We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How is this place not top ranked??”
Review of Le Chaudron

Le Chaudron
Ranked #57 of 222 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“How is this place not top ranked??”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a laid back, rustic place with great food and this place fit the bill exactly. Tiny, so reservations are recommended. We had the crab, foie gras and escargots for starters then rump steak and shrimp risotto for mains and all were divine. Have been told as well that the fondue is to die for. Definitely worth another visit.

Helpful?
Thank sueboo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    61
    15
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
188 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Chamonix”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

All four of us had over the top main courses. Veal, steak, and deconstructed lasagna were fantastic. Service was great. Place is packed every night and across the street from our favorite bar in Chamonix - Bar du Moulin.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best french restaurant in the Chamonix-valley”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Away from the tourist-track, on Rue du Moulin, is this cute family owned french restaurant. It's definately my first choice and favorite amongst the french restaurants in town. I've been here several times and the food is always amazing, you won't go wrong with anything! I really recommend their special fondue. The waitress is super friendly and efficient.

The restaurant is not huge so make sure to book in advance. In the summer they have a small terrace out the front which is perfect for a warm summer evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarroCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This restaurant is now one of my most favourite restaurants in the whole world! On our first night in Chamonix we walked past Le Chaudron which was completely full although one of the lovely staff took the time to come over and give us their business card so we could book for another night. We then called up the next morning and booked dinner for that evening. It was fantastic!!! The staff were all amazing and this was probably the best service I have ever received in any restaurant. My husband is a chef so not easily impressed with the food at most restaurants but he couldn't help but continuously comment on how delicious both our meals were (and the french toast dessert was heavenly). We then booked again for New Years Eve which had a set menu and again was just as impressive. Le Chaudron is an amazing restaurant that you don't want to miss if you are visiting Chamonix.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent find!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant having not been able to get into Mumchies next door and we were so very impressed. The front of house were so welcoming and the atmosphere was very authentic, friendly and warm. The food was sensationally good- from the dandelion salad to the poached chicken and truffle with risotto, it was fabulous. Acceptably good value for chamonix and I would certainly return every time I visited the town. I would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chaudron also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Chaudron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing