We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room with a view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sapiniere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Sapiniere
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“room with a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

we stayed at this chalet hotel in august, after having read previous reviews pretty much knew what to expect and that is what we found, a building in need of attention but with its quirks and own character.
The rooms and hotel on the whole were of a very clean standard, the views of Mont-blanc surely were the best in Chamonix, and worth getting out of bed very early to check the weather and head up the cable car if the cloud was high.
The evening meals were very good and always something different on offer, although some evening service could have been a bit faster but then just gave us time to drink more wine! The breakfasts could have been a bit better although a decent buffet selection the cooked choice was always different but maybe sticking to a basic cooked plate would go down better, and the day long tea and coffee was always welcome whatever time we arrived back at base!
The staff were always helpful when asked, Matt the barman always full of information and banter, Joy the rep was excellant very welcoming and full of all the information we really wanted to know about, always around at dinner time to see everybody and quiz us about our day, and a ready answer with very quick wit however dificult or awkward the question!!!!
If we return to Chamonix we would return to this chalet hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan97_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    78
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
85
163
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
192 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

After previously having had a great holiday in a Thomson Chalet, we were keen to see if an Inghams Chalet would be as good. We had always wanted to go to Chamonix so the Sapiniere looked ideal. Some of the reviews we saw had said that the décor etc was a bit tired but at £500 each for flights, accommodation and nearly all meals and drinks – we weren’t expecting the Ritz! To be honest, after a week there, I don’t know how anyone could dislike this place – the food is amazing, the views of Mont Blanc are stunning and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful. We were very sad to leave! From looking at other reviews, there seem to be many different opinions on whether it’s worth paying for a balcony/Mont Blanc View. It comes down to personal preference really – we were in room 40 in the new wing and were very glad we had paid the extra as we had a sunny balcony and a fully uninterrupted view of the mountains. It was also useful having the lift if only for moving our cases around. As for the food, we’ve eaten less well in 5 star hotels so credit must go to the kitchen staff for all their hard work. We normally never go back to the same place twice but I think the Sapiniere may have changed our minds!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Corinne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at La Sapiniere again this year (June 20th to 27th), following a highly enjoyable one-week's holiday there in July 2011. This hotel was the first of a two-centre holiday this time with Inghams, the second week being spent at the Chalet Hotel Ambassador in Saas Fee (see separate review). The whole fortnight was highly enjoyable, with the transfer from one hotel to the next running very smoothly in spite of a short railway line closure in France en route. When we arrived at Geneva airport we were delighted to see the familiar face of Joy to greet us - she was the Inghams representative there last year and I have never experienced a more efficient and dedicated rep on any other holiday. She really is 'second to none' and ensures everyone gets the most out of their time in Chamonix (I recommend buying a 6 day lift pass - the most expensive on the face of it, but most economic if you use it every day). La Sapiniere hotel may look a bit tired when you arrive, but the hotel's position, and the friendly, efficient staff more than make up for this, not to mention the evening meals! The catering can only be described as outstanding for a holiday in this price range, and our only disappointment was to learn that last year's chef, Michelle, had moved on, but to our delight the move was to Saas Fee so we enjoyed her dishes once again in week 2. The standard of catering remains high however at La Sapiniere, and the all-day tea & coffee, plus cakes at 4.30, went down well. Like most others there, we were on a walking holiday, and the Chamonix Valley truly has much to offer in this respect. The hotel provides a pack lunch on most days, and breakfasts have a hot option on most days to get you off to a good start. The rooms are a bit small with furniture that has seen better days, but the beds are very comfortable, and the views towards the mountains are magnificent. I would recommend this two-centre holiday to anyone.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have a 'Mont Blanc View', as described in the Inghams brochure, so I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank matthewsgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 weeks in July. We had never stopped in a chalet hotel before and very rarely go half board but this turned out to be one of the best places we have ever stayed in ever! On arrival we were greeted by the manager Helen (who looked strangely familiar) who was great throughout our stay. She always took time out to talk to all the guests and made you feel as ease straight away. The assistant manager Ches was also really helpful and the both of them make a great team. All the staff are brilliant and I cannot speak highly enough of them, I hope Ingams know what great staff they have in this hotel because they are some of the nicest people I have ever met. The rep Joy was again a credit to Ingams, funny, helpful, knowledgeable and was a breath of fresh air. One of the most down to earth reps we have ever had, everything seemed very sincere with her and she always had time for all the guests (even some of the more shall we say awkward ones!).

Food at the hotel was to a very high standard and even though we stayed for 2 weeks, we never had the same meal twice. They have a BBQ on a Friday and the head chef will show you how to make an apple swan if you ask him, very impressive. We went when the Olympics was on, so the barman Matt had devised a hotel Olympic games, which included how far you have walked, how many lifts you have been on etc. Really good fun and got all the guests involved.

They move you round the tables each night so you can meet new guests, so this may be a shock for some people who like to keep themselves to themselves. However we really liked it and got to meet some interesting if not bonkers people (you know who I am talking about).

Okay the hotel is a bit tired as people have said and there is no TV, but who cares when you have a view like that. Must be the best view we have ever had anywhere in the world, plus we had two balconies. All in all a great stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone, great staff, great food, great views, great location, keep up the good work and I wouldn't hesitate to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you want a 5 star holiday with gourmet food, don't stay here! However if you want a clean room with very comfortable bed and views to die for, this is the place for you. We stayed in room 44 which had a separate ante room, ideal for our teenage son. The bathroom was a good size, with a loo with a view! Yes, the hotel could do with a make-over, but this does not detract from the enjoyment of staying here.
Having read the other reviews we weren't sure what to expect from the food. The duck and lamb shank were delicious, most other food was tasty and well cooked, however a few dishes were a little dry and the vegetables were over-cooked. The wine flowed freely, but my husband, who doesn't drink, would have preferred fruit juice to the rather weak squash he was given. The choices were good and always included a veggie option. Packed lunches were good with a choice of sandwich fillings.
As other people have said, what really makes the holiday is the great atmosphere here. The young staff go out of their way to make all the guests feel at home and can't do enough for you. The resort rep, Joy, is one of a kind. We first met her 5 years ago in Zermatt and she greeted us at the airport like old friends. She is a real gem, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Over all a very good holiday, I don't know how they do it for the price.

Room Tip: Room 44 is great if you have a teenager with you as there is a separate ante-room to sleep in. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DevonPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a week here and the stay was fantastic! Like most of the reviews we agree that the hotel is tired but so what! Our room was spotless and the bath was tiny! The views were great and there wasn't a telly! The best staff ever but there wasn't a lift. It was almost All Inclusive but you had to buy beer. We had a good Down to Earth holiday with good Down to Earth people. Joy, the Inghams rep is the best we've ever come across. She will give you all the time and help you need for a great stay in Chamonix, as will the Managers Helen & Ches. You won't want for anything. Don't spoil it for others by booking this' Chalet Hotel' if you are not prepared to socialise with other guests or if you need 5star accommodation (which you don't). We complain when things are bad but there is nothing bad about a holiday experience at this hotel! Book it now before Inghams find out what they have and put up the price!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Myself and a friend, two ladies in our 60's have just returned from Chamonix where we stayed at the chalet hotel La Sapiniere which we booked through Inghams. What a great place it was, a 2 minute walk into the centre of Chamonix opposite a large green where para senders landed daily. From our quite basic (but don't let this put you off) but sizable and clean room we had wonderful views of Mont Blanc and its mountain range. The food was second to none, which in my opinion was equal to any that you would get in a five star hotel and beautifully presented, I couldn't fault it and included wine with the evening meal, my compliments to the chef's. The chalet staff including the management comprised of young English girls and young men who were very helpful and obliging. We had packed lunches every day and tea /coffee and cake on our return from our great walks and a 5 course dinner. Included in our Inghams package (and for anyone staying in the Chamonix valley) we had a free bus and train pass to travel to most places along the valley which is a great help. Value for money you would be hard pressed to get a better deal I cant recommend it hightly enough. Ther are some great walks and taking the cable cars & chair lifts to get you higher up the mountains to obtain some fabulous views. The age range was late 50's - 70's so probably not suitable for the younger element.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a Mont Blanc view, we were on the ground floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chislehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Property: La Sapiniere
Address: 102 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the best located hotel in Chamonix. The Savoy nursery slopes are literally just over the road from the hotel, from where the Savoy téléski lift whisks you up to the Brévent gondola, to access one of the best intermediate areas in the resort.Alternatively, the ski-bus to Chamonix's other ski areas stops just 50m away. The hotel's attractive dining room has semi-circular bay windows with stunning views of Mont Blanc. Here you will enjoy Inghams great choice of menus and complimentary quality wines for dinner. Inghams offer the conviviality of larger tables for chalet-style dining with your fellow guests, or the opportunity to dine à deux should you wish. The atmospheric lounge/bar welcomes you for your pre-dinner apéritif and canapés, or to relax after dinner over coffee and a night-cap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Chamonix
La Sapiniere Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing