We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Chalet Blanche

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Blanche
Ranked #6 of 30 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 7, 2010

What a fantastic holiday! Lovely clean spacious rooms. Your own cooking area if required. An excellent breakfast, with everything you could wish for. Fantastic evening meals, with second helpings if there was any left over, never a dirty plate in sight.
A welcoming jacuzzi is available all day, and was particually welcome after some of the adventures Al and Debbie had laid on for us, we did the adventure park, mountain biking, canyoning, white water rafting, quad biking, not just around a course, but around the mountain (not the snowy bit) following a guide "brilliant". (young children have to do course following a guide and can then have a swim in a lake while being watched carefully by Al)
The location is approximatly a 10 minutes walk into town and at the bottom of a valley with beautiful views of Mont Blanc on one side and other mountains on the other. If you drive there you are very close to Italy and Switzerland so a day trip to one or the other or even both is possible. Al and Debbie are very hospitable, and leave to your own devices but are nearly always available if required. Cannot recommend this holiday enough, absolutly loved it and was sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Blanche
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 309 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2010

We enjoyed a great stay in Chalet Blanche in September 2010. Debbie and Al are incredibly welcoming and helpful and it wasn't a problem at all that we had a baby and toddler in tow. The comfortable and clean rooms are serviced daily and the chalet is well equipped if you want to cater for yourselves for lunch/dinner. The breakfast provided by Debbie and Al was more than substantial and included croissants/pastries, bread, fruit, cereals, yoghurts, cheese, eggs, juice, tea & coffee...our toddler didn't know where to start!! The chalet is 5/10mins walk from town, which means that it is quiet at night but not too far to amble in. The setting is stunning - and our one regret is that our children didn't allow us to take advantage of the hot tub that affords great views of Mont Blanc!! Debbie and Al have good knowledge of the area and were more than happy to suggest plenty of suitable activities for us.
We would not hesitate to recommend Chalet Blanche to other travellers and hope to return on future visits to Chamonix.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xrebeccax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Two of us spent 6 nights here in August and were pleasantly surprised by the nice accommodations for the price. Debbie and Al are great transplanted British owners/hosts who tag-team breakfast duties. Special requests for food or other daily living needs (within reason), are graciously met by Debbie and Al. Although this B&B is not 'in' town, it is only a 5 minute stroll to the center of Chamonix making this a quiet place to sleep. During the day, a beautiful view of the glacier and South mountain ridge provide a wonderful setting. Give them a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-n-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We flew to Geneva and then hired a car to Chamonix for a four night stay. From the moment we arrived it was wonderful. Debbie and Al go out of their way to ensure the Chalet is welcoming and it is a credit to them. Situated a few minutes walk from the shops and wonderful restaurants in Chamonix the chalet sits in a fantastic plot in the valley with stunning panormaic views of Mont blanc and surrounding areas. Our room adjoined a balcony which allowed us to walk out and around the chalet to take it all in and sit and relax whenver we felt like it. Debbie and Al are there every morning to make whatever you wish for breakfast and answer any questions on trips or sight seeing. We went up the cable car to the Auiglle de Midi which was totally mind blowing and so we did it again the following day, the multi pass ticket is much cheaper and also allwoed us to go up the cable cars to do the walk up to Lac Blanc which was stunning. We also drove the Mont Blanc tunnel through to the stunning italina town of Courmayeur, which is well worth a visit. The hot tub overlooking Mont Blanc as the sun sets was the icing on the cake for us. Will definetley go back soon

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midw3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed at Chalet Blanche for six nights while we hiked in the surrounding mountains. Debbie and Al Johnson were very considerate hosts. For example, I must eat a gluten-free diet. Debbie located a store in Chamonix that has gluten-free food; she obtained bread and rolls for me to have at breakfast and for sandwichs during hikes. The breakfasts were substantial, with eggs cooked to order. Twice, we used kitchen facilities at the Chalet to prepare dinner. Eating out is expensive in Chamonix. The Chalet also has laundry machines for guests; again, a big saving. The best part of Chalet Blanche ... Debbie and Al are interesting and nice people. We purchased the multiday pass for use on the area's cable cars and trams; big savings. For dinner, try the Petite Kitchen; operated by two young Brits.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDHall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stopped here for 2 nights on the way to Italy, I wish we could have stayed longer.
The children loved the chalet for its location and the fact that you could simply make yourself at home. The owners Deb & Al could not have done anything more for us and we could not stop smiling after our 7 year old said whilst looking at the banquet of food laid out for breakfast, "This is just the best!". Highly recommended and certainly hope to return some day soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Absolutely fab and cannot be faulted.

No surprises that Debbie and Al's Chalet is the number 1 B&B in Chamonix but is much more than just a B&B.

Totally recommended as an ideal location for whatever takes you to Chamonix.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTMSuperDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#15 of 73 in Chamonix
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auberge Du Bois Prin
Auberge Du Bois Prin
#41 of 73 in Chamonix
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Blanche

Address: 75 Chemin des Vourzes, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range: $95 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Blanche is a traditional chalet that has been refurbished to a very high standard with 8 en-suite bedrooms, sleeping up to 20 people. It is located in a quite area but is just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Chamonix. Offering B&B accommodation in the summer and fully catered in the winter we offer something for everyone in the magnificent Chamonix valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Blanche Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing