We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unimpressed”

Brasserie le National
Ranked #188 of 221 Restaurants in Chamonix
Cuisines: French, European
Dining options: Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Burley, Idaho
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

It seemed this was the only place close with available seating. No wonder. The service was marginal and food about on par with the service. I wanted so much to like the fondue but it was more a glob of melted cheese than anything you could dip into or spread on something. The server was less than attentive and I waited quite some time for a second beer. There are so many places on the pedestrian walk, this one is easily avoided...even if one need wait for a seat somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    54
    50
    74
    181
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just walk by!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

One of my worst eating experiences ever! The restaurant smells of dirty oil and the food is worse! We had the fois gras and a portion of chips - both of which were indescribably greasy and overcooked. Mayo appeared in an unmarked container and was inedible. Food that is vastly over-priced with poor service, leaving you feeling quite unwell afterwards is to be avoided at all costs!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Night Out with Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had not read any reviews of Le National before we ate there in July so was quite surprised to read some non favourable ones when I returned home. We stumbled across Le National whilst searching for a place to eat out on our last night in Chamonix and had a wonderful experience. We sat outside as the weather was lovely and found the service to be very efficient and helpful. The children had soup, burgers and fries whilst my husband had a delicious roast chicken and I ordered the beef bourguignon which was very good. There was a string quartet playing the square just near the café which added to the wonderful ambiance. I would definitely recommend this café and will eat there again next time I am in Chamonix.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryBeagle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad service, poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrived from a long walk for a drink and snack. The drinks arrived quickly but we waited approx one hour for a croque Monsieur. When we complained we were told this was normal! The food was not good and in the end we asked to leave and were let off the cost of the food. Avoid, there must be better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Somatoxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“really not very good, and WAY over priced for what you get”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

First the service took foooooooooooreeeeeeeeeever. Hour and a half for two dishes. The food was exceedingly average. Meat over cooked, lackluster sides 35 euros for a very average mixed grill that we waited over an hour for. Would not recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BV73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie le National also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Brasserie le National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing