We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something a little different”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Munchie

Munchie
Ranked #12 of 221 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Something a little different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you're a bit cheesed out on all the Savoyard fayre you could do worse than to have a dinner out at Munchie. Delicious, excellently prepared Asian-fusion style food, served by professional staff in a stylish environment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WildHighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    130
    27
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of Cham.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Arrived in chamonix mid afternoon in mid may. When we got there I phoned and booked a table for 9pm. We ordered a litre of house red (yes a bit over the top for two but looked like great value for €16 compared to other places in chamonix. We ordered the sushi 20 piece starter - I felt full after this so would prob order a smaller one next time! It was amazing though. Delicious. I had the steak which was cooked perfectly and served with a bowl of salad and chips. It also came with a Asian type of mayo on the side this was scrumptious! My husband had the special which was some kind of beef stir fry - again he loved it. Our bill came to about €80 euro which was good I thought as the food was great. I would definitely go to this place again. I think we were lucky to get a table although it was a quiet time of year. I would advise booking in summer of winter at peak times.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzlightyear021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Houches, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Definitely one of the best restaurants in town. I love the asian/french infusion. The steak is definitely the best in Chamonix and they do a wonderful lemongrass martini!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maddybluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Town was quiet so we didn't book as there were only 2 of us. We were offered a table for 4 near the Bar which was OK but the people who came in 5 minutes after were offered a reserved table in the dining area as long as they were finished by 9pm. Would have chosen this if offered as it was only 7pm.
Service was OK but the bar area did seem to be a bit of a gathering area for young women greeting each other.
The food was very nice but not the cheapest - main course €20-€25.
As it got busier a lady sat down on our table, and we were then asked if we minded sharing. We didn't but nice to be asked before a stranger joins you for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently Scrumptious.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We've been visiting Munchies for several years now (at least once every time we visit Chamonix). The first time it was a revelation; I love asian-fusion food and they do this very well. Subsequent visits are always a relief - standards remain high; the quality of the food has always been good and the service is efficient and unobtrusive. Can't really comment much on the drink side; we normally have the house red which i think is pretty good value.

The atmosphere is usually lively; can't remember if they play music but if they do you can't hear it over the chatter. This makes for a nice relaxed ambience.

If you are looking for downsides, all i can think of is the need to book as its usually pretty full and the decor doesn't seem to have changed much over the last few years.

Places come and go every season in Chamonix so it is nice to know good ol' reliable Munchies is still there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munchie also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Munchie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing