We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position & good value”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #64 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Hampshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great position & good value”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights to enable my husband to cram in a few days skiing. The position of the hotel is excellent, in the middle of the town & next to the bus stops. We stayed here a few years ago, since when there has obviously been some refurbishment undertaken.

The reception staff were welcoming & spoke excellent english but were happy to encourage me to use my french. Our room, which had a mountain view, was spacious enough with plenty of storage, a room safe & separate wc from the bathroom. The hairdryer in the bathroom is adequate but I was pleased to have taken my own high-powered one.

Breakfast is buffet style & served on the top floor of the hotel with its wonderful views. There was a good choice of cold & hot food with omelettes cooked to order. We didn't try dinner as we preferred to visit different restaurants in the evenings. We had a couple of drinks in the bar, which closes promptly at 11pm. Not a great deal of atmosphere in the bar unless there happens to be a lot of people (there was a conference whilst we were there which helped).

There is a spa but we didn't try it so cannot comment on it.

All in all, the hotel was very good value and I would plan on staying here again when visiting Chamonix.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for a mountain view, both for the view itself & a reasonabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPPHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    170
    179
    102
    62
See reviews for
101
206
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a lads weekend. We shared a triple room with a Mont Blanc view. The rooms were very warm, pretty standard, although the bathroom could have done with a refit. The lifts were a bit annoying, as you'll read from other reviews one has been broken for some time so at peak times you have to wait for a while or take the stairs. We didn't have any noise problems but that could have been down to the drink and the fresh air...

The location is excellent, right next to the restaurants and bars for the night and surrounded by fab ski resorts during the day. I would recommend having a car though to get to the ski resorts. We went to a different one each day, there was a lot of choice. We also paid extra for the hotels underground parking which was a bit tight but kept the car protected from the elements. The resort in all was a bit pricey but you got what you paid for, a great time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

For a week of skiing in Chamonix, the location of this hotel is excellent. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are pretty small, and the bathroom even smaller! But everything is clean. Breakfast was great with a very wide range of food to choose from. Dinner was good but we did eat elsewhere several times too.

The hotel could use sprucing up but overall it's good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oks943idk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall uk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic hotel after reading views on here I was worried before I went- However I was very pleasantly surprised. The location is fantastic right in the middle of Chamonix- The staff in the hotel was very helpful and supplied kettle for my morning tea. The room although a little snug was clean and comfortable and well-equipped- sure it could of had a revamp- But It was very clean and very comfortable and I couldn't of wanted for more.
The breakfasts was stunning with your choice of an English ,Continental, yoghurt meat bacon etc
Lifts were a little bit of a pain in that they had a mind of their own-
Excellent!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trurotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Aside from the location, I didn't like much else about this hotel. The room was noisy from people yelling and partying outside a few nights out of 4, the dinner food (other than salad/antipasti bar) is well below average, breakfast is ok but not stellar except for the croissants, the "restaurant" feels like a cafeteria,service is detached (e.g. I called to see if the spa had swimsuits for purchase and reception didn't know, said the spa had no phone, and we would have to walk down there to find out), the room was small with a tiny bathroom.

But to preface this post, I mostly stay in 4 star hotels in general. I came w a group so ended up here. Won't be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hyenamok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel has a great location and that's about it. Extremely small rooms, especially the bathroom where one could relieve oneself and have the butt touch the sink at the same time...sorry for the visual. The food was at best average for dinner, however the breakfast for European standards was pretty good. The rooms were clean, however, the reception area either had very nice people or a man who was very rude and didn't go out of his way to help with even the smallest request. There was music in the lobby at night which was very nice. The attitude of especially the one person kind of left me with a bad feeling about an average hotel, which has the potential for significant improvement.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are significantly nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland/London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Coming from Switzerland my eyes nearly popped out at how cheap this hotel was and the fact the price included breakfast and a 4 course meal!
Ok don't expect 5* but it was fantastic!
We stayed on first floor which was a bit noisy because of a bar opposite, but otherwise I'd recommend this place to everyone and will be back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#50 of 73 in Chamonix
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
#34 of 73 in Chamonix
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Property: Alpina Hotel
Address: 79 avenue du Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpina Hotel has a contemporary architecture where we provide a maximum number of services within the hotel: a large lounge bar with a chimney with art exhibitions, billiards and a Decleor Spa Among the 137 spacious and comfortable rooms, you have the choice of a room facing either: the rugged, steep slopes of the Brevent or the snow-covered slopes of Mont-Blanc, which you can admire directly from your balcony. Le Vista Restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch or Dinner on the 7th floor of the hotel: Enjoy the valley best panoramic view from the city center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing