We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet d'Ile has it all!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile
Ranked #2 of 27 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Canberra
1 review
“Chalet d'Ile has it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

There is only one place to stay in Chamonix and we were so lucky to find it. Breezy and Alan have this rare quality to make you feel at home right on arrival while running the place to the highest standards. Our group was made of skiers and non-skiers, english and french speakers...not easy to manage but everyone simply loved every minute of our stay at Chalet d'Ile. Breezy made a point of honour to prepare an unforgettable dinner for my 50s B'day...We shall come back!

Pascal (Australia)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascalito50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
30
43
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

First class accommodation in Chamonix. Breezy and Al are great hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. They have an excellent knowledge of the area and have many contacts regarding ski hire, lessons. IMGs etc. Great food and wine. Will visit again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edscarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Chalet Breezy is a great place to stay in Chamonix. the food is excellent and Breezy is extremely accomodating for people with wierd dietary requirements.
My wife has wheat intolerance, nut allergies, and various other intolerences, and Breezy still managed to create great food and even better cakes and desserts.

Chamonix has excellent nightlife and amazing ski areas but all are either a bus or car ride away, so be prepared to walk to the bus stop if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasticflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Our week at Ski Breezy was all we had hoped for and more! From the moment we arrived the hospitality of hosts Breezy & Al was warm and generous. The chalet has everything you need, is kept impeccably clean and if your lucky enough to get the 'room with a view' provides magnificent views of Mount Blanc and the Alps from your bed! Days started with your choice of cooked or continental breakfast before picking Breezy & Al's brains for the best place to ski for the day or if you don't feel like kitting up other ways to spend your day in beautiful Chamonix. Having a car in Chamonix is desirable but if you dont then Ski Breezy is an easy 5-10 minute walk (dooable in ski boots) to the free bus service which takes you to the lifts.

Getting back to the chalet after a day out was great and there was no shortage of freshly baked cake, baguette & hot drinks to enjoy. We particularly enjoyed the evenings at Ski Breezy. Spectacular home cooked 3 course meals, free flowing house wine, plenty of laughs and some good old fashioned board games filled many enjoyable nights.

All in all the quaint traditional chalet was perfectly equipped, the hosts did everything they could to make sure you got the most out of your stay and we left totally satisfied knowing that when we head back to Chamonix we wont be going elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLeederville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

This is a brilliant place. It offers all that's best in hospitality and atmosphere. Breezy and Alun are fantastically friendly, welcoming and thoughtful in so many ways: they answered initial email enquiries rapidly and helpfully, were very accommodating when we arrived 5 hours later than schedule (and provided us with delicious lamb rack and lemon tart ), gave us a lifts to purchase ski passes from the place with the shortest queue, provided good info about places to eat and ski ( and then listened to feedback) and much more. And they dish up wonderful freshly cooked food and run everything with great organisation skills and still have a relaxed, informal atmosphere.

Any downsides? A couple of minor things - but life is rarely perfect is it?! There's one enormous room and the others are a bit small - but this tends to be the case in most ski accommodation and I've stayed in smaller - and you don't spend much time in them anyway.
We opted for the cheap option of using public transport (50 euros return from Geneva) and relied on public transport to get to the ski lifts. This is fine, as long as you are reasonably fit and are OK to walk to and from the bus stop (which is about 10 mins in ski boots) - unless Alun or Breezy or other guests can give you a lift - which is sometimes on offer. OR take an old pair of trainers which you can leave on ski racks at mid stations.
Overall - great place - book now!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrysheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Breezy and Alun warm welcoming hospitality and local knowledge is second to none.
I have always been a "do it on the cheep" ski holiday maker but after my week at Skibreezy I have been converted. Lovely chalet with great views, nice location not too far into town, mind you with great food and flowing wine who needs to venture out! I could not recommend this enough. See you there!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganjies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

I am reluctant to write about our trip here as I do not want to find that they are fully booked when we next book our ski trip.

What a Gem of Chalet! The hosts, Breezy and Al's are fantastic hosts and great fun too, this made for a very special holiday for us and we can't wait to retiurn. We travel a lot, have stayed in a lot of different places, and know that it is rare to come across such a gem. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and even before we had arrived, they had arranged a 30% discount on our ski hire and, with their contacts, a first class ski instructor for a snip.
Knowing where the best snow will be is always a problem when you are visiting a resort for the first time, but Ski Breezy were even able to direct us to the virgin powder which everyone else has missed!
Many thanks for such a memorable holiday.

james

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGranaryLowFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile

Property: Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile
Address: 80, Chemin D'Iles des Barrats | Chamonix Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A catered, 10-bedded ski & snowboard chalet in Chamonix offering accommodation for the winter ski season. Home cooked, hearty food, flowing wine and fine hospitality.Your hosts are Alun and Breezy who have been in the Chamonix Valley for years and are active skiers themselves. Their local knowledge will make the difference between a good and a great holiday.The chalet layout makes it ideal for a couple of families, groups of friends, couples and individuals. It is close enough to Chamonix centre to walk in for a beer and far enough out not to hear the noise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing