We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile
Ranked #2 of 27 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The chalet is located in a quiet road near the hospital in Chamonix, about 10 minutes walk from the town centre. It is very clean and comfortable and has a lovely open plan lounge / kitchen / diner as well as nice touches like a heated boot rack. I am sure there are plenty of more luxurious places you could stay, but what makes this place special is the hospitality.

Al and Breezy are just great hosts, making all their guests feel welcome and relaxed. The food is excellent, with dinner being three courses with wine included. Everyone eats together and I really enjoyed meeting the other guests, exchanging stories and playing the occasional board game.

I visited for 5 nights on my own but I would also be tempted to go back with the family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punter_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiBreezy, Owner at Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Paul,
Hope you had a good Christmas. Great fun having you stay in the chalet with your entertaining stories! Pleased you enjoyed the games too. It was a fun start to the season for us and thank you for being such a good guinea pig with the menu sampling.
Hope to see you again and have a wicked new year, a bientot!
Breezy & Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
30
43
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake District
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

got an email from Al & Breezy to say that the early snow was fab so sneaked out for an early 4 day ski. snow was great, chalet & hospitality top notch. Breezy as always went the extra mile to cope with my wheat free diet..... many thanks
In fact so good I have already booked to go back twice

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiBreezy, Owner at Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
So pleased you could make it out. Enjoyed the fun tracks in deep powder. Thanks for the slipper delivery.
Hope you had a good Christmas without too much rain. See you in a week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

been to chamonix 7 or 8 times stayed mainly in chamonix sud on late deals at easter to get a last blast in. this was my second time stopping at ski breezy as i stayed there 3 years ago. is it good for singles - yes, couples yes, groups yes. food is so good and atmosphere is great either stay in or go out pre and post dinner just let al and breezy know. chance of going back next year.....probably!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boothen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezy71, Owner at Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Ah, the Stoke Chapter,
Thank you so much for the review. Great to see you and your brother. How much snow at the end of the season? Great oat cakes and lots of fun too. Looking forward to seeing you again in the next couple of seasons.
Breezy & Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I had a week in between work in Europe late April and decided to do some spring skiing in Chamonix, finding Breezy's on TripAdvisor. All of the wonderful reviews posted on TA are absolutely true. Spending a few days with Breezy and Al is like reconnecting with old friends - fancy, the chalet is not, but the accommodations are more than adequate and a great value, and the companionship and atmosphere can not be beat. The food is delicious, the common areas spacious and comfortable, and Breezy and Al are extremely knowledgeable about local ski areas and conditions, and will arrange to have your equipment delivered to the chalet if you are renting. I highly recommend Ski Breezy to anyone, whether a large group that would take several bedrooms or just a single traveler like me, whether staying for a weekend or a week.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleeplessinfrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezy71, Owner at Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Hi Blake,
Thank you so much for the review here on Trip Advisor. Thoroughly enjoyed your company in the chalet and learning from your business and teaching experience. It is often the diversity of people that we meet through the chalet that makes the atmosphere so rich.
Shame that we did not get to ski with you at all. Maybe next time?
Hope your European travels went without a hitch, and thanks again.
Breezy & Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was our first bed and breakfast chalet experience. We were not disappointed with our decision. Both Breezy and Al were over the top in the hospitality department, from a warm greeting and orientation to their inclusion of my husband while skiing. The chalet was quiet,
comfortable, and clean. The food was awesome, with breakfast, afternoon tea/cake, and
the great evening meal shared family style. We also enjoyed playing games in the evening with the other guests. Next time we will brush up on our British knowledge.

I hate to share my comments as I would love to keep this chalet to myself!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilanoMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezy71, Owner at Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Hi Michelle & Troy,
So pleased you chose to stay with us at Ski Breezy. It was a pleasure to meet you all and put some turns in with Troy and hope he enjoyed the Saturday chicken up the mountain too. We shall try and arrange some sunshine for your next visit.
Thanks for the review and joining in with the "British" games!
If we are in Milan we shall definitely look you up for the micro brewery and to hear about Paris.
Until the next time...
Breezy & Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirksworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Back from a great end of season week in the Ski Breezy Chalet. I've had many Chalet based Ski trips & this place far exceeds them all.
Breezy & Al were the perfect hosts, bending over backwards to make my stay a memorable one. They went to great pains to create a warm & relaxed atmosphere with great home cooked food & plentiful wine... If that weren't enough they are also very willing to share their hard earned local knowledge on where best to Ski, Drink, Eat, catch the bus & generally have a good time.

Thanks for everything guys, I'll be back..!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezy71, Owner at Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Sam,
Thank you for reviewing Ski Breezy here on Trip Advisor. What great snow we had; shame we could not see it all the time. Not the best for photos. It will definitely go down as one of the best weeks of the season, and to share it with a fellow telemarker too.
Catch you for a beer in Derbyshire after you get back from Majorca.
Thanks again and see you soon.
Breezy & Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here 2 years ago and had a great time again- it was a hoot. Al and Breezy couldn't have done anything more to ensure that our stay was as much fun as it was last time. They are both a fountain of knowledge when it comes to the skiing and Chamonix generally, the cooking is amazing and they even arranged for it to snow every night for us. Nothing is too much trouble for them- Al even mended our hire car after a small indiscretion.
Hats off to them and we hope to be back again next year with all the kids- look out!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGranaryLowFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezy71, Owner at Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
James,
You have done a sterling job on the video footage. Thanks so much for the review. I know that Gladiator and Contender will remember the week for years to come too. Thanks again for all the laughs and a great week.
Looking forward to catching you and Kate for beer in Yorkshire!!!
Breezy & Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile

Property: Ski Breezy - Chalet D'Ile
Address: 80, Chemin D'Iles des Barrats | Chamonix Mont Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A catered, 10-bedded ski & snowboard chalet in Chamonix offering accommodation for the winter ski season. Home cooked, hearty food, flowing wine and fine hospitality.Your hosts are Alun and Breezy who have been in the Chamonix Valley for years and are active skiers themselves. Their local knowledge will make the difference between a good and a great holiday.The chalet layout makes it ideal for a couple of families, groups of friends, couples and individuals. It is close enough to Chamonix centre to walk in for a beer and far enough out not to hear the noise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing