We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge du Manoir

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Manoir
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

It is a charming, cozy, comfortable, clean, centrally located, tastefully decorated, rustic yet modern place to stay in Chamonix. The staff is friendly, helpful and speak good English. We went there last summer and going back again this summer. The breakfasts are wholesome and sumptuous. A very delightful hotel overall!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Manager at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks a lot, it is a pleasure for us to make your stay in Chamonix a wonderful moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    48
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
61
188
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

First of all, I am fully aware that the general opinion related to the hotel is splendid, I suppose that my experience is a misfortune, and the others visitors will continue to enjoy the hotel. Secondly, I'll try to describe only pure facts and not to mix up those with my emotions.
So, where should I start. I was planning to spend the 2-weeks New Year's vacation in Chamonix, to make it more perferct I booked a room in a number one hotel in advance. I enjoyed the reviews and the staff attitude, they even kindly agreed to receive my prepaid sim card and hand it to me upon my arrival.
We checked in, we liked our room with two balconies, not to spacious but nice and cosy with a chalet-oriented design. Then, when the night came, I've noticed a couple of insects on our white bedsheet, and a couple of others on my pillow, and a dozen of those hanging out under my pillow and on the wall. I am not very good at that but our room-mates were looking as bed bugs, as well as the newly adopted reactions of our skin were quite similar to those red spots of bed bugs' victims.
We informed the owners and they informed a special service and of course treated the room with special cleaners. They said the room was not inhabited for a couple of months, and the other visitors had earlier brought these wonderful creatures.The next day, out stuff was transferred to another room as it was prescribed by the service (we were informed about the probability of this event in advance). Nevertheless, our stuff was transferred only partially, for the evening we didn't have coats, boots, lingerie and some of the other clothes which had to be left in the room or laundered. Sitting there, in the room without balconies of a lower type, without our clothes, my boyfriend informed the owners about his unwilligness to pay for these three days in that room. The owners happened to agree.
In three days, after we'd put our ski boots we were informed that we need to put all our stuff together as after 15.00 the room will be occupied by another guests. So, we took our ski boots off and spent approximately an hour moving our stuff to the newly cleaned room with an acrid smell of its cleanness.
When the payment time came, we were also informed that the insects were not the fault of the owners, that we evaluated the price of our damage on our own and if we did not want to pay for those three days we had to explain that fact in written form. As we did not receive the "discount" voluntarily, we just paid all the sum not willing to be engaged in any kind of troubles.
And the climax of the cleaning process is the fact that during our last days we saw a bed bug again (the photo is attached).
That's all about bugs.
The Wi-Fi signal was absent during some evenings, days and mornings, it was related to the new system, or whatever. The owners acknowledged that.
Other things like the attention of the staff, the good location you'll learn from the other reviewers.
P.S. I hope we are not carrying the insects with us, as it would be very unpleasant for us and for the other hotel in which we later lived; moreover, we did not receive any apologies for this little inconvenience. Avoid room No 3, then.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R0zaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Customer,

We are very sorry that you recently had an unpleasant experience at our hotel. We would like to thank you firstly for agreeing to move to another room and, secondly, for accepting only a limited access to your personal belongings throughout the 3 days necessary to have the room and all its contents thoroughly treated. We would like to assure you that the required phytosanitary protocol has been strictly adhered to, in order to resolve this sudden and completely unforeseeable problem, since these undesirable ‘guests’ are unfortunately transported by travellers.

We even arranged for all the woodwork in the room to be dismantled to ensure that this problem had been completely resolved.

As you did not wish to pay for your stay in full, we asked you to provide the detail of this in writing so that this financial loss could be accounted for in our records.

Furthermore, our hotel does not consent to giving discounts in exchange for positive reviews or to keep unhappy customers quiet.



We hope that during your next trip to Chamonix you can visit us again to fully appreciate all the efforts made by our team to ensure your stay is a complete success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just spent three magnificent days and nights in Chamonix, and the accommodations at Auberge de Manoir were perfect. The location and comfort were 5 star but the breakfasts were off the charts - 10 stars! A million thanks to the proprietors, chef Muriel and her husband Frederic - and to the staff, Josiane and Helene. You made our stay the highlight of our vacation! Chamonix itself offers so much ... Ahhh!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat22446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Wow, thanks a lot for this kind review! It is a pleasure to hear that you spent a nice time with us and our mountains :) Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location near to the montenvers station. Easy walk into town. Well appointed room lovely cosy bar. Friendly hosts hosts. A dinner option would have been good as I feel the owners would have done this superbly. Having said that there is plenty of varied choice nearby.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lorddandelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This beautiful hotel is number one on Trip Advisor for a reason, it is very good. The rooms are very comfortable and have amazing views. The photos I took from our balcony have already been framed. The hotel owners/staff (including the gorgeous dog) were very accessible and friendly. We took their recommendations for restaurants and were not disappointed. There is an excellent bakery just around the corner too. Chamonix took us a bit by surprise as we thought it would be just another alpine village. Chamonix charmed us and we ended up loving it. Would definitely staff at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello ! Thanks for your kind comment, it is always a pleasure to know that we participated in making your stay in Chamonix a good experience :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had 3 nights here and enjoyed our stay! The owners are lovely, friendly, helpful, and clearly enthusiastic about being in the service industry. Breakfast was great! Fresh fruit, yogurt, breads.. The owner made sure everyone had what they needed. I appreciated the telescope in the breakfast area, great perspective, especially when taking the tram up the mountain and hiking down. We could've used the hot-tub (would've gladly paid after our hike!) but forgot to pack swimsuits. The rooms were comfortable and kept very clean. The views from our terrace of Mont-Blanc were spectacular. We will definitely be back,especially to take the correct trail so we don't have to hike all the way down to the parking lot again!

Room Tip: Go for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneP683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
What a nice review ! Thanks a lot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Based on the reviews I read on trip advisor, I was planning on staying at Auberge du Manoir during my trip to Chamonix, but the sheer experience with reservations has been rather disappointing. The executive/s has been very rude and displayed no signs of customer service. I wonder if anyone would want to stay at the hotel after this experience at the outset.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayeeta25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Responsable relations publiques at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
As discussed by email on October the 7th, we informed you that we had some problems with our phone line during the last week-end and that we apologized for the inconvenience. During our phone conversation the same day, we told you that we had unfortunately no more available rooms for the following saturday. In reply to the e-mail you sent after our conversation, we directed you towards two colleagues that could propose you an accomodation.

We thought we made all we could to help you with your stay in Chamonix and understand your disappointment of not staying in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Manoir

Property: Auberge du Manoir
Address: 8 route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former alpine farm, typical of the region, has been transformed into a luxurious chalet hotel. As well as ensuring a friendly and authentic atmosphere, we took great care to make sure all aspects of the hotel's renovation were also eco-friendly.Our family-run chalet hotel in Chamonix prides itself on the quality of the facilities on offer - every room at L'Auberge du Manoir is unique. From double rooms for romantic getaways to junior suites for family holidays, we have rooms to suit all tastes and requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Manoir Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing