We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”
Review of La Sapiniere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Sapiniere
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Home counties
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at La Sapiniere for a family holiday at the start of January.
The hotel is ideally situated looking out over the nursery slopes of Le Savoy and with amazing views of the mountains. It is only a few minutes walk into the centre of Chamonix.
The fabric of the hotel is quite tired. The carpets on the stairs are well worn and not all the doors fit that well.The bar is also too small for everyone to gather in.
However the staff of the hotel more than made up for any shortfalls elsewhere.As previous reviewers have said all the staff are young but unlike other tour staff and reps that we have encountered on previous holidays, they really work hard, are cheerful, chatty and helpful. Tommy and Helen , the managers, both deserve a special mention. They were courteous, professional and helpful, but also with a relaxed friendly attitude. As everyone else has said the food is excellent.

We had our two boys with us aged nine and eleven and did not book the ski school through Inghams as when we booked we had been told that the ski school Inghams were going to use was based in a different part of the resort. We used ESF- ecole de ski Francais which had a base on the Savoy slopes opposite the hotel. The instructors were excellent, all spoke English. There were only two nursery slopes so there may have been more practice areas over at Les Houches ( where the other kids with Inghams went) but as our kids were beginners this worked for us. It was also a cheaper option, although of course you have to sort this out yourselves. However for convenience and a slightly later start in the morning we were glad we chose it for our kids.

On a final note Chamonix was not perfect for us as there was not that many easy access green slopes for our kids to try out, but in fairness Chamonix does not market itself for our type of skier!

PS we had room nine which was on the top floor and had two separate spacious bedrooms and a bathroom which worked for us as a family.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JJfamily71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    82
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
87
175
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a January family ski trip to Chamonix, staying at La Sapiniere.

My wife and I had room 3 overlooking Mont Blanc, the room was basic but had everything we think is important, comfy bed, decent bathroom and very hot water to soak those aching muscles at the end of the day. We had come to ski and explore the area not sit in the bedroom! We had a huge shared balcony and the rest of our party were next door which was fun, some sunny afternoons we did sit on the balcony soaking up the rays for an hour or so whilst my nephew made a snowman.

The food was nothing short of excellent. Breakfast was a cold buffet and a hot option which varied each day but was basically eggs various styles, bacon, sausage beans tomato. Porridge and hot crepes were also available daily and all this was more than enough to start you off for the day. Staff were always totally attentive to our requirements and went over and above in all their duties.

Afternoon tea was put out from 16:00 and you could have soup (beautiful home made soups, different every day) bread and cake of various types, unlimited hot drinks and home made biscuits.

The amazing evening meal started at 19:30 with canapés and drinks, different every night, followed by the mainl meal at 20:00 (you make your evening meal choices at breakfast). Children had the option of high tea (similar food served more simply) at 5.30pm and were thoroughly catered for, the chef even asked my nephew what his favourite veg were and cooked these accordingly.

The food really is five star exceptional quality. One day I had the best scallops I have ever tasted and another day a superb venison and I consider we have eaten in some excellent restaurants. I could continue heaping praise on the chef for all his dishes, we had pork, lamb, chicken and my wife quite often had the vegetarian option. These were followed by amazingly presented desserts, coffee and a cheese board if required. We cannot sing the praises of Mark, the (very young) very talented chef enough. The wine served at dinner was excellent, free and unlimited.

The hotel was staffed by two managers Tommy and Helen and a very hard working team of young people who just strive to, and succeed at, the incredibly difficult job of ensuring everyone has a great holiday. They were also very helpful with unlimited advice on buses ski runs etc, always smiling and very good with our young nephew and other children. I don't want to name them as I am frightened of missing anyone out but we thought they were all amazing. Unlike some hotels where young staff will do as little as possible, all these staff took their duties really seriously and cleaning really did mean cleaning and if this meant some of it got witnessed by the customers and took place at varying times I for one am thankful!!

One thing to be aware of is Ski School, our Travel Agent did not make clear that if you send your child to ski school this means putting your child (alone) on a minibus in the morning to Grand Montets and collecting them yourself. This was a surprise to us but luckily my six year old nephew is exceptionally outgoing and took this in his stride but I know other children who may have been not so happy about going off with a stranger in a minibus!! This is in no way a detrimental comment and if you book direct with Inghams this is probably fully explained but it wasn't to us via our agent. However he loved Panda Club and wants to go back again so don't be put off - just be aware!!

Also be aware that Chamonix is not the cheapest place to eat out or drink. The average price of a pint is 6 euros and a hot chocolate will set you back about 4 euros. An evening meal, just pizzas, a bit of garlic bread (no desserts) set us back £120 on the chefs night off! We should have studied a few more restaurant menus and could perhaps have had better food more reasonably priced elsewhere.

To sum up, we had an excellent holiday in a fantastic resort in a superb hotel. We could not fault any of it and will definitely return!

A huge thank you to all the staff and we hope you all do a second season so we can see you all again!!

Trevor & Janet Hiscock

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Weald, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

First class service from all the very friendly helpful staff .Tommy and Helen lead a great team .the.hotel is situated across the road from a button lift which takes you up to the main gondola the food is excellent the choice of wines at dinner was good choice 2 red 2 white and plenty of it ? I had a fantastic week there . I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody. We are in our mid sixties and felt comfortable in our surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Just back from a great stay at the Sapiniere, the Food is great the staff are wonderful and couldnt do enough for you, a great example on the kitchen staffs night off we took pizza back to the hotel for the family to eat in the room,Helen and Charlie set a table in the dinning area so we could eat in comfort.
Great views from the rooms of the valley and mountains.
The rooms are very clean and everything worked.
We took our 2 daughters who are 1 & 3 and the staff really went out of there way to look after them.
I would recommend this hotel 100% the only negative comment I could make would be the Wifi didn't always work!other than that a great hotel and a great team.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wroe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esex
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great week spent at Hotel Sapinere. Fantastic food-cooked breakfast available at 5.30am on day of departure!, Great service from staff and Helen.
Room very comfortable and very warm and loads of hot water.
Good position for town and catching bus to Brevent.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was above bar, slight noise from people walking past but wifi in room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkjules_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Excellent week at la Sapiniere mainly thanks to the staff who were supremely friendly throughout and produced excellent food, made the trip thoroughly enjoyable. You can ski in/out of the hotel into the brevet ski area Or the bus stop is~10mins walk to other areas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad4177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

An Inghams Hotel that has lovely views of Mont Blanc and the nursery slopes below Brevent. Staff are a young team and were hard working and good natured all week and very sociable. Notable staff members were the excellent chef Mark, Barman Dan and Helen the assistant manager all of whom could not do enough for you and our star rating probably reflects this. However it is worth making a few constructive points that may help improve from very good to excellent. It is also worth bearing in mind that staff were new and only two weeks into their season and so we may have had the best of them so their challenge will be to maintain their upbeat disposition throughout the season and look for some positive solutions to guests constructive points such as: 1. Monitoring guests who may choose to arrive at breakfast later in order to take their breakfast order 2. Not enough chairs in the bar area for the number of guests. This could be easily remedied by having fixed sofa style bench seats around the outer bar area (below the windows) and then some single or double easy chairs and tables opposite them along with some more bar stools. 3. There are no bar receipts, just a guests signature for each purchase and guests are encouraged to settle bar bills in cash or pay a charge on credit cards. However I had a Euro account debit card for which there is no excuse in making a charge for and this prevented me settling my bill on the Thursday evening as I had to go and draw out cash. 4. Our room (3) was in the older section of the hotel and very noisy from guests children above and despite raising this it was not effectively dealt with. 5. Whilst we completed feedback forms on the Friday evening these would have been significantly different if left until the Sat morning as staff focus seems to switch to new arriving guests. 6. Staff making skype calls home in guest accommodation areas was a little irksome as you could either hear this through the walls in neighbouring bedrooms or in the bar area. As the staff have their own separate accommodation and an office I was a bit bewildered as to why this was not done in a more private setting.
7. Finally cleaning room 2 immediately next to ours giving us a rude awakening at 6:45am on the day we were leaving was ridiculously insensitive. When I popped my head out of the door and asked the two members of staff to stop the noise they gave a worthless apology as they carried on and were hoovering 15 mins later. As rooms do not have to be vacated until 11am it is unacceptable that because some guests had left early that rooms are cleaned before breakfast at the expense of other guests just to enable the staff to finish earlier. Other guests may not have been affected but for us these latter points cost the hotel our 5 star rating and 2/3 of our intended tip. In summary, we had a great time with our family skiing, enjoyed great food and attentive staff and with the above reservations would recommend your stay here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank R0cket-III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
523 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Les Balcons Du Savoy
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Property: La Sapiniere
Address: 102 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the best located hotel in Chamonix. The Savoy nursery slopes are literally just over the road from the hotel, from where the Savoy téléski lift whisks you up to the Brévent gondola, to access one of the best intermediate areas in the resort.Alternatively, the ski-bus to Chamonix's other ski areas stops just 50m away. The hotel's attractive dining room has semi-circular bay windows with stunning views of Mont Blanc. Here you will enjoy Inghams great choice of menus and complimentary quality wines for dinner. Inghams offer the conviviality of larger tables for chalet-style dining with your fellow guests, or the opportunity to dine à deux should you wish. The atmospheric lounge/bar welcomes you for your pre-dinner apéritif and canapés, or to relax after dinner over coffee and a night-cap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Chamonix
La Sapiniere Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing