We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with fantastic pool & spa"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Hameau Albert 1er
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Albert Premier 1er for a long weekend which was a very rejuvenating experience! The hotel is very well located, within minutes of the town centre and the spa and pool were amazing. We were in a standard room which was large enough, very comfortable and stylishly decorated. The bathroom was lovely - marble, nice bath and the rain shower was great. We liked the little touches around the hotel and the service was fantastic. There's a trendy bar downstairs that looked inviting and we enjoyed lounging in front of the log fire for hours! Breakfast was great - a lot of choice + hot options too. The hotel has two restaurants, one of which is apparently according to my friends who frequent Chamonix, the best in the town. We ate at their other restaurant and had a wonderful meal - v cosy bistrot! Cannot recommend their spa more and spent a lot of time in the pool from which one can drink in the views of the mountains! There are loungers around the pool with outdoor log-fire heaters which was lovely for relaxing in and enjoying a drink. At a small charge, the hotel can arrange transfers to the ski lifts and back which was appreciated given we were short for time. Thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Chamonix - we will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M0_the_Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Le Hameau Albert 1er
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 301 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2011

The free driver service to the ski slopes is a godsend. The staff n general , but in particular the hotel chauffeur and porters were warm and very helpful.

If you can afford it, the Albert 1ere restaurant is a must. Great food and service .

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank lizcoppola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Its an excellent hotel. We stay there every year for a few days at a time. Chamonix is a great village. Breakfast is great although not cheap. Dinner is usually exceptional in the "starred" restaurant. The rooms vary from very small and not very expensive to large ones and expensive. All of them enjoy the hotel facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

really liked this hotel, well worth the money -- the views of the mountains from the porch were great. the room was nicely done. even though the hotel is in the middle of the town, it's done a good job of creating a sense of seclusion. didn't use the spa, but the location of the pool was another nice touch. staff had a fine sense of service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmaduketravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Our travel agent recommended this hotel and we decided for our 31st anniversary to spend the money. Our room had a mountain view with a balcony. The hotel in a small town is placed by the rail road tracks and busy road but really did not notice any noise. The room was well worth the money. Our trip to Chamonix was so we could go up the Alps for its breath taking view. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the lift and very close to the town and great places to eat. The pool was beautiful with a great view of the glacier and much larger for other hotels in europe. Finally and best was the hotel restaurant. It has two but we chose to splurge for our anniversary and eat at the main one which was acclaimed. I have to say it was the best meal I have ever eaten. I travel frequently and have eaten at many highly acclaimed eateries. But the food here was spectacular. We choose the smaller gourmet tasting and could not eat all the food they brought. The ingredients were fresh, well balanced and none disappointed. For 150 Euros for two it was expensive but well worth the money. I could not imagine anyone eating the larger tasting. If you are in Chamonix you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arduckhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Interesting reading all the other reviews of this hotel, we decided to stayed at the much lauded Hameau Albert Hotel over the Christmas week. After a very long journey we arrived at the hotel to be greeted by a rather arrogant concierge who seemed to be only interested in getting hold of our Range Rover keys. After being shown to our room we were then left to navigate ourselves around a hotel which is very disjointed. The pool, steam room, spa and a restaurant in one wooden building. Then a hike through the snow and slippery ice to the next building which houses another restaurant, sauna, boot room and bar. We have stayed in and eaten at many Relais Chateaux hotels so we do get the quirky boutique hotel theme that seems to be very trendy at the moment. Not quite understanding the previous reviews of slick contemporary bedrooms? On arrival in our room we were presented with the previous guests pubic hairs in the bath, a cracked and yellow with age toilet seat, tired wooden furniture and two beds that were maybe made for dwarves.I am not a particularly tall person but for five days my ankles dangled over the edge of the bed. Think the miniature beds were used as the bedroom was on the small side. Strange that a concierge when asked had no idea what time supper was, unbelievable in such a top class establishment!
Christmas day was a real disappointment, in September we booked our Christmas Day lunch together with our room booking which was all confirmed via email, we were told in September that we needed to book as the restaurant gets very full. The Maison Carrier restaurant looks very pretty but feels rather like a food factory.Very large and it seems to have a policy of get as many people in as possible. When we confirmed our table the receptionist admitted that there had been a mix-up and there was no booking. So Christmas evening we had to experience one of the worste meals and service we have ever had. Our starter eventually arrived and we were presented with tepid farmed salmon and shredded "oxtail" which seemed to be the fatty leftovers from the previous evening placed on more shredded lettuce. . We arrived at the restaurant at 7.20pm and by 9.30pm we were still waiting for our main course. The maitre'd scuttled past our table every few minutes not saying a word, so we decided to leave.
When we checked out the next day the receptionist could not wait to tell us that the hotel would not be charging us for a meal which we did not even have! unbelievable. So we left for our long journey home a little disppointed!.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We spent a weekend in Chamonix and booked a suite in the mentioned hotel for € 400, night. At arrival we have not been asked if we had a pleasant trip, the check in was very cold and not profesionall.
After we got in the room i claimed that my night tbale lamp did not work, a receptionist came up to the room and explained to me that she was not able to solve this and that I would have to wait till monday, we mentioned that we are satying till Sunday, I friendly mentioned to her that this was not a standard of un uper **** class hotel, after my remark she just turned around and left the room without comments.
Front desk people have been very unfriendly and not cooperative at all.
To be frank this was a very bad expirience for us.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarimToledano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Hameau Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hameau Albert 1er

Address: 38 Route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#17 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: $214 - $844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Hameau Albert 1er 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of mont Blanc, Pierre Carrier, Perrine and Grand Chef Pierre Maillet have taken over this hotel, devoted to exceptional cuisine and local delicacies, founded in 1903 by 'great grandfather Carrier'. The rooms in the main hotel or the chalets in the garden offer both modern and warm comfort. On the one hand, there is the superb menu at the Albert 1er with its elaborate recipes influenced by the Piedmont and Liguria and, on the other, the Maison Carrier restaurant with its specilaities to be enjoyed in the atmosphere of an old farmhouse or on the terrace while gazing out at the majestic beauty of mont Blanc. The indoor/outdoor swimming pool also boasts views of the eternal snows on the roof of Europe. An equally stunning and delicious address for winter or summer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Hameau Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hameau Albert 1er Hotel Chamonix
Le Hameau Albert 1er Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing