We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel / Great Restaurant”
Review of Le Morgane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Morgane
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was a nice place with a good location in town. We really liked the restaurant. Book in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 865 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel was THE perfect choice for my recent ski trip. The bedroom & bathroom were immaculately clean. The bed completely comfortable. Drawers and closet spacious for ski clothing and evening clothing storage. They conveniently offer lockable ski lockers in the lobby that even have fans for ventilation! The front desk staff are not only VERY knowledgable about restuarants, ski rental equipment, stores, etc. but incredibly friendly and accomodating. If I had one criticism, it's that the hotel-provided hair dryer is in the bedroom not anywhere near a mirror and it's permanently affixed so it cannot be used in the bathroom, near a mirror. Obviously, installed by a man who doesn't know a mirror is REQUIRED for hair drying! Bring your own hair dryer and you'll love this hotel and it's convenient proximity to mountain ski buses and all restaurants in the valley.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mominny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is a great hotel in a central location in Chamonix. The staff is friendly and the rooms are very nice. All updated furnishings really comfortable beds the bathroom is very modern with a tub and shower plus a towel warming rack very nice in cold weather. If you can book in advance you can save a lot on a room here. I was very impressed with the decor in this hotel it has modern touches but keeping with the alpine lodge theme. The location is close to shopping and food and nice bars to have a drink in the evening.The view from our room was of Mont-Blanc we enjoyed wine on the patio at sunset. Be advised the breakfast is very expensive at this hotel and is nothing more than a continental style breakfast you are better off going out in the morning for a crepe and coffee costs way less. I've been to Chamonix twice and I would stay here again. I gave it four stars because of the breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank upnorthliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, no doubt about that. Staff is friendly enough, though when problems arose, they were either a)no where to be found, or b)copping attitude about how the mishap was OUR problem, not theirs. Watch out for random parking signs, they can fall over and pierce your tires, costing you an entire DAY trying to track one down in a taxi half an hour away, subsequently making you lose an entire day in the lovely Chamonix.
For an almost 500€ room, the bathroom is MINISCULE. At 7 months pregnant I couldn't even turn around inside it. There is absolutely nothing luxurious about it, and when booking a Jr. Suite, this is something I would have expected. Dark floors make things look dirty most of the time, even when immaculate.
On a positive note, the beds are lovely and comfy, and we actually really enjoyed the breakfast (esp eggs and coffee!) Swimming pool and spa are nice... quaint, but helpful when you are very pregnant and it is -15 degrees outside with a 3 year old who can't sit still and a car that won't roll.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nathalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc s, Hotel Manager at Le Morgane, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel.

First of all, the parking panel is installed at a place where cars are not supposed to park. Following this problem, we did our best to find an open and available garage on Saturday. I personally put our technician at your Husband's disposal to remove the damaged wheel and I arranged a taxi for him to go to the garage. Considering the extent of advice and assistance we gave you in this incident, we find the commentary posted on the internet as an unjustice.

Regarding our bathrooms size, we are fully aware of this problem and we try to be as honest as possible to anticipate bad surprises.

We invite once more you or your Insurance Company to contact our hotel in order to find a resolution. We stay at your disposal for any further information or assistance.

Best regards.

Mrs. Aurélie Coquerel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This Eco hotel is situated just 1min walk from Aguile de midi train station(one stop before Mont Blanc) I tried to book via the hotel's site after reading raving reviews, but I could not manage to successfully use the hotel Booking site, so I ended up using OTEL.com and manage to book a superior room for US450. When we arrive the room was really too small as we had 4huge luggages. The hotel offered us at suite for an extra 100euros a night. As there are only me and my hubby, and we both smoke, we need to go out to the balcony to smoke, which is ok but the "Eco" hotel shuts the heater when u open the balcony door. Sigh. Housekeeping was also terrible, our rooms were properly clean. The hotel has a reasonable ok restaurant but a very sad spread for breakfast. As we both do not ski there's really nothing much to do plus the biting winter was a nightmare. As we stay in pretty often we can hear our neighbours talking and shower, people upstairs walking around. Even though the room was big the ceiling is terribly low, giving us terrible clautrophobia. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful, but room service was terrible. Definitely not a place for non skiers. I definitely overpaid!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracieYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc s, Hotel Manager at Le Morgane, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for spending time to give us your opinion.

We understand that the exceptional weather conditions (-20°C) restricted you from experiencing all that you expected. This city is wonderful to visit and offer some activities for non-skiers, like snowshoeing, ice-skating etc... but, of course, they take place outdoors.

We really did our best to issue all your problems, like suggesting a Junior Suite instead of Superior room, or having the bagagist at your disposal on your departure date to carry your 4 huge pieces of luggage to the train station, and to give you the best advice about restaurants and activities, etc...

Concerning your comment about smoking, we have to apply the French laws: all the French public area are non-smoking. This is the reason why we offered an ash tray to smoke on the balcony.

We don't understand the comment about housekeeping as you refused the service every day.

Regarding the room rate, we are not responsible for the prices offered by a travel agent. At your arrival, we did our best to reduce the upgrade's cost, adding the fact that we exceptionally offered you the mini-bar items.

We are sorry to read that you disliked your stay so much in Chamonix. However, it is very important for us that our guests spend the best stay ever in our establishment. We recommend you to come back during a warmer time to get the opportunity to enjoy our hotel and this incredible city once more.
Do not hesitate to contact us by phone or email in order to get the best offer.

We stay at your disposal,

Best regards.

Mrs. Aurélie Coquerel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is our second stay at the Le Morgane and we were anticipating a good visit since we booked a junior suite this year. The service remains very good at the hotel -- Frederik, one of the managers, is terrific and super helpful. And the location is great with spectacular views and convenient walking access to the town. Also, there is ski rental nearby and ski lockers on premise.

But the property itself is starting to look somewhat run down. I imagine this must happen to ski properties faster than most hotels but it was disappointing to see that 2 of the outlets in the room didn't work, the room was very dark, the lamp in the room flickered on and off, and there were several places in the room where something (like a doorstop or an electrical outlet) had been pulled out of the wall leaving crumbling drywall in its place. The aesthetic is still nice -- very minimal and modern -- but I think this hotel is one year from being really past its prime and I hope they are able to renovate soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CK107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Very modern, clean hotel and staff could not have been more helpful...however I was woken up at 4am by noise of disco music coming from club along the road opposite on 2 out of 4 nights ( road that leads to the Aguille de Midi) I was told that the Hotel had an ongoing problem with the Disco.Very good location for shops etc , Would stay again but opt for room on other side of hotel(facing river) !!Pool is very small and the pictures make it look bigger.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#9 of 73 in Chamonix
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Morgane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Morgane

Address: 145 avenue de l Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $100 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Morgane 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the heart of Chamonix and at the foot step of the Aiguille du Midi cable car, Le Morgane combines the elegance of a 4 **** hotel with the relaxed, sporting mood of Chamonix offering a breathtaking view of the surrounding mythical peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Morgane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Morgane Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing