We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and hotel, certainly worth the voyage!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Hameau Albert 1er
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
lisbon
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and hotel, certainly worth the voyage!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

One of the best restaurant experiences ever! Old school French service with great Maître D and outstanding sommelier Christian Martray, in fact all the people working there try to make your stay as perfect as possible. The cooking is really world class, we had langoustines, duck liver and great poularde de Bresse stuffed with truffels. All this accompanied with local wines from Savoie of outstanding value for money. The sweets were heavenly good as was our staying at the hotel. It is not the cheapest experience but if you have a special moment to share, go there! Chamonix is a marvellous place, the scenery is dominated by the Mont Blanc, just impressive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joskeversmissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    50
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
70
151
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Everything about the meal we had was excellent from the greeting at the door to the pre dinner drinks, the attentiveness and knowledge of the staff and of course the presenatation, quality and taste of the food - and all the little extras thrown in. Excellent. My seond visit and will be going back every time i revisit Chamonix be it for skiing or sumemr activities...

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColinMcDougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The restaurants are excellent, the service is great, the view is stupendous and even the weather was perfect. A choice location with a nice pool & spa in the heart of the alps. Great view from our spacious & private balcony. Really the only thing I would fault was the lack of internet access - no wifi at all in the public spaces, and very slow & cumbersome in the rooms. And it is quite pricey; I'd expect better services.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aveneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had lunch in their restaurant with friends; four of us. We chose the set meal; €24 each.
The starter is buffet style - plenty of choice. Main course a la carte. Selection of desserts to die for; again buffet style, help yourself (as often as you like!) We then had coffee and petit fours in the garden. Beautiful flowers. It was July, very hot and we ate outside.
OK not cheap. €200 for the four of us incl. three (relatively small) carafes of wine, water and coffee, but as a one-off the service is excellent, views outstanding, and although in the centre of Chamonix, it was very quiet sat outside.

Room Tip: Make sure you book; very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighAird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaventem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Hameau Albert 1er has an impressive view on the Mont Blanc mountains, as has every other house, hotel and restaurant in Chamonix. It adds to that spacious and well equiped suites (at least if you book a room in La Ferme) around an indoor/outdoor swimming pool and two restaurants, one of which even having two Michelin stars, although it's not even worth one, alas. Definitely stay in this hotel, but look for food in the center of Chamonix, were a brasserie as L'Atmosphère has a lot more flavour to offer, right above the wild mountain river Arve that intersects the city.

Other minuses are the limited breakfasts, the lack of airconditioning (hot days are scarce over there, but when they come, they are REALLY hot), and a small welcome attention (some fresh fruit, a glass of champagne,...), as you have in other five star hotels, would have been appreciated.

On the plus side is the friendly service, the free underground parking (hardly used by most of the guests, strangely enough), the astonishing views on the snowy mountains from your balcony at La Ferme (be sure to book a room over there, NOT in the main building!), the central location at walking distance from most of Chamonix and its must-see sites (the carfree shopping area, the cableway to the 3800 m high Aiguille du Midi, the funicular railway to the Montenvers glacier, the parapente landing area,...).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in La Ferme! And prefer 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leysfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent 5 nights away skiing and stayed here. This was the best choice... Incredible place, great room..( we stayed in the small room) and was perfect..good size with great bathroom and brilliant views of the mountains. Service is brilliant, spa really really good. Best spot for a jacuzzi looking up to the snow capped mountains !
I would reommend this and will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed in La Ferme room this January during the high season. The rooms are very nicely decorated and quite fresh. La Ferme building is convenient for going to the spa/pool (part of the pool is outdoor which is a nice plus) and feel a bit more special and cosy. The only con to my taste is very low ceiling in the room.
Location of the hotel is very good. A 2-3 min walking distance to the main village "promenade" and most of the cafes/restaurants.
The nearest ski lift is Brevan which is a 3 minute drive from the hotel and guest can use the shuttle bus which would also take you to the other ski lifts but drop-off and pick-up times needs to be agreed as there is only one shuttle bus.
Breakfast is fairly good (especially for a french hotel). We opted for Nespresso machine which was in free self service use rather than the much worse coffee from the bar.
Had a dinner both at the traditional restaurant and the 2* fine cuisine place (twice).
The traditional restaurant was a complete disappointment with very rude Metr/sommelier and mediocre food at unjustified high prices. The strangest thing was the wine list with quite a nice selection of "value" wines with.... up to 400% margin on them. In France. Hm.....
Albert 1er restaurant is one of my favorite places in France. Great bar with live music for an aperitif before dinner. Good food. Good service and a wine list with prices sometimes rivaling London high street shops. Not bad for a 2* Michelin restaurant.
Overall - a fair 5* experience in one of the most challenging skiing areas in Alps.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmitry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Hameau Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hameau Albert 1er

Property: Le Hameau Albert 1er
Address: 38 Route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Hameau Albert 1er 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of mont Blanc, Pierre Carrier, Perrine and Grand Chef Pierre Maillet have taken over this hotel, devoted to exceptional cuisine and local delicacies, founded in 1903 by 'great grandfather Carrier'. The rooms in the main hotel or the chalets in the garden offer both modern and warm comfort. On the one hand, there is the superb menu at the Albert 1er with its elaborate recipes influenced by the Piedmont and Liguria and, on the other, the Maison Carrier restaurant with its specilaities to be enjoyed in the atmosphere of an old farmhouse or on the terrace while gazing out at the majestic beauty of mont Blanc. The indoor/outdoor swimming pool also boasts views of the eternal snows on the roof of Europe. An equally stunning and delicious address for winter or summer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Le Hameau Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hameau Albert 1er Hotel Chamonix
Le Hameau Albert 1er Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing