We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number One for a Reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge du Manoir

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Manoir
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Number One for a Reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This beautiful hotel is number one on Trip Advisor for a reason, it is very good. The rooms are very comfortable and have amazing views. The photos I took from our balcony have already been framed. The hotel owners/staff (including the gorgeous dog) were very accessible and friendly. We took their recommendations for restaurants and were not disappointed. There is an excellent bakery just around the corner too. Chamonix took us a bit by surprise as we thought it would be just another alpine village. Chamonix charmed us and we ended up loving it. Would definitely staff at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello ! Thanks for your kind comment, it is always a pleasure to know that we participated in making your stay in Chamonix a good experience :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    48
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
61
188
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had 3 nights here and enjoyed our stay! The owners are lovely, friendly, helpful, and clearly enthusiastic about being in the service industry. Breakfast was great! Fresh fruit, yogurt, breads.. The owner made sure everyone had what they needed. I appreciated the telescope in the breakfast area, great perspective, especially when taking the tram up the mountain and hiking down. We could've used the hot-tub (would've gladly paid after our hike!) but forgot to pack swimsuits. The rooms were comfortable and kept very clean. The views from our terrace of Mont-Blanc were spectacular. We will definitely be back,especially to take the correct trail so we don't have to hike all the way down to the parking lot again!

Room Tip: Go for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneP683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
What a nice review ! Thanks a lot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Based on the reviews I read on trip advisor, I was planning on staying at Auberge du Manoir during my trip to Chamonix, but the sheer experience with reservations has been rather disappointing. The executive/s has been very rude and displayed no signs of customer service. I wonder if anyone would want to stay at the hotel after this experience at the outset.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayeeta25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Responsable relations publiques at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
As discussed by email on October the 7th, we informed you that we had some problems with our phone line during the last week-end and that we apologized for the inconvenience. During our phone conversation the same day, we told you that we had unfortunately no more available rooms for the following saturday. In reply to the e-mail you sent after our conversation, we directed you towards two colleagues that could propose you an accomodation.

We thought we made all we could to help you with your stay in Chamonix and understand your disappointment of not staying in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great place to stay. Our room had an unobstructed view of Mont Blanc. Rooms are furnished nicely; lighting is great. Breakfast was a treat. Owners are friendly and helpful. Location is perfect; everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, thanks !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a wonderful three night stay at Auberge du Manoir - couldn't fault it for friendliness, location, delicious breakfast, comfortable beds, faultlessly clean. I would recommend the Auberge du Manoir to anyone staying in Chamonix.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ettenna1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comment :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely hotel! Staff and owners extremely friendly and helpful. Wonderful Alpine design hotel inside and out. Rooms very well furnished and very comfortable. Breakfast fantastic - couldn't be better! No faults at all as far as we were concerned. We stayed 3 nights in 2 rooms and will happily return there.... except 2 of us are from New Zealand so unlikely to be back to Europe for some time. 5 star and priced accordingly.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Google Translation
Thansk a lot for your kind message !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouray, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We really liked this small hotel, clean, friendly and great views. The but is, they charge you for everything extra. After coming from Zermatt where everything was free, t,his was a shock. There was a significant charge for the hot tub, breakfast and they even refused to replace the coffee in the room after one day, and we stayed four.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeduManoir, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir,

Thank you for your message. We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of our establishment and the competence of our staff, which is important to us

Article 122-1 of the Consumers Act in France does not allow us to group sell, i.e. all services must be available for individual purchase. We cannot rent our rooms and insist that guests take breakfast, or rent our rooms and impose use of the Jacuzzi. On top of that, the VAT payable on room rates is different from that for use of the Jacuzzi, so we cannot include use of the Jacuzzi on the room rates.

All our rooms are equiped with welcome products. In high category rooms, we also propose 1 or 2 bottles of water, some tea and coffee in order to welcome our guests. For the rest of the stay, these drinks can be bought at the bar on the first floor of the hotel.

We sincerely hope that we have resolved any misunderstanding.

The hotel managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Manoir

Property: Auberge du Manoir
Address: 8 route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former alpine farm, typical of the region, has been transformed into a luxurious chalet hotel. As well as ensuring a friendly and authentic atmosphere, we took great care to make sure all aspects of the hotel's renovation were also eco-friendly.Our family-run chalet hotel in Chamonix prides itself on the quality of the facilities on offer - every room at L'Auberge du Manoir is unique. From double rooms for romantic getaways to junior suites for family holidays, we have rooms to suit all tastes and requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Manoir Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing