We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confused at previous reviews!?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Morgane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Morgane
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Confused at previous reviews!?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I can only assume from the majority of guests I observed during our stay, that most of the previous reviews are written by men.....! Lets start with the positives....

Free Parking (outside)
Central Location
Great Views
Great Spa Treatments
Very Close to Aguille du Midi Lift
BBC 1 and 2 available on TV

Now for the negatives...

The room we had was absolutely appalling considering the price 365 euros per night...these rooms are not 4 star by any stretch of the imagination...and please don't try to stretch anything in the superior rooms because there is not enough room to do so...the bathroom was the smallest hotel bathroom I have ever encountered, I am 5ft 4" and could touch both walls, the bath is not full size either. The double bed promised was two singles pushed together...the quality of the bedding especially the pillows, unacceptable. Balcony was huge but lets face it you neither sleep nor bathe on the balcony. The mini bar was never properly replenished, the bathroom toiletries never. (Shampoo/Shower Gel is bolted to the wall) There was a huge black hair on the side of the bath when we checked in. The walls are thin as mentioned by previous reviewers as the screaming child next door will testify. The rooms appear to be furnished by IKEA. Although the reception area of the hotel appears quite trendy, don't let the fact this hotel has a One Michelin star restaurant fool you. The breakfast and breakfast service are disappointing, poor variety of items, you have to wait an eternity for the coffee to arrive and when it does its cold and tasteless. This breakfast room doubles up as the Micheline Star restaurant, needless to say on that basis we did not bother trying the restaurant especially as upon check we were told by the receptionist "don't tell the chef but there are far better restaurants in Chamonix". SKI PASS WARNING, we were sold an all inclusive ski pass in reception and were told it was valid for the whole area including Verbier... unfortunately this is only the case when you buy 6 days or more, not the 4 days we were sold so we ended up paying an further £100 at Verbier for the day...the hotel did refund us one day but it was frustrating and time consuming. The WIFI at Le Morgane is terrible..sporadic or non existent for most of the time. The whole place needs a refurb.

I did have some excellent spa treatments but unfortunately one of which was spoiled by the noise of a bunch of marauding drunk British males in the pool who despite being asked to calm down by staff carried on.The strangest thing about our room (take note ladies) was the hair-dryer (which blows cold) was bolted to the top of the mini bar inside a wooden box directly under the television, with not a mirror in sight...I had to use the reflection in the balcony door to dry my hair, much to the amusement of two chaps in the apartment block opposite!

Sorry, wont be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    285
    65
    18
    8
See reviews for
143
438
32
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aspley Guise, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent three nights at Le Morgane and really enjoyed our stay. While not the cheapest option in town we got great service, a perfect room with a view of Brevent and delicious food in Le Bistrot.
We were warmly welcomed and despite being early arrivals showed to the spa to get changed for an afternoons skiing.
We were given a useful map showing the bus stop which we needed to get to the lifts (one point for the staff - it would useful to give guests a bus timetable and explain a bit more how the system works - it took us a day or so to work it out).
The spa is excellent although the pool is not big enough to swim in - we used it every day.
I would certainly recommend eating in Le Bistrot at least once in your stay - it certainly lives up to its reputation and we had a really fine meal.
Overall a well located hotel (especially for the Aiguille du Midi lift which you use for the descent of the Vallee Blanche - also highly recommended).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmac37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaza
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We didn't spend much time in the hotel, as the weather was great, but think that we would stay there again. The rooms are not generously sized, but in strange contrast the bathrooms and toilets are, as are the balconies. Our had stunning views and overlooked the river. The staff were all friendly and informative.

A general point to leisure skiers; It is important to note that this hotel is a taxi or bus ride away from the supervised and pisted ski slopes. The closest is the small Des Planards ski area which is a 10 minute walk in ordinary footwear but is a 20 Euros taxi ride away with your skis and boots and another 20 Euros back to the hotel.

(About a five minute walk from the hotel you will find The Aiguille du Midi lift which is the cable car ride to the Mont Blanc viewing platfom - definitely worth a visit - but it is not to a pisted ski area.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdwatcher203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beautiful bedrooms, friendly service and great location in the heart of Chamonix. The spa was a bit disappointing - a rather cool (as in cold!) pool with jets but no lovely, bubbly jacuzzi....They do have a sauna and a hammam but the jacuzzi is a sad omission. Partic when you're nursing sore ski-ing muscles! Overall, although quite pricey worth splashing out for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camdentownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Le Morgane in Chamonix and loved it, Beautiful view of the mountains from our room. Staff was so nice and accommodating. Restaurant was lovely and the setting very relaxing. Fogot our passports in Paris and they helped us with that situation. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2g01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lovely hotel in a good location. We arrived mid morning and received a very warm welcome. The team were very helpful and gave us all the information we needed about parking, ski passes, directions to the nearest lifts etc. Our room was not ready when we arrived (we were early) but they allowed us to park out the front of the hotel while we went down to the spa to change into our ski gear. They then looked after our bags until we arrived back at the end of the day. Nothing was too much bother!

We had a very quiet room which was great as I love to sleep and the halls were carpeted so we didn’t hear a thing during the night which was nice. The room was nice with a big balcony (maybe two I cannot quite remember as it was too cold to sit outside anyway!) and a lovely view! We had a lovely big bed which was very comfortable and had a sitting area too. We had booked a suite, which wasn’t exactly cheap, so we were a little disappointed with the lack of storage space and size of the bathroom. The room was supposed to be able to sleep 4 people (2 on the sofa bed) but I could not imagine being in the room with another 2 people as we would have been right on top of each other. For two of us though it was perfect and the big bed (with no join in the middle) made up for the small bathroom!

The rooms and common areas were all kept clean and tidy. All the staff were friendly and wanted to make sure we had a nice stay which I liked.

We had breakfast at the hotel a few days and normally had it in our room, really nice food and good choice. We didn’t eat at the restaurant as preferred to try out some places that had been recommended to us by friends. The menu was very good though and we did try out the wine at the bar on a few occasions which was very nice!!!

We were able to park free of charge in the over ground car park which was really helpful as we needed the car during the day to drive to the lift. There are buses and we were given a bus pass but we prefer the convenience of having a car and to be honest the parking by the lift wasn’t that expensive.

We visited the spa a few times and used the pool and sauna, although small it was quite nice to relax at the end of the day and it was a really nice space. The girls were very helpful and we booked in for a massage which was lovely! The only downside was that they could not do two massages at a time so me and my partner had to wait around on our own and it took up half the evening.

I would definitely recommend as a hotel for couples and I am sure groups would like it to. Chamonix is so pretty and the people all very friendly. There are lots of shops, bars, restaurants so if you are not skiing there is still plenty to do!

A couple of the places we ate out at were Munchie and Les Caves – would highly recommend both of these and Les Caves is nice if you fancy a drink at the bar before dinner, they also have a bigger bar/club downstairs. The food and service at both of these places was brilliant. Really friendly staff who look after you and the food was just delicious. When we go back next year we will definitely be visiting both of these places again. Munchie is quite small though so you will probably need to book and Les Caves gets very busy on a Saturday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BergieLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Friendly welcome from Reception even at midnight arrival, superb location just moments from both the cable car and the town centre AND it has both outdoor and indoor parking (the latter paid for). Comfortable rooms in typical minimial style (for France), with terrace with great views in every direction. Like almost all ski hotels, take earplugs! There's a small communal roof terrace too if the weather is nice and some suites have private terraces. We found service, other than at Reception which was lovely, the usual French disinterested/semi-hostile. Breakfast staff seemed positively insulted when we asked for plates (there were literally none left for the buffet) and the bar staff contrived to ignore us for so long in a half-empty bar that we actually went elsewhere and had a great time! That said, the breakfast is nice and the decor in the public spaces is cool and trendy. So overall, we felt it was very nice but quite overpriced - you pay for that location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMC0000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Morgane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Morgane

Property: Le Morgane
Address: 145 avenue de l Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#16 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Morgane 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the heart of Chamonix and at the foot step of the Aiguille du Midi cable car, Le Morgane combines the elegance of a 4 **** hotel with the relaxed, sporting mood of Chamonix offering a breathtaking view of the surrounding mythical peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Morgane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Morgane Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing