We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I do not go again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I do not go again”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had reserved 3 superior rooms and pay at least 45 days in advance.The room was the worse one i stayed in my life. The part of the hotel we stayed needs renovation.The staff was very good. The breakfast buffet was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAR2000B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    305
    128
    53
    36
See reviews for
241
323
33
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed two nights at Mercure Chamonix Centre.
The location is great - a couple blocks away from Les Planards (ski for begginers), the city center and the Aiguille du Midi Telepherique.
The room was good, very cozy and had a nice view of the mountains. The two downsides were the bed (quite hard) and the bathroom (outdated, with very thin towels).
All in all it was a good stay... would visit again!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctsa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My daughter and 17 year old daughter stayed overnight in this hotel during a ski trip. The room had a very unique layout. The queen bed was behind a partition with sufficient room on either side of the bed. There were two couches with tons of pillows that formed a v-shape facing a flat screen tv. The room was small but felt open due to great lighting and beautiful pix windows. The continental breakfast was excellent with a great choice of wholesome breads, juices, meats, crepes, and omelettes. I really appreciated the friendly "Bon Jours" given by the staff anytime every time one passed me by. I was part of a larger group and I felt they were very accommodating to our needs for additional storage after checking out, but still on the slopes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneD7422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

15 of us work colleagues stayed here for a weekend ski trip and I found the hotel to be one of the best I have stayed in while skiing, and I have been to many over the years. The staff were very polite and helpful, particularly when I requested a late check out for a couple of rooms. The bar area was warm and comfortable, and it is well located. We all found breakfast excellent with plenty of options. My room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piers M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I booked the Mercure because it was the last 4 star hotel available. It was a bit pricey but hey, its Chamonix after all. Upon arrival to the Mercure I was impressed with the lobby, however, there was no one there to take our bags to our room. Not sure if this is standard for a 4 star or not, but it was what I expected nonetheless. The room was just okay, the bed sheets were clean but were a bit worn and could do with being renewed. The bathroom was clean, but more of what I would expect from a 3 star hotel. Location, well thats where the real gem is, its right at the edge of the centre of Chamonix. Its literally a 2 minute walk in to the centre but still in a quiet area. Its also right next to the train and tram station.

Didn't try out any of the food so cannot comment.

Was disappointed that the 'Hotel Services' was a leaflet - clearly not many services to avail of!

Overall, I would recommend this hotel because of its excellent location and it was clean.

Room Tip: Great Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Possibly one of the most comfortable hotels I've ever stayed in. Shared a room with two work collegues. Plush carpets, two televisions and a balcony with a view on the Mont Blanc - beautifully decorated. Staff were excellent, breakfast buffet was vast and delicious. Would love to come back in the future! Close to transport, centre of town and local activities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liselottep90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is full of advantages. It is centraly located, very cosy and well decorated with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast has a large buffet and a great variety of stuff. Rooms are large and nicely designed.
Nevertheless, hotel was overpriced (stayed there during christmas). Another drawback noted was the ventilation in the lobby and breakfast lounge where waffles and crepes were made and the whole place smelled butter all the time...

Room Tip: I you can afford it, choose one of the superior rooms. They are larger and have more equipment like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel

Property: Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Address: 39 rue des Allobroges, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#2 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#21 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at the foot of the famous Mont Blanc and Aiguille du Midi mountains, right in the heart of the ski town of Chamonix and only a few steps from the railway station. The hotel offers a restaurant, a bar and a conference area. The hotel also offers evening entertainment (karaoke, seminars, shows) during the French winter school holidays. Undercover parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel Chamonix
Accor Chamonix Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing