit and watch the world go by whilst having a coffee or mooch in the boutique. Having said that it was generally comfortable and clean, the dining room staff were most helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was very good with many options. Very good pool with sauna and steam room. I think most rooms has a view of part of the mountain range and all have a small balcony. I would suggest that the dark brown shag pile carpet in the bedroom should be removed as soon as possible and also an armchair in each bedroom would be appreciated. Very hard to work the shower but eventually managed to move the lever by the tap. Very comfortable bed.

If you are there for skiing the ski lift is very close by, just up the street. Chamonix town is very attractive and is very easy to walk around. There is a good market but beware of the 'nougat' man! We were had for 30€ for a slab of it!

Room Tip: Just check you have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annapanna44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is located close to main road and has pretty small and insignificant rooms. The pool is pretty nice but nothing special. Bathroom is extremely small and with only 2 bottle of soap. The balcony are very small with only 2 chairs and a very small table. There are for sure better hotel in Chamonix to relax and enjoy the mountains around.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank giogio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May. We upgraded to a superior room which was located on the third floor facing inwards. We had a view of the mountains and valley and a small balcony with two chairs. The room was slightly larger than that of a standard room and the balcony was a nice addition. We were a bit disappointed that the hotel no longer supplies individual bath products and feel that this is something that should be included in a superior room. There was however a hand wash and combined shampoo/shower gel in large pots attached to the walls. We used the facilities (sauna, swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room), these were very busy on the Saturday but much quieter on the Sunday making the use more pleasurable. Owing to the use on Saturday, some areas were in need of an additional clean throughout the day. It was lovely to have the use of bath robes and slippers throughout the duration of our stay and towels were provided for the spa area. We did not eat at the hotel so can not comment on the food. We had a special anniversary whilst at the hotel and the were very pleased with the champagne the hotel gave us to celebrate. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom very modern. The location is excellent as you are only about a 5 minute walk into the town where there are lots of places to eat.
Having stayed at the hotel twice before, we feel that some areas of the hotel are looking a little tired but other than this we feel this is still a good choice if you are looking to spend time in Chamonix.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banners_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#21 of 73 in Chamonix
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $99 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing