We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience”
Review of La Maison Carrier

La Maison Carrier
Ranked #38 of 246 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $167
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Installed on small chairs like the pasture and under the old wood paneling of the reconstructed farmhouse is a cuisine to be enjoyed on checkered tablecloths our country restaurant. Back in time to rediscover the old-those dishes simmered by our grandmothers, who hummed hours on the wood stove - is what we offer to our guests. Summer on the terrace facing Mont Blanc, the winter near the terminal, high Savoyard fireplace, is enchaineront popular dishes of popular cuisine: calf's head invigorates sauce, grilled pigs feet, the bowl Chicken liver, the roast lamb on the spit, pike quenelles in crayfish sauce, Piedmontese risotto or fried whitefish fillet. Of course, the chef Stephane Gassot did not forget to revisit some cheese specialties and bring up to date the classic old desserts. Tasty, tasty, real Proust's madeleine that will make you relive with emotion the exquisite flavors of the cuisine of yesteryear Alps. Perpetual ode to our ancestors who cooks ends with this "vre" garni thousand pies and gourmet coffee that can be enjoyed chocolates and cookies, all prepared in the kitchens of our establishment. In the dining room, our director Serge Ratton will offer you the most suitable wine to your desires and your dishes with a selection of fine wines from France, including wines from regional varieties of the best winemakers.
Reviewed April 21, 2018

Exceptional service, food was top quality and not to mention the dessert carousel (go check it out). Beautiful decor - really highlights the beauty of the French alps.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank oliviawilson1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 683 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Food, atmosphere, and service are all abundant. A must during a visit to Chamonix. The set menu included what I had planned to order, the half smoked, half cooked salmon started and lamb confit main. Dessert is a buffet where you want to take one of each. The beef and the fish of the day were also well received.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank mof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

When you enter this rustic restaurant you will pass an open fireplace with racks of lamb slowly turning in front of the fire. This is your first clue of what’s to come.

Traditional and local offerings along with well prepared contemporary items. The lamb (must be shared by two people) plate and pork chop plate were excellent. I was a bit more adventurous, with calf head followed by veal cheek. Interesting.

You can be as wild or conservative as you like. It’s all excellent.

Dessert buffet was great. Service was good, priced a little above moderate , I’d say.

We’d go back.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank SW1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Simply the nicest place in Chamonix. Perfect food. Thoughtful wine list. Lovely staff. And not a bad view...

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JamesP002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Love this Restaurant, food, ambiance, service absolutely love it, with kids or without, Maison Carrier has become one of our must go restaurants while in Chamonix .

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perrinemaillet, Propriétaire at La Maison Carrier, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your comments.

Kind regards,

Perrine Maillet-Carrier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison Carrier also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to La Maison Carrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing