We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for food and drinks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jekyll

The Jekyll
Ranked #57 of 220 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $44
Cuisines: Bar, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A lively Bar with a fantastic restaurant makes The Jekyll an experience not to be missed. Situated near to the main bus stop and car park in Cham Sud, The Jekyll is the perfect venue for apres ski drinks offering great happy hour deals from 4pm and live music most nights. From 6.30pm The Jekyll turns into a restaurant well known for its superb hearty reasonable food. After dinner the music is turned up with sounds of live music and The Jekyll becomes a late night party venue for all.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for food and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a great place in Chamonix for a meal and the food is great. We had the ever popular Beef pie and didn't disappoint. The staff were friendly and the beer reasonable in a town that is not known for cheap beer. Would recommend and look forward to going back again one day

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    90
    22
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good tucker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

After 8 days on the Tour de Mont Blanc we had a great dinner here. Fun, noisy atmosphere, big dinners and great beers. Don't expect small meals even if you only order entrees!

Helpful?
Thank Wannagoagain08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great chilled out place to eat and drink in Chamonix”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We eat and drank in the Jekyll & Hyde several times during our week in Chamonix.
The service was always friendly and the food and drink was well priced and delicious.

If you like your TV sport there is a huge screen on the first floor, although the sound is kept low so it doesn't disturb the lively chatter of the mostly walkers and climbers clientelle.

It's situated a few minutes walk from the town centre. We stayed in a rented apartment just across the road, so this was our local.

The management and bar staff were all from the UK during our visit, so no worries for those like us with limited French.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeanGartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
381 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Friendly staff serving great food and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

All the staff, led by the owners, are friendly and efficient. The setting is great in an old farm building. We ate there a few times in our week in Chamonix. The burgers, steaks and mussels are all highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Burgers - great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

My fiancé and I ate dinner here after a great day of hiking and enjoying Chamonix. We wanted something delicious, low-key and not crazy-expensive. The Jekyll did not disappoint. It's perfectly located (a bit off the beaten path), the "boss" is kind, open and accommodating. If you need to kick back, have a great meal and a good beer (they also have a great wine list) all at a decent price, this is the place. I would revisit, absolutely.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaPuce11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jekyll also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to The Jekyll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing