We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Hotel de l'Arve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de l'Arve
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the first review I have ever written and felt I should to let everyone know this hotel is great & in a brilliant location for the town, bars & you can walk to the ski lifts. There is also a bus stop just out front for travelling to other ski areas. The hotel staff are excellent. The hotel is nice and quiet and if you are looking for lively bars they are a 2 minute walk away however you cannot hear them from the Hotel and you get no drunks around!

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards Mont Blanc are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks for taking the time to leave your first review on tripadvisor!
This is always a pleasure for all our team to get the feedback of a stay,
We are happy that your enjoyed your holiday a lot with us and we hope to welcome you again for a future stay,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    213
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
104
273
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ettelbruck, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We spent in Hotel de l'Arve 4 nights (19-23.02.2014). In my opinion this is great quality comparing to the price that you are paying. We were looking on many hotels and finally chose this one and we didn't regret.
The place is wonderful. We were staying in the room 45 (double superior room) on the third floor at the side of the river. When we wok up in the morning and saw outstanding view through the window we were stunned. There are big windows in the room and big balcony so in summer you can enjoy those views just from the room. We were staying with our two children (4 month and 4 years) and really find the room very comfortable, with enough space even for play and run. Of course it would be much better in family room but it wasn't free. The bathroom was quite small but still ok. It was very quiet, we did not experience anything disturbing our sleep.
The breakfast was very nice. A lot of confitures, different breads, juices, cacao, different hams and cheese etc. What we were missing was some normal yellow cheese and some tomatoes, cucumber end other vegetables. Maybe they are present in summer period.
The staff was very friendly, they helped us with everything, well explained how to organize ourself. You can count on their help and really great attitude!
We recommend to everybody to stay here - You will enjoy this place!

Spędziliśmy w Hotelu de l’Arve 4 noce (19-23.02.2014). W moim odczuciu stosunek jakości do ceny pokoju jest na prawdę świetny. Porównywaliśmy wiele hoteli i w końcu wybraliśmy ten i nie pożałowaliśmy.
Miejsce jest niesamowite. Mieliśmy pokój nr 45 na trzecim piętrze od strony rzeki. Kiedy obudziliśmy się rano i zobaczyliśmy widok z okna to oniemieliśmy. W pokuju są duże okna i balkon więc w lecie można na prawdę cieszyć się świetnym widokiem nie ruszając się na krok z pokoju. W pokoju byliśmy z naszą dwójką dzieci (jedno 4 miesięce a drugie 4 lata) i na prawdę czuliśmy się komfortowo z wystarczającą ilością miejsca żaby się bawić i nawet biegać. Oczywiście byłoby dożo wygodniej w pokoju rodzinnym ale ten był akurat zajęty. Łazienka byłą dosyć mała ale nie ma co narzekać. Było bardzo cicho i nie doświadczyliśmy żadnego zakłócania snu czy hałasów.
Śniadanie było bardzo dobre. Wiele dżemów do wyboru, różne rodzaje chleba, wędlin, serów, soków. Brakowało nam trochę zwykłego żótego sera i śweżych pomidorów, ogórków czy innych warzyw ale może te są dostępne w lecie.
Obsługa była bardzo przyjazna, cały czas uśmiechnięta. Pomogli nam we wszystkim, wytłumaczyli, pomogli wybrać rozsądnie atrakcje do zobaczenia. Można na prawdę liczyć na ich pomoć i świetne pozytywne nastawienia cały czas.
Gorąco polecam zatrzymanie się w tym hotelu. Nie pożałujecie!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patryk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear guests,
Thanks you very much for your lovely review following your family stay with us,
For a future stay, I would recommend you a family room to have more space with your 2 children but as you mention it some of our superior rooms are also well adapted for a family,
We are pleased to read that your enjoyed the hotel in many ways,
We are always trying to keep our rates adapted to the period,
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Loved the side room with view of river L'Arve, valley between 2 mountains with parasailers most of day. Convenient location, quiet, friendly staff. With 5 friends. I had a solo room which was large, comfortable, nice size in room bathroom, and good size balcony. There Sept 20 -22 for hiking, but I took the time to see the town and ride the free rails (with a card from the hotel) to see some of the other towns. Not busy due to time of year. On Rick Steve's list of hotels. We didn't eat here, but restaurant looked nice.

Room Tip: I think the side rooms offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor after your stay last september,
I must admit that Chamonix for hiking and sightseeing is a wonderful place and I am glad that you stay at hotel de l'Arve corresponded to your expectations,
This is always a pleasure to welcome a Rick Steves's traveller!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

great place and facilities, friendly staff we all loved it. Group of 5 shared 2 bed apartment.
We stayed 8-12th Feb 2014, paid EUR365 per night which i think is pretty expensive and if you wanted maid service it cost more. We didnt pay it and was happy to have same towels and linen for 4 nights however, the bins didnt get emptied so we have bags and bags of rubbish build up for 5 days - not ideal and i think this is the only thing that lets this place down.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thanks for your comments folliowing your stay in one of our apartment,
Concerning the cleaning, departure cleaning is included (not always the case for apartment rentals in France) and we are informing our guests on arrival that dump garbage places are located next to the apartment (either on the side of the hotel or in the street just above). Sorry if you did not get this information upon arrival, It is also possible to get extra towels on request to the reception,
I do apologize for this misunderstanding for the maid service, I wish I had the occasion to discuss this point with you during your stay, Most apartment rental places in France do not include daily maid service during the stay.
Thanks for your comprehension,
Best regards,
Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay with my girlfriend. Great value for the money and very accomodating staff (store bags/skis if arrive before check in or after check out). Room was basic (a bit awkward to have the bath separate from the sink/shower, but that's the American in me), but cozy and had a Alpine chalet feel with heated wooden floors, trim, fur curtains and extremely comfortable beds. Breakfast was a great value and a huge buffet. Great central location perfect for stumbling back to after apres-ski.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river in the back - the mountains are taller and farther away making for a muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your very friendly review following your stay this winter,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel in many ways and that we contributed to the success of your holiday,
We hope to welcome you again,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My daughter and I just spent 3 nights here, while doing a France vacation. Our greeting at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and we had a beautiful view from our balcony. We chose to have breakfast here 2 out 3 mornings and it was great.
The hotel location was perfect. Everything within close walking distance...the town's pedestrian centre and bus stops.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks for your review on tripadvisor,
This has been a pleasure to welcome you and we are pleased that all our services and our location corresponded to your expectations,
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night visit with my girlfriend. Had a really nice stay at this hotel. Good value for money considering the often high prices in Chamonix. The hotel was very quiet for our stay. Room was basic but clean tidy and bed was comfy so good enough given that we were out and about most of the time. Drinks at the bar were fair value and complimentry cakes and coffee after a day on the slopes was a nice touch. Free parking on site also a nice touch. I would definitely stay again on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie P, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Arve, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for your positif review after your stay,
We are happy to see that you had a great time at the hotel de l'Arve and that you enjoyed our services,
This would be a pleasure to welcome you again for a future stay in Chamonix,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Arve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Arve

Property: Hotel de l'Arve
Address: 60 impasse des Anemones, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Arve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Chamonix, near the town's main thoroughfare and its shops, Hôtel de l'Arve enjoys a unique location in the Mont Blanc Valley. This charming three-star hotel has 37 rooms, a wellness area and a flower garden with a view of Mont Blanc. Although located in the centre of Chamonix, Hôtel de l'Arve offers a comfortable and quiet family atmosphere all year round with all the comforts to make your stay a memorable one. Its friendly staff is attentive to every detail and provide a range of personalized services. Complimentary tea time is served for guests every afternoon by the fire in the winter and along the banks of the Arve river in the summer. Looking to get a little fitness in during your stay? Take advantage of the weight machines, climbing wall and sauna in the hotel's wellness area. Hôtel de l'Arve also features six new apartments built using ecological materials and tech- nologies. Ranging in size from 53 to 100 m² (570 to 1,076 sq ft) and combining the comforts of home with all the services of a hotel, they are perfect for holidays with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel de l'Arve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Arve
De l Arve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing