We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Les Jumelles
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Having spent a wonderful weekend at Chalet Jumelles last winter we have just booked to go back again in January and remembered how great the stay was. The cooking was superb, the welcome was warm and the service from the resort team was first class. Snow was great and we will be looking forward to Chamonix again this year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 786christine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've stayed at Chalet Les Jumelles twice now, once in winter, fully catered, and once in summer, self-catered with a group of our friends. The staff, Sue and Gavin were all really friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to accommodate my endless questions about mountain restaurants, best ski locations and weather!

We really enjoyed both experiences; firstly being fed with amazing food by Stef and Andy, dropped at the slopes to try and work it all off, and then being able to relax in the evenings. We rented a room on this occasion and the other couples /families that stayed were lovely. Dinner together was always fun and we had a great time skiing with them on some of the days. Our favourite was when Ski Weekend drove us and the other guests through to Courmayeur as this was where the best weather was on the day, and for lunch they had arranged for us to stop at Maison Vieille; yes, we did seem to spend a lot of time eating and drinking, but it was still second to the skiing!

We took a group of friends out in summer and spent most days walking, hiking or down at the rock climbing site 3 minutes walk away. Evenings were typically wine filled with BBQ after BBQ in the sun on the porch. It has amazing views over Mt Blanc which is equally impressive in summer and winter. It is even more fun when you are trying to spot your friend and Gavin amongst all the paragliders as they spin round and round; unfortunately he (the friend, not Gavin) got a little motion sickness, but still loved the views!

The chalet room are well kitted out, each with en-suite showers/baths and the living/dining room was spacious and accommodated all of us easily. The kitchen was really well stocked with everything we needed and even though the nearest bakery for our morning croissants is a 3-5 min drive away, it was well worth it; we would also recommend what we called the "black" bread with some honey and comte cheese, yum!

I would recommend hiring a car in summer, which I would do if staying in Cham anyway, as it means you can get around in your own time rather than waiting for the buses. The walk into town is really easy and you have to pass a beautifully cold water spring, which is well worth it to fill your bottles up. We didn't need one in winter as the Ski Weekend staff pick you up to and from the slopes, which is most definitely a treat as I would hate to try and find a park at the lift bases.

If it is possible, get up to Les Houches for the most amazing regional meal at Les Vieilles Luges. Ski Weekend arranged for us to snow shoe up in winter for dinner and we walked up for lunch in summer. I love the snow shoeing as it just adds to the charm of the whole experience. Beware though, you might be a little tipsy coming down...

We're looking forward to going back for this winter, fingers crossed for good snow!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCDS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A hidden gem in the Chamonix valley is what my wife called it... This chalet, 'Jumelles' is a great spot or base from which to partake in the activities available. It's not far from the high street either. We have stayed here a couple of times, once in winter and this time over the summer. For a ski trip it was perfect, with great cheffing and all the services you'd expect from a high end chalet. This time around it was a leisure trip to the Alps in summertime, and proved even more of hit with the family. The views are outstanding with the glacier directly in front of you.
Also a great benefit in the winter having underfloor heating throughout - v cosy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19DB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

.... unless you are more than one family.

Unfortunately, my family and I, chose to spend our summer holiday at this Chalet in Chamonix.

We have visited a lot of chalets in the alps, and this was definitely one of our worst experiences.

It was incredibly dusty and uncleaned at arrival and the garden is WAY to overrated !!!

Of course you have a wonderful view over the Mont Blanc - but that is it....

One of the staff members, a man, chose to take naps and surf the internet, in one of the bedrooms in the basement when we were there, so when my mother went down to the laundry machine in her pyjamas, she was greeted by this stranger.... NOT what you would expect from a 1.500 £ chalet !

One of the days in our holiday, we woke up at 8 am, because there was a lot of noise just outside our bedroom in the driveway. Apparently, some of the owners friends had an agreement with the owner, that they could use the driveway as moving-day-storage... resulting in: we could not get our car out all day and had to stay home....

Must say that i can't recommend this place...

You can get SO much more for these money elsewhere !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We chose Chalet Jumelles, Chamonix, as they offered a four night, Thursday to Sunday, package. The short transfer from Geneva airport meant we were able to ski Thursday afternoon and most of Monday. We booked it through www.skiweekend.com who were helpful and easy to deal with.

Chalet Jumelles is located in Les Pecles, a quiet suburb of Chamonix with a fantastic view of Mont Blanc and the Aiguille de Midi from the large lounge/dining area.

It was a pleasant 20-25 minute walk into Chamonix centre, although Stef and Andy our chalet hosts were more than happy to drive us in the chalet minibus.

The food in the chalet was the real highlight of our holiday. Andy Fox our host and chef, has worked at some of the top restaurants in the UK and it shows. Generous portions, beautifully presented, superbly cooked and an imaginative menu, including my vegetarian option, what more could you ask for?

The fact that the skiing in Chamonix is split between four un-linked areas has always deterred us from staying here. However with Andy or Stef dropping us at our required ski-lift every morning access to the slopes was trouble-free. Each ski area has its own atmosphere and different landscape and terrain, so you had the feeling of being in a new resort each day. It was low season so queues were not a problem and we were blessed with clear blue skies, warm sunshine and the best snow cover that the area has had for years.

We had a great holiday and would recommend the chalet and Skiweekend to anyone looking for a short ski break or even a longer visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marzipan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Framy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
8.9 mi away
Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc
1.6 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
865 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel de La Couronne
Hotel de La Couronne
#2 of 4 in Argentiere
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Les Jumelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Les Jumelles

Address: 37 Chemin du Nant Favre, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home from home, to bring close family, a selected corporate group, or a few friends. With six generous double bedrooms all with their own bathroom, every guest has their own space for some peace and quiet if needed. A large entrance hall to store bikes, snowy boots, or skis and more, leaving the rest of our three-storey chalet clear of clutter for you to enjoy the open plan space. All bathrooms are tastefully decorated, hand-carved wooden sinks and Molton Brown products to indulge in. A roaring fire and sauna keep you warm in the winter and a wrap around terrace to enjoy in the warmer months. When it comes to entertaining and socialising, there is plenty of open plan living on the middle floor including a large newly fitted kitchen. The space delivers panoramic views with all the facilities to provide a great stay for the self-catered or fully catered package. The open plan dining room and lounge is a fully inclusive space so everyone feels involved. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing