We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Small Hotel”
Review of Auberge du Manoir

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Manoir
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Italy and absolutely loved it. It is a few minutes walk from the centre of town and has private parking. The rooms are really pretty and very comfortable with great views. Breakfast was excellent with lovely pastries and home made yogurt. The owners try very hard to make you feel welcome and obviously care very much about what they do.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bartandlisa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 368 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here 2 years ago and once again it was a lovely experience. We had a room with two balconies and a superb view of Mont Blanc. The breakfast was superb. Close to town centre and with parking at the hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank sindysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 for five nights and had a wonderful time. We had a room with two balconies and views of Mont Blanc. The interior decoration throughout the hotel was very nice. The shower was hot and powerful. Everything was very well thought out. There was a lovely selection of teas in the room and a little kettle. Before we used the hot tub we were presented with towelling robes and disposable flip flops. They even supplied us with plastic glasses for the champagne we had bought to drink in the hot tub. The breakfast every morning was well worth the money. The homemade yoghurt and the boiled eggs were particularly good. The hotel owner and his wife were very friendly and gave us lots of good tips. On departure they even gave us little gifts! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MICA22London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Great place, close to the centre (three minute walk to main high street with all bars/cafes/restaurants) and close to ski bus stop (two minutes/four in ski boots). You have to get the ski bus everywhere in this ski area so you'll have to walk to the bus stop at some point, as none of the ski areas are connected by lifts or ski runs.

Decoration is lovely inside, bathroom is great, with great shower. We stayed in corner room with two balconies, both in the sun all afternoon, so great place to come back and drink wine in the afternoon in the sun.

The breakfast, although a little on the the expensive side (€14 each) it is really worth it, loads of fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, loads of fresh bread and pastries, cakes, juice etc etc.

One thing that lets the place down is that they charge for things they shouldn't really i.e. the wifi, the hottub is €8 each! and the price you pay to stay should really include the breakfast...but all in all I would definitely stay here if back in Chamonix.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are worth in nice weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew_benson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying here for 3 nights on our honeymoon before and after hiking 6 days on the Tour du Mont Blanc. One the first night we opted for one of the least expensive rooms that is smaller than many of their other rooms, but still found it comfortable and cabin chic. Upon our return after hiking, we opted for one of the more spacious corner rooms with a view of Mont Blanc. The hotel was a great place to explore Chamonix from, and was walkable from the train station. The owners were friendly (as was the cat and dog) and supplied a great breakfast. We also had a great time looking at the mountains from their telescope.

Room Tip: Choose a room depending on your budget and you won't be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Difficult to find a hotel in Chamonix during the ski season for one night only (most places will only take reservations of 3 nights minimum) but we were lucky enough to find a room for a saturday night at the Auberge by booking last minute. The price (162 euros) for 2 was very reasonable considering the quality and situation (5 mins from the town centre). breakfast and hot tub were extra (14 euros and 8 euros respectively)...paying extra for the hot tub irked me a bit but once you're in it, it's worth every penny. the room was clean, well decorated with a large bathroom. Breakfast was the best part...pretty much everything you could want including homemade yogurts and cakes, local cheese & ham etc. Staff were extremely helpful and welcoming and I hope I will find the occasion for a second visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowersui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at the Auberge for one whole week in February at that was even to short. The Hotel is fully renovated in 2009 and the room we had was not huge but very cosy with two balconies, with the best view ever, good bed and very clean all in real wooden style decorated. The owner,his wife and the golden retriever are all very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast is good with home made bread french cheeses and fresh fruit salade.
We believe a 4 star rather than 3.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evertlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Manoir

Address: 8 route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#9 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $94 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former alpine farm, typical of the region, has been transformed into a luxurious chalet hotel. As well as ensuring a friendly and authentic atmosphere, we took great care to make sure all aspects of the hotel's renovation were also eco-friendly.Our family-run chalet hotel in Chamonix prides itself on the quality of the facilities on offer - every room at L'Auberge du Manoir is unique. From double rooms for romantic getaways to junior suites for family holidays, we have rooms to suit all tastes and requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Manoir Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing