We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Boccalatte

Le Boccalatte
Ranked #4 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Chamonix
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view, OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a great place to go for lunch on a sunny day as the views of Mont Blanc/Aiguille du Midi are fabulous, and it has a sunny, west facing terrace. The food is OK: standard mountain/tourist fare ie salads, fondue/raclette, beef tartare etc etc. We had a good, simple of lunch of hearty salads or steak and chips, which was OK and reasonably priced. Overall, if that is what you want and it is a sunny day, I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ghb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    135
    35
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
255 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice Setting/Average Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had dinner there one night and enjoyed the people watching while sitting out on the deck and found the service fine, but the food was ordinary. There are lots of other better places to eat in while in Chamonix if you take a little time to find one. Even so, this one seems to be very popular and is always busy. We wouldn't go there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wamrazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Superb value meals in Chamonix. Good portions too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Indushanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“average food..average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I am not sure I like to be served by a person who looks at me as if I am there to rib them. The service is not great but the restaurant has a lot of client. I wonder why since the food was not amazing given that I asked for a local dish.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank thenewstateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
289 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

For those having just visited the Aiguille du Midi and wondering where to get lunch, you could do worse. The salads were excellent and the play du jour ducks was cooked perfectly. Staff were polite as they ran between the tables of tourists and had a good grasp of Rnglish for those who have little else. (This being a very international group of tourists and climbers etc.) Prices were very reasonable. Was expecting to be ripped off in this little tourist hotspot with high prices and bad food - no such thing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TourMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Boccalatte also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Boccalatte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing