We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third visit”
Review of Auberge du Manoir

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Manoir
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Perfect hotel for a night before travelling on to Italy. Comfortable rooms. Wonderful breakfast. Most helpful owners. Their dog is lovely. This will not be our last visit. Unfortunately, there was heavy rain in the evening but the hotel provides umbrellas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sindysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel M, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks! Hope to see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Manoir
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 364 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Upon arrival, my wife and I were greeted with a warm welcome. After a quick check-in, we were shown to our room, which was neat, clean and comfortable. The room was small, however the space was adequate to accommodate our luggage and accessories. We appreciated the mini frig as my wife had supplements that required refrigeration. The main floor breakfast room was quaint and charming. Breakfasts include pastries, meats, cheeses, breads, cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, assorted fruits and beverages.

We were guests on the property for six nights. During our stay, Frederic informed us that a larger room became available and asked if we were interested in the alternate room. We appreciated the offer, however declined as we were comfortable in our current room.

Throughout our stay, Frederic was very helpful in many ways, such as introducing us to the breakfast area our first morning, providing area information and making us feel at home.

We could see the pride and care that Frederic, Muriel and their staff pour into the property. The grounds, common areas and rooms are spotless.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this property to anyone. If we return to Chamonix, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markntina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel M, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks for this comment ! We're very happy to read that we helped you enjoy your stay in our beautiful city !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

In this beautiful valley city there are many hotels, but We were very happy with the presentation, amenities and position of Auberge Du Manoir. It is within easy walking distance of the city centre, has a good patisserie just over the road for those who don't want to have the hotel breakfast. Easy to get to all of Chamonix tourist attractions, helpful staff and a very nice room. The view from our balcony of Mt Blanc was wonderful and the full bath in the bathroom was appreciated after a day of walking. Would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel M, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks a lot, we're waiting for you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Auberge du Manoir was simply perfect. We spent two lovely nights in the cutest room you can imagine, very Alpine in decor, spotless, and thoroughly comfortable. The friendly owners made us very welcome and and speak English well. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning in their equally charming breakfast room. The homemade yogurt was outstanding and I loved the gourmet cheeses, too. (breakfast is extra but worth it). They also recommended a wonderful restaurant for our second night here. Be sure to ask. Beds are comfortable, and we enjoyed our private balconies. Chamonix is a very pretty town and we wished we could have stayed longer, as there is lots to do in the area. This hotel well deserves all the great reviews on tripadvisor. It was the first booking we secured for our 2 week trip and did not disappoint. C'est magnifique!!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms with view toward mountain are exceptional. Ask for lowest floor if you have difficulty...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel M, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

A really nice review to read :) Thanks !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

In a nutshell: if you're lucky enough and you can find available room, don't hesitate, book it :) . As soon as you arrive, you'll feel like home, with a special view and decor, of course. We've stayed in room #6., which is the best in our opinion, double balcony, perfect view to the Mont-Blanc. We could not wait the mornings, because of the breakfast - the coffee is more than perfect, just as the mattress, one of the best bed of our trips, incl. 9 US states. City center 3-5 min walk. The staff/owners are very helpful, committed to unique decor, and they always do the extra mile for their guests to make this place a really special resort. Oh, almost forget: the owners' dog, she's an adorable cute old lady ;) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zsuzsa_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel M, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

What a nice review! Thanks a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 tweens) stayed here for 2 nights. Our room included bunk beds for our children. Although our room didn't include a balcony we had a lovely view from the window. The staff was incredibly helpful, and their english much appreciated! Breakfast was plentiful and delicious! The hotel is in a perfect location to explore Chamonix. Everything was within walking distance, including a wonderful bakery that opens at 0600 and stays open later in the evening! The hotel also offers free parking for guests who have a car. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night visit...we even used the outdoor ping pong table!!! We would definitely stay here again:)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keri-Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel M, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks for your review ! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay :) See you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There isn't much negative to say about this place. The rooms were quite comfortable and perfectly maintained, and lovingly decorated in old-fashioned "mountain style". The staff were all quite friendly and helpful. There were a number of extra touches that made it extra special such as an excellent shower (so many hotel showers are cramped, or have poor water pressure or poor shower heads, but not this one), a retractable clothesline in the shower, balconies with a view of Mont Blanc, and excellent home-made yogurt in a wide variety of flavors at the breakfast buffet. It's true it's near a major road, but the road noise was quiet enough that it didn't bother us even with the windows open when we were sleeping. The location is great, too; just a couple of blocks from the central pedestrian area, so it was convenient but without the noise of the central area, and an easy walk from the main train station. About the only negatives were that the beds seemed harder to us than most, and the breakfast buffet (which costs extra) doesn't start until 8:00, which is a bit late for early risers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel M, Gérant at Auberge du Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks a lot for your positive review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Manoir

Address: 8 route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#9 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $96 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former alpine farm, typical of the region, has been transformed into a luxurious chalet hotel. As well as ensuring a friendly and authentic atmosphere, we took great care to make sure all aspects of the hotel's renovation were also eco-friendly.Our family-run chalet hotel in Chamonix prides itself on the quality of the facilities on offer - every room at L'Auberge du Manoir is unique. From double rooms for romantic getaways to junior suites for family holidays, we have rooms to suit all tastes and requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Manoir Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing