We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chamonix”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #64 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    170
    179
    102
    62
See reviews for
101
206
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Spent a week here. Room was a suite. Booked 3 months in advance. Got 1st floor of 6 as we arrived late. Was to have been met in Geneva upon arrival - no show by the hotel - upon arrival front desk advised they had no such notice but we had email saying otherwise, no apology or acknowledgement offered. Bed was other than comfortable. Plenty of blankets and pillows. Large wine stain mark on the worn out wall-to-wall carpet. Living room had 2 single beds put together at the head to form a couch and stools for chairs. Deck was decent. Bathroom was decent, no face clothes. Room lighting was dim. Power converters did not work for all our electronics (ie. toothbrush and laptop). WIFI internet available in lobby only. Meal plan was nice but after a few days of same breakfast found just went out. Dinners were ok, a fish option daily with 1 other protein as an alternative. Drinks with dinner (pop, milk, etc) were extra cost. requested taxi be booked for following morning when time to leave, no show. Requested a replacement taxi when scheduled taxi no showed as had a connection to train to make, replacement taxi a no show. My wife and I had to drag our luggage through the snow and walked to make the train. Found the chamber maids and restaurant staff trying to do their best (main language is FRENCH) while front desk staff were less than helpful. We had to arrange our own transport from Geneva after waiting for 5 hours following an 11 hour journey. On one evening the lobby leased for an art show, unfortunately my wife was in the lounge (off the lobby) and felt pushed out of the area by art patrons looking all around her space, despite having paid for a drink and enjoying some reading time by the fireplace. Hot tub in spa was cold one day, luke warm the next. Steam room was decent. I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJAClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the view from the balcony rooms here, and I think that's what you are paying for. It's at a great location and you can pay for a secure parking space under the hotel (I think this is limited though) and everything is within a short walking distance.

Although the bedrooms and bathrooms are a little dated and tired, they are immaculately clean. And they have everything you need. Possibly could have done with coffee facilities in the room, buts that's pretty minor.

Breakfast was a good continental selection, with good coffee. And a lovely view.

We visited out of season, which was really nice and quiet. I'm planning on visiting Chamonix again, and I will be using this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Boon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

When I drove towards the center of the city I saw this big hotel. It has a spacious underground Garage [euro 10,00] with two lifts. The room was very good, clean comfortable, with an a amazing view over the massif of Mt. Blanc and the river arve. Price for the double eu 80,00
without breakfast.





































































































































































































































The location is perfect. The staff was helpful.

Room Tip: At the front of the hotel, 6th floor, room 607.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goumaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

started with a very bad note.The hotel reception has a run down look, we had a bad experience at the reception ( the people at the reception needs proper training to greet guest).We were given rooms after almost 2 hours of wait however the room was good , spacious and clean.The balcony facing room is nice which gives a very nice view of Mont Blanc .The roof top resturant has a terrific view and had a very unique dinner option were you may cook ( boil) your food and the selection of meat, fish etc was very good.

Room Tip: choose balcony view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanchak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a week during September 2013 Hotel is ideally located in the centre of the town, with very helpful and friendly staff. The restaurant is located on the top floor and has some amazing views at breakfast time. We were half board, but only ate in the restaurant 2 nights, as the restaurant was closed the rest of the other nights we had to eat in a sister hotel, where the restaurant food was a lot better. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but a bit dated now.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Very good location with amazing views of the mont blanc mastiff
Very close to the aguille du midi cable car and montenvers station
Staff not very friendly and quite inflexible to accomodate any change.
Rooms are nice and clean and front facing rooms with balconies have amazing views with the river flowing right outside the hotel. Supermarket and atm cash machine available just outside the hotel. Very close to town center where all activities and restaurants and shops are situated.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlCnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#50 of 73 in Chamonix
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
#34 of 73 in Chamonix
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Property: Alpina Hotel
Address: 79 avenue du Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpina Hotel has a contemporary architecture where we provide a maximum number of services within the hotel: a large lounge bar with a chimney with art exhibitions, billiards and a Decleor Spa Among the 137 spacious and comfortable rooms, you have the choice of a room facing either: the rugged, steep slopes of the Brevent or the snow-covered slopes of Mont-Blanc, which you can admire directly from your balcony. Le Vista Restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch or Dinner on the 7th floor of the hotel: Enjoy the valley best panoramic view from the city center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing