We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Les Aiglons is well situated for the ski bus as its stops right outside the hotel.
The lobby and bar area and modern but sparse.
The suite which we were originally to be charged 500 euros was not worth anything near that amount.
I rang a week before as I had seen other peoples reviews and I was convinced I was overpaying.
They agreed to reduce it to 450 a night with a hlaf bottle of champagne as a gift.
The room is bsic with brown shagpile carpet on all living all floors except the bathroom.
This I can imagine hides a multitude of sins.
The walls are stippled and painted but layer upon layer of dust is visible.
Our room also smelt of cigarette smoke and so all soft furnishings needed to be changed.
the room is heated by a wall mounted electric fire which deposited brown dust up the walls and cobwebs on the ceiling.The rooms on the website did not resemble ours at all.
The toilet is separate from the toilet and the bathroom is good.
The beds were also comfortable.
Coffee and tea making was basic and the uht milk constantly curdled in the boiled water.
No mini bar.
The hotel breakfast is expensive for 15 euros.There is bacon,boiled egg,scrambled egg local sausage and small potato cakes aswell as the usual cereals and croissants etc.
The hotel bar is very expensive at 12 euros for a small vodka coke.It also closed at eleven most of the time and when we asked to be seved after that time we were tols the staff had gone home.
Only when we persisted were we served 2 coffees.
The boot room is also poor with no heated boot hanger as a consequence your boots are still wet inside from the previous days skiing and the also dont fit enough equipment in.
The outside pool isnt warm enough to relax in it is at 28degrees which means you need to swim to keep warm.
The hot tub is ok but only sits 5 people.
I didnt use the steam room.
All in all our room bill of 3150 euros was robbery.
I feel if I had been charged 2000 it would have been excessive.
The reception staff are friendly but that can only go so far.
There is a good pub virtually next door called Jekly and Hide.
The best restaurant/bar is The Caves.Great service but a little pricey on food side at 25 euros for chicken in mushroom sauce.
The is a good ski renatl place opposite called skiloc which give 20% discount to guests.
Munchies is also good aswell as The Monchu for traditional meals.
A great bar/restaurant is Elevation which had good food at good prices.
Also if you like real ale there is a micro brewery that has 4 of its own brands and does great bar food called MCB.
The skiing is good but challenging and there is alot of bus transferring to do.
Also the Luge ride at Les Pennards is greal for all the family.

Room Tip: Dont pay out for a suite as its not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgg5072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in November 2011 for a night while traveling from Milan to Paris. The hotel was very clean, had a spa, and was in a great location. We spent our actual 5th wedding anniversary at the hotel! The room was large and had a balcony with a splendid view of the mountains! We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go and the hotel had parking underneath and a complimentary breakfast and internet which were three things we were always trying to look for during our journey! The lobby was extremely spacious and quiet. The carpet in the room was reminiscent of brown shag carpet, but it went with the overall decor and was modern.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegretchmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I wasn't too impressed with this place. First, we paid for a standard room, and received a single room. This isn't a huge deal except there is a 50 Euro/night difference in price. The pictures online show this nice big room, but that is certainly not what we got. Also, the place advertises that the room includes a plug adapter... this is also not true. I didn't really care too much as these are petty things until I we were treated SOOO rudely by the spa staff.

We went to the spa in order to use the hot tub. We had just walked in the door when a female employee came out and started yelling at us for not being guests. We explained we were guests, and she continued to reprimand us until we decided to leave. If she had just politely asked us for our name and room number, then this too would have been no big deal. Instead, she yelled at us, insulted us, and demanded we follow her to the front desk to confirm our reservation. It was super insulting. The next day the same woman politely led me to the hot tub only to inform me was broken. Why did she wait until I was outside in the snow to tell me it was broken?

Anyways, we plan to go to Chamonix next year, and I hope to avoid the Aiglons. There are plenty of other beautiful places in town, and I don't need to be insulted by a spa employee. Also, don't go to the spa under any circumstances. It's overpriced for bad service... there is a lovely woman in town (Anne) that gives massages right in your hotel room for a reasonable rate (http://www.massage-chamo….) I got one as a surprise for my boyfriend and he said was the best massage he has ever received. Plus, she was nice!

As far for the Aiglons, one star because the front desk was helpful, and one more for the location, which was perfect for us since we didn't have to haul our ski gear too far.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementAiglons, Responsable réception at Le Refuge des Aiglons, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear,

We follow upon your comment and wish to bring you the following precision:
- Our Spa is free for the customers of the hotel and paying for the persons outside the 12-euro price rate per person
- Alcoholic drinks are not admitted inside the Spa

Our staff was able to seem to you rough but he was simply anxious to call back these points indispensable to the safety and to the good to be of the place.

Our priority remains the satisfaction of our customers and let us hope to have the pleasure to see you again during a next stay.

Best Regards,

Régis CERTENAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good location, less than 100 m from bus stop serving all ski areas, and walking distance to the city centre. Spa equals an outdoor swimming pool and 2 two different saunas in small huts to which you walk outdoors. Rooms are modern and clean. Ski storage is poor as lockers are airtight with no heating so you'll have to dry your boots in your room. Expensive bar, 8 € for a beer is a lot. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amam66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is great. It's modern, clean, and the rooms are spacious for Europe. The lobby is pretty basic, not really a place you want to hang out and get comfortable in as a common space. The little bar/lounge area is nice, but very quiet so we didn't spend much time there. There were lots of families and Americans in this hotel, probably because it's part of the Best Western chain. I was there with about 15 people and we mostly had a positive experience witht the staff. They were very helpful to me since my luggage was delayed for three days. They helped sort things out with the airline and courier company.

The rooms would have been even better if they had a little mini-fridge. Some place to keep a few drinks or leftover pizza.

We spent quite a bit of post-ski time in the spa/pool area. The hot tub is incredibly small, considering the size of the hotel and how many people want to use it after a long day of skiing. I think you could get about 6 people crammed in there. The pool is large and heated, but no replacement for a bigger hot tub. There is also a steam room/hammam and a sauna. Both are nice, but also get crowded quickly at the end of the day.

Another drawback was breakfast. It was not included in our room rate and it was 15 euros. It was mostly a continental breakfast, nothing special. So I thought it was a little pricey.

There is a ski locker room downstairs. The other super convenient thing about this place is that it's directly across the street from the Chamonix Sud bus stop, where buses will wisk you off to all the various ski areas in the valley. It was super convenient!

Room Tip: The end rooms seem to be the largest (i.e., 111, 211, 311)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a fabulous time at this hotel. First, the staff is very friendly. They were so helpful with everything we came to them for, including recommending and making reservations for us at a couple of fantastic restaurants. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the center so it was very quiet at night. We were very happy with the room size and we had a small balcony facing the mountain. Breakfast was 15 EUR a person and there was a nice selection. It was very convenient to eat there before hitting the slopes. The bus stop for the mountain is right across the street so this made it very easy to start and end our day. The hotel has lockers for each room in order to hold your skis and boots if you wish. They have a lovely spa and pool area for relaxing after a long day. Parking was secure and cost 10 EUR a night. Overall, this is a great option for visiting Chamonix, with decent prices compared to other hotels. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here in August and were extremely lucky with the weather. The outdoor pool was perfect for relaxing by after a week of walking and white water rafting. Gorgeous view of the mountains and snow, set against a bright blue sky. The pool area wasn't too busy either which was good. The jacuzzi could have used a few more bubbles though.

The actual hotel was fairly standard, clean and modern room with a small balcony area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky8985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Refuge des Aiglons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Refuge des Aiglons

Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $98 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Refuge des Aiglons 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Refuge des Aiglons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing