We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Nearby Hotels
$134
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
$86
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Le Faucigny(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc(Vallorcine)(Great Value!)
$107
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Morgane(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
$106
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel l'Heliopic(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
$161
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Refuge des Aiglons(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
$92
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel de l'Arve(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
$85
$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
19
68
64
18
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
68
64
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom decor isfrench channelslocation location locationsmall balconyweekend breakdu mont blanca stones throwfantastic locationan updatemiddle of townyogurtski roomtwin roomcentral chamonixthe busski bootsgeneva airport
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 187 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

La Croix Blanche is an old hotel and as such certain things such as a lack of a lift in certain parts of the building and scratched woodwork in places are to be expected. Bedrooms are not the same in size and shape (i was aware of this comment from a previously read review and although I didn't see the interior of any other room the floor plan displayed on each corridor/landing showed the relative dimensions). We enjoyed every aspect of my week's holiday at this hotel. The location is superb; right in the centre of town so that nowhere is more than a few minutes walk away. We were on a B&B tariff and so ate at a different restaurant each evening. The breakfast was good but not outstanding; the fresh fruit was not particularly appealing and a lack of anything hot, other than a boiled egg, was a disappointment. The coffee however was excellent. My bedroom (no. 34) had a great view of the Aiguille du Midi, Mont Blanc and Brevant. A late afternoon read sat out on the balcony was a most pleasant experience. There is an easily accessible free parking at the hotel. The service provided by all hotel staff and the manner in which they carried out their duties could not be faulted. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered 21 and above are in the part of the hotel serviced by the lift, (i was in 34 right next to the lift on the 3rd floor which was good).
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Hotel is right in the heart of Chamonix, surrounded by reataurants, shops and bars, with a supermarket only 50 metres away. The station is a few minutes walk as is the tourist office. The staff were very friendly and the service in the restaurant was very good. During our four night stay there was live music every evening on the raised restaurant terrace and our food was excellent. Overall the hotel is good value, the superior rooms were spacious, had good mountain views and although they are a little dated it was cozy. Free parking is available which is a bonus in Chamonix.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After reading, some of the reviews, I wonder if we were at the same hotel. Our stay was for three nights. Although I had booked a double room, we were given a suite for the same price. Yes, I'm sure this is coloring my review favorably! We found the location very convenient to everything in town. Our room included bedroom with large TV, separate water closet, bath with tub and shower--double doors in the bath opened onto a small balcony that overlooked the plaza below and the Mont Blanc Massif above. There was also a separate sitting room with a twin bed set up as a day bed and another--smaller--TV. We had no problems with a lack of hot water. Guests were quiet and we hardly heard any of our neighbors.

We were on the 4th floor (5th floor in Europe), but there was a small elevator at the end of the hall. I believe we were in the building behind the original hotel (which was built in 1793!), so perhaps we had more "modern" amenities. The lock to the room was a bit confusing, using a skeleton-type key that went in partway, a half turn, went in further, and turn--just so--once more to open. My husband could never figure it out, so I was in charge of the key.

The views were stunning, to say the least. Because the room overlooks the plaza, it can be loud at night. The music from the attached bistro (L'M) could go quite late. Earplugs help! We stayed over Bastille Day, so the noise from the celebration at Place du Mont Blanc about 6 blocks away was quite loud until around 2:00 a.m. but that's an exception to be expected on July 13! (Yes, they held the celebration the night before)

We found the desk staff to be very helpful and friendly. They all spoke English very well. We did not choose to partake of the petite dejeuner in the morning as we thought it a bit expensive at E10,50 per person (about $13US) and since there was a small fridge in the room, we had fruit, yogurt and croissants or pain chocolat from the bakery around the corner each morning. Internet is not accessible from the hotel rooms, but is from the front lounge area and the separate business room, which is quite large. You must pay for internet access (E2 for an hour or E6 for 24 hours--if you log off after you use the internet, you can use the rest of your time later), and there is a computer with printer available for guest use. We used it to print off our boarding passes. French keyboard is a little tricky, but doable.

Would not hesitate to stay here again.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I would ask for rooms in the newer part of the hotel, perhaps, though I did not see one of the older rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLWynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Noise all day ( other people in the hotel ,people walking upstairs or next door, alarm clocks, ... Impossible to sleep !), no free-wifi ( and the fees was quite expensive), complicated door lock, no elevator ( and a lot of steps ! ... Nice with heavy luggage), only cold water or hot water some days, ... This was not really a dream to stay in La Croix Blanche !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainjoekatanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Chamonix is a powerfull place. The big mountains around the village give you nice feelings. I searched several hotels there and chose the La Croix Blanche because its price was very competitive. Unfortunatelly what is not said in the sites that offers this hotel is that if you chose the cheapest room your room will be at the third floor, in fact, in the attic, no elevator in the front building and no internet inside the room. We were travelling through Europe for 24 days so we have heavy luggages and when I asked for a better room the lady from the front desk said that this was what I had reserved through Booking. As the room was in the attic and the bathroom's roof was low you had two options: wet all the bathroom or take a shower on your knees.As a matter of fact the internet sites of this hotel doesn't show pictures from the room they gave me. Very bad experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews