We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip to Europe”
Review of Auberge du Manoir

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Manoir
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Anniversary Trip to Europe”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I love this small hotel owned and managed by a very hard working couple, Muriel and Frederic Masson. The hotel and grounds are clean, immaculate and charming. The breakfast was terrific and the Massons were eager to give us great advice on hikes, sites to see and terrific restaurants .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you! We were very happy to welcome you. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    50
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
64
193
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

On a recent two-week tour through France and Italy, we stayed at six different hotels – all of which were selected based on locations and price, input from Trip Advisor (taking comments with a grain of salt), suggestions from friends, and viewing individual hotel websites. This hotel was the second place we stayed (Room #3), for our four nights in Chamonix. Here are our impressions, which echo many of the other reviews:

• This hotel was one of our favorites, with its large, comfortable rooms, excellent location, welcoming owners, and delicious breakfasts. The grounds also have lovely landscaping.
• Our room and the entire hotel were immaculate and clean, with sweet chalet decorations.
• You can easily walk to MANY things around Chamonix – excellent location, right next to town but still quiet enough for a good night’s sleep.
• Our hosts, Frederick and Muriel were very welcoming and helpful with suggestions for our trip. Also, they were very patient with my struggles with French and helped me remember words and phrases I used to know many years ago!
• Their friendly dog, Loukie, made us feel like part of the family (though we thought her name was Suki, for some reason!). We wanted to bring her home with us! Alas, Frederick said no!
• We visited Chamonix in a bit of the off-season – too late for winter and too early for summer. Yet there was still plenty to do. We went up to Aiguille du Midi, took the Chemin de Fers Montenvers to see the Mer de Glace, and enjoyed exploring the town. We also took a day to go through the Mont Blanc tunnel to explore Aosta Valley in the Italian Alps. We had an amazing time.
• Our room was spacious and comfortable with two balconies and a wonderful view.
• The shower was excellent with plenty of hot water and good pressure. Very attractive tile-work in the bathrooms. There were also mechanical window screens to close bathroom windows off from view. Huge towels!
• The BREAKFAST! Wow! These were probably the best breakfasts we had for the whole trip. Even though breakfast was not included, we opted to eat at Auberge du Manoir every day we were there. We chose from a wide selection of warm and tasty drink options – I enjoyed the hot chocolate, and my husband had the café crème. Warm pastry baskets with chocolate croissants for each table, homemade yogurt from their family’s farm, assortment of cheeses and meats, fresh fruit, cereals, and hard-boiled eggs. It’s self-serve for the most part, but the spread is amazing. You just help yourself. Also, while we enjoyed breakfast, Frederick chatted with us about our plans for the day and showed us sights on the mountains with the big telescope, which is set up right in the dining area.
• We ended up using the hot tub once while we were there – you have to pay a little fee and give them some notice, but no trouble at all and completely worth it to enjoy a good soak.
• The wifi seemed to be a little spotty – but, I was so busy running around Chamonix, so I confess I didn’t say anything to Frederick and Muriel or try to see why it didn’t always seem to work.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerihunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Awesome... Thanks alot for this review! All these beautiful words are a great source of motivation for us ... Come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Our review is late in coming however we have stayed at the Auberge du Manoir several times and it has never failed to impress us and make our holiday something special. The standard of the rooms are first class and the owners are incredibly friendly and welcoming. We love the place so much we are going back again this September.

Caroline & Jason Hughes

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Than's a lot Caroline and Jason ! We look forward to welcoming you in September! Until then have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is impeccably clean, modern, and perfectly maintained. The location is excellent--a couple of blocks from the center of town, so it's quiet but within easy reach of everything. The view is perfect. It is very easy to reach if you are coming in by train (just a short walk from the station). If you are driving, there is plenty of parking on site.

The owners are very friendly, helpful, and responsive. For visiting vegetarians, they provided soymilk, almond milk, etc, on request. The owners' dog, Ioukie, loves to play and go for walks (with guests who are responsible dog-walkers.)

Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank's John ! We look forward to see you soon too. Loukie miss you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aoste, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were glad to find this beautiful hotel. Rooms are so lovely and very modern, everything create a very welcoming atmosphere. All this is combined with nice people who are delighted to advice and help us! I recommend this hotel to everyone who want to spend a wonderful stay appreciating the breathtaking landscape!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabulousfab38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank's ! We were glad to welcome you and we hope see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We recently stayed at Auberge du Manoir in mid May. We had a corner room and with the perfect weather we had great views of Mont Blanc. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. The hotel is a short distance from the train station and shopping. The owners and their dog made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you! Come back anytime to enjoy the beautiful view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Auberge du Manoir in March, just at the change of season. First time in France and first trip to Chamonix, we didn't have any expectations aside from the TripAdvisor reviews, and we were so pleased we chose to stay here. We had a very clean, comfortable room with spectacular mountain views. It was well-located, everything we wanted to access was only a walk away and it was quiet at night. But the thing that really made our stay great was the hospitality of the owners, and the exceptional breakfast spread! We were in France for 3 weeks and stayed in a variety of towns and hotels and this was absolutely the best breakfast we had in all of France. The home-made yoghurt we could have eaten all day. Being amateur cooks ourselves, we were especially impressed as our attempts at home never turned out so well - and the Massons were kind enough to share their recipe 'for success' with us! - which we now have proudly hung up in our kitchen (along with much improved yoghurt results). Along with a guided tour of the mountains through the dining room telescope, the friendly hospitality here really went a long way for us two Aussies a long way from home. A highly recommended experience!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Mont Blanc/Aiguille du Midi well worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
It was a pleasure to welcome you and to share with you . See you soon for new recipes ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Manoir

Property: Auberge du Manoir
Address: 8 route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former alpine farm, typical of the region, has been transformed into a luxurious chalet hotel. As well as ensuring a friendly and authentic atmosphere, we took great care to make sure all aspects of the hotel's renovation were also eco-friendly.Our family-run chalet hotel in Chamonix prides itself on the quality of the facilities on offer - every room at L'Auberge du Manoir is unique. From double rooms for romantic getaways to junior suites for family holidays, we have rooms to suit all tastes and requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Manoir Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing