We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive! would definitely go again.”
Review of Le Morgane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Morgane
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here whilst traveling through the alps. We had driven from the UK all the way through the alps from Pau in southern france. We booked the hotel on the spur of the moment. It was seriously classy and we were very impressed with the room. We had a balcony overlooking the road, which I have to say wasn't that noisy.

We were driving so being in the centre of town wasn't a problem for us, but if you are skiing, then I'm sure you would have to make some other travel arrangements. That being said it was close to everything in the centre of town. They had an underground car park which made things really easy!

The staff were very helpful and we spent two great nights there and would definitely go back again. We didn't eat there as there were so many places to go in the town, but we did have breakfast which was excellent.

All in all a great hotel, a little expensive, but then if you want the finer touches in life, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bristolboy900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc s, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback which we are delighted to read.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon,
Sincerely,
Jerome Ridel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
There are newer reviews for Le Morgane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 845 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, small, efficient and friendly. Our room, a junior suite, looked out over Mont Blanc and it is only a few steps away from everything in town. It doesn't feel 'tired' like many other places in Chamonix. Our only compliant was the completely bizarre lighting system in which lights in the corridors outside the rooms shut off after a few minutes leaving you to grope in the dark to find the switch whenever you leave or arrive at your room. A ridiculous and cheapskate thing for a four star hotel to do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jérôme R, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear 12Cameron,

It is a real pleasure to read that you have been satisfied with our hotel !

Concerning the lighting system in the corridors, it is just a "push button" and the light is on for 3 minutes.

Thank you for the courtesy of sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back to the Boutique Hôtel Le Morgane Chamonix!

Your sincerely,

Jérôme Ridel
Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is very well situated with a 2 minute walk to telecabin up to the Aiguille Du Midi and we could park outside without any problem (this is France!). The staff were very friendly. We were disappointed as we were looking forward to a 4 star break, but the room didn't quite live up to that. It was much smaller than expected, although nicely decorated, comfortable and pretty clean. There was a separate toilet and bathroom and it was awkward to get around the doors as space was so tight. It would have been much better if the toilet and bathroom were one room. If you are on the large side, this might be a problem. We didn't try the restaurant as it looked a bit pricey but there is a huge choice of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance, and a nice shopping area. There's a nice spa with a pool and sauna and treatment rooms - all very nice but be prepared for the small rooms. Excellent racket walking track and skiing within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molnkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc s, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, which is always welcomed in order to make improvements and modifications which would add to guests' comfort and satisfaction.
We will of course closely analyse all the points outlined, thank you for taking the time!
With our very best regards,
Jerome Ridel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

great hotel with secure parking in the centre of Chamonix. decent price. room very good with balcony looking at Mont Blanc. great to wake up to the view. only criticism is the doors to the bathroom are sliding doors to the room and therefore little privacy to the bedroom. staff very helpful and attentative

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc s, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Boutique Hotel Le Morgane.
Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Morgane.
With all our very best regards
Jerome Ridel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very average. Clean modern rooms, with slightly better design than a Holiday Express at five times the price. Badly designed bathrooms- no room for your toiletries, probably the smallest hotel bathroom I have ever seen. The concept to keep the toilet separate was good however it just does not work.The glass wall in the bathroom, means that the light will disturb anyone else trying to sleep. There is no storage for clothing, if you are planning more than a weekend be prepared to live out of your suitcase. For the price this hotel is nothing special and over pretentious. I would also suggest that you eat somewhere else for dinner unless you have a penchant for expensive foam! Staff are efficient but not overly welcoming. Book a space in the garage for the car, large spaces and very secure.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MDS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc s, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
I was so sorry to read about your experience with us. As we value your comments, we would appreciate if you could give us a phone number or an email address to review with you what looks like a negative experience.
However, I would gladly welcome the opportunity to reverse this if you would allow me.
Hoping to hear from you directly, I remain at your entire disposal.
Sincerely,
Jerome Ridel
Hotel Manager
direction@hotelmorganechamonix.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nice and spacey. Cool porch with gorgeous view of the river and mountains. Great location close to town center.
Breakfast was sparse - basics only. No vegetables to be seen or had, but coffee was better than the usual French standard.
No shampoo/body soap in the room on arrival, but the bathrobes are very nice to have.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyBarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc s, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Boutique Hotel Le Morgane.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Morgane Hotel.
Kindest Regards,
Jerome Ridel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

No doubt, location is perfect, 5 min walk to the city center, ski location choice just around, some other resto, disco across the street.

The hotel is really modern, efficiently furbished, with some little touches of Savoy. Rooms are pretty spacious, modern, with balcony and beatiful views on the mountains around. One really strange thing - hair dryer is attached to the minibar in the room, not in the bathroom?!

Breakfast is very limited, corresponding to French way, if you are more into German or British type of breakfast you might find choice too limited!

Diner is another story, restaurant is really excellent, good food, modern touch, given the excellent quality price is reasonable.

Spa in the hotel is small, sauna, hammam, very small swimming pool (forget that you can really swim), might be quickly overcrowded at the end of the day. I tried even massage, not bad, pleasant but defnitely not wow.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tequila007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc s, Directeur général at Le Morgane, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Madame, Dear Sir,

We are delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us to Le Morgane Boutique Hotel and would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely yours.

Jerome Ridel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Morgane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Morgane

Address: 145 avenue de l Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#16 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $102 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Morgane 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the heart of Chamonix and at the foot step of the Aiguille du Midi cable car, Le Morgane combines the elegance of a 4 **** hotel with the relaxed, sporting mood of Chamonix offering a breathtaking view of the surrounding mythical peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Morgane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Morgane Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing