We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful staff”
Reviewed December 20, 2005

After our long drive from London to Chamonix via an unplanned detour in the Jura mountains, we were travel weary and jaded on arriving. However that was dispelled immediately by this hotel. Its the perfect choice for skiers who are going to be on the slpoes all day but want somewhere comfortable to rest their head. The room was wood pannelled with lovely painted furniture.Lots of wardrobe space and a nice size room with twon aspect windows. The bathroom was a little small but at least it stayed warm. Our room overlooked the Arves river and had a great view of Le Brevant where we skied for 2 days. Some people might find the river noisy, but coming from a big town the gentle flow was a great way of getting to sleep. The heating was at the perfect temperature (maybe a little too hot) but essential as the weather in Cham was -15 most days. What really made it though was the staff who were incredibly helpful and friendly at all times. Breakfast was tradtional French with a nod towards US and British tastes with eggs and bacon also. There is a ski room for keeping equipment in and it is only accessible via a code operated entry system. The Irish bar on site is great for Apres Ski drinks before changing for dinner. I reccommend the Vin Chaud! Great location - only a 6 minute walk to the Brevant lift (with skis) and restaurants within stumbling distance. Will definietly be coming back here again - hopefully at the end of Jan. I would unreservadly reccomend this to winter sports enthusiasts who also want to keep an eye on the cost.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AngelaClark77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    100
    35
    11
    3
See reviews for
44
86
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2005

We stayed at the Club Hotel Vallee Blanche in March 05 and were very dissappointed. Having stayed in another 3* Crystal hotel we expected the same but this was not the case. The rooms are a nice size and the bathrooms have recently been renovated but have never seen a duster or polish. The brochure states that this is a 5 mins walk from the ski lifts but it doesn't tell you that this is down 2 steep flights of stairs. Getting back up with 4 sets of skis, ski boots, poles and a buggy is something approaching a nightmare! The hotel virtually comes to a standstill between 9.30am and 4.00pm when they expect everyone to be out skiing and you even have to get your own keys from reception as there are long periods when no-one is present. The food was also disappointing in comparison to our last crystal hotel. However the kids' club staff were great and Ally and Dom (the Managers) did everything they could to help make our stay enjoyable - unfortunately even with their help there is no way this hotel warrants 3*!

Helpful?
5 Thank piste-artistes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2004

WE stayed here for two nights in August 2004, and enjoyed our stay immensly.

Our room was very cute, and of a good size. Like another reviewer, our room over looked the L'Arve river, and its gushing really did help us sleep despite our first apprehensions.

The hotel is very well situated in the centre of the town. It has no parking, but I think parking is generally a bit of a issue in the town- too many tourists, brings too many cars.

Still, the hotel is an excellent location to explore the area- the staff were very friendly, and the hotel bar also quite comfortable and welcoming

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MullMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2004

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Vallee Blanche in mid-July and loved it. Center of town. Our rooms faced the roaring river (great white noise for sleep- and the river is glacial white run off!). Charming decor with hand painted furniture; comfortable, firm beds. Helpful, friendly staff. Great (essentially all you can eat and drink) breakfast, providing well beyond the usual petit dejeuner faire, including cereals, fruit, yogurt cheeses, ham, etc. Who needs lunch after that! Overall an excellent value in a great location.

The Hotel has definitely been updated (see other reviews) but Hotel Vallee Blanche is not trying to be a 4 star, full service hotel. Stay at the luxurious Hotel Mont Blanc if that's what you are looking for- at 3-4 times the price.

Helpful?
3 Thank PDXTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 3, 2004

Just stayed there a few nights. The staff was helpful at times. The bathroom shower was extrememly small and the water warm and not hot.
Bathroom needs some renovation. The bed was quite hard and was a fold down from the closet. For the price i paid, i'd expect a lot more.
Would look at other places before paying 130 Euros/night

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2003

Stayed two nights in May 2003. Room was very large but not updated. The staff was helpful, but we asked for a non-smoking room and the room smelled like smoke. Linens were fresh, but bedspreads, blankets and pillows definitely needed replacement. Hotel is centrally located. We did not believe that the hotel merited anywhere close to the advertised three stars, and would not stay again absent significant renovations.

Helpful?
4 Thank BartLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gourmets et Italy
Hotel Gourmets et Italy
#30 of 73 in Chamonix
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#27 of 73 in Chamonix
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#43 of 73 in Chamonix
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Vallee Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Vallee Blanche

Property: Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Address: 36 rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Vallee Blanche 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel Vallee Blanche a ete renove fin 2013 afin de vous garantir une qualite de service irreprochable. Bienvenue au coeur de Chamonix, sur les rives de l'Arve, ou l'hotel Vallee Blanche vous accueillera toute l'annee, dans une ambiance chaleureuse et conviviale. Cet ancien moulin du XVIIIe siecle a su garder tous les charmes d'un etablissement cosy, familial, a l'atmosphere montagnarde tout en proposant dans ses 26 chambres dont certaines pouvant accueillir 5 personnes et 2 chambres handicapees, un confort 3 etoiles moderne. Sa facade rose, en bord de riviere, s'elevant devant le Mont Blanc, en fait une des vues les plus photographiees au monde. Vous la reconnaitrez souvent dans les guides touristiques de Chamonix... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel la Vallee Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vallee Blanche Hotel
La Vallee Blanche Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing