We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chalet Hotel”
Review of La Sapiniere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Sapiniere
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Myself and a friend, two ladies in our 60's have just returned from Chamonix where we stayed at the chalet hotel La Sapiniere which we booked through Inghams. What a great place it was, a 2 minute walk into the centre of Chamonix opposite a large green where para senders landed daily. From our quite basic (but don't let this put you off) but sizable and clean room we had wonderful views of Mont Blanc and its mountain range. The food was second to none, which in my opinion was equal to any that you would get in a five star hotel and beautifully presented, I couldn't fault it and included wine with the evening meal, my compliments to the chef's. The chalet staff including the management comprised of young English girls and young men who were very helpful and obliging. We had packed lunches every day and tea /coffee and cake on our return from our great walks and a 5 course dinner. Included in our Inghams package (and for anyone staying in the Chamonix valley) we had a free bus and train pass to travel to most places along the valley which is a great help. Value for money you would be hard pressed to get a better deal I cant recommend it hightly enough. Ther are some great walks and taking the cable cars & chair lifts to get you higher up the mountains to obtain some fabulous views. The age range was late 50's - 70's so probably not suitable for the younger element.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a Mont Blanc view, we were on the ground floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank chislehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 393 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

What a gem of a hotel this is. Parts of the Hotel need updating and it is quite quirky but neither of these comments is to take anything away from what turned out to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We were in the annexe which was refurbished although fairly basic. It was nipping clean. Inghams Staff have a very high Customer service delivery,work extremely hard with a cheerful and helpful at all times attitude. As previously mentioned,it being a Chalet Hotel worried us but it exceeded our expectations. The food was extremely good and plentiful as was the wine. We also loved the rotation system at dinner and I'm sure we must have stayed at the same time as 2 of the previous reviewers as we also had superb company. Joy the Rep certainly "knew her stuff" and was more than happy to share her knowledge.We can't wait to try another Chalet holiday..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rockchick122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel must be in the best location in Chamonix, overlooking a beautiful meadow yet only 5mins to the old part of town. Fab views from all the rooms. All the staff at the hotel are very capable,sweet and careing people, they all work very hard indeed to provide you with good food, unlimited good wine at dinner and a very clean hotel. My husbands Gluten intolarance problem was impressively catered for and he stayed well all week (very rare when we go away unfortunately!)
The hotel is a haven for socialising, sharing stories and passing on tips about walks.
Chamonix is a lovely place with great walking. The lift passes are quite expensive but worth it.
There are great relaxing short walks downhill from the hotel and along the river in either direction or uphill from the hotel turning right at top of road and then through woodland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littlelancslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were a bit apprehensive booking a Chalet hotel and wondered what the standard of accommodation and staffing would be. The brochure actually states not to expect Hotel level standards.
We need not have worried. The staff were very friendly, helpful and hard working. The accommodation was good though relatively basic. It was quieter and we slept better than at most higher standard hotels we have been at.
Meals were great and they had a strategy of seating guests a different tables each night so you met and chatted with different people. This worked well, probably enhanced by the plentiful supply of enjoyable complimentary wine. You also get breakfast, packed lunch (tasty sandwich but I wish they would change from orange juice more often), afternoon tea with different fattening cakes, and 5 course dinner. So we hardly had to eat out at all except on the one staff day off.
The rep (Joy) was the best we have had on any holiday. I went paragliding which was terrific and there is great walking with unbelievable views. All in all a great holiday enhanced by enjoyable friendly company.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank KenTripUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from two weeks based at the Hotel la Sapinière.

The holiday in Chamonix was memorable for all the right reasons, fantastic large town with many shops and lots of things to get involved in. Great for walking.

We cannot speak too highly of the Hotel and the wonderful Inghams team who operate the Hotel.
We flew out of Britain with Easyjet and our flight was delayed for 7 hours meaning that instead of arriving in the afternoon, we did so at 12.45am, the reason for mentioning that is that we were met by an enthusiastic team and given a meal and wine until 2am. They were smiling even thought they had been up all day.
We stayed in room 6, it was comfortable and roomy with a veranda that overlooked Mont Blanc. It is fair to say that the hotel has character, it has tv in the bar / lounge and free Internet access that works in the lounge. It is a lounge where you can sit and not be pestered to buy drinks, though you can buy fairly priced drinks from the bar if you want them.
Tea and coffee are supplied free until 5.30pm and then again included with dinner. Wine was supplied with the meal at no extra cost.
The room was cleaned daily.
There were sufficient electric points and the hot water was always available.
Rooms vary in size and have a certain French character, our storage was plentiful but was in the large bathroom. This took us by surprise when we arrived as we thought first that there were no cupboards. But this was part of the charm of the room for us. There was no problem with condensation at all in the bathroom. The bed was clean and comfortable and I can honestly say that we really enjoyed staying at the hotel for two weeks, the Hotel Team were all amazing and helpful and always working hard for the guests.
The location of he hotel is second to none near to the centre of Town but on a fairly quiet road off the main road.
The Team has Monday off after a buffet breakfast and a packed lunch can be found at a supermarket or any number of food shops. On that day evening meal is taken elsewhere and there is no shortage of eating establishments in Town. This works well and is the way a chalet hotel operates.
There is no ouch factor about approaching the Team for anything, they are brilliant Individuals and the management is second to none.
If we return to Chamonix We would not hesitate to return to Hotel La Sapinière.

Room Tip: We were based on the second floor at the front of the hotel and only saw two other rooms which were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a hotel needing a bit of an upgrade but I have no complaints considering the price we paid! The staff are all really friendly and attentive - the managers were always there to cope with any little hitches and everyone worked really hard all the time. The Inghams representative, Joy, was tireless in making sure everyone had all the information and support that they needed.
Other than on one occasion, the food was excellent.
You wont get candlelit dinners but the chalet seating works well and it really was unlimited good quality wine at dinner. We gave the packed lunches a miss in order to make sure we could manage the meals and the cake when we returned from walking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Mont Blanc - it doesn't cost much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Recently returned from a wonderful week's holiday at this Inghams hotel. As other reviewers have said, the rooms are somewhat shabby and in need of a refurb but who goes to Chamonix to sit in their room? Everywhere was perfectly clean, there was plenty of storage space and the views (from every room, as far as we could tell) simply stunning. We were more than happy with the food and especially impressed that there was always an imaginative vegetarian option available, even homemade veggie burgers and lovely salads at the Friday night barbecue. A substantial packed lunch is also included which is useful if you're heading off walking for the day, as well as being great value for money. However, it is the staff which make staying at La Sapiniere such a pleasure. Without exception, they were friendly, helpful and could not do enough to ensure that everyone enjoyed their holiday. Joy, the rep, is knowledgeable and does a great job telling everyone what there is to do locally as well as providing maps, lift timetables, etc. The seating arrangements whereby everyone is seated in different groups for dinner each evening meant we met some lovely, interesting people which really added to our holiday. The Chamonix valley is gorgeous. This hotel is probably not the plushest but we really enjoyed it and would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing stay with first class service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoLibraryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Address: 102 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the best located hotel in Chamonix. The Savoy nursery slopes are literally just over the road from the hotel, from where the Savoy téléski lift whisks you up to the Brévent gondola, to access one of the best intermediate areas in the resort.Alternatively, the ski-bus to Chamonix's other ski areas stops just 50m away. The hotel's attractive dining room has semi-circular bay windows with stunning views of Mont Blanc. Here you will enjoy Inghams great choice of menus and complimentary quality wines for dinner. Inghams offer the conviviality of larger tables for chalet-style dining with your fellow guests, or the opportunity to dine à deux should you wish. The atmospheric lounge/bar welcomes you for your pre-dinner apéritif and canapés, or to relax after dinner over coffee and a night-cap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Chamonix
La Sapiniere Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing