We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food from a tremendous menu with delightful service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant L'Impossible

Restaurant L'Impossible
Reserve with
Restaurant L'Impossible is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 220 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Wonderful corner in the Mont-Blanc Valley where you can find organic food, everything homemade in a peaceful atmosphere.Cooking is an act of love!All our ingredients are fresh and seasonal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food from a tremendous menu with delightful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We went to this fabulous family run restaurant on the recommendation of our chalet hosts and we were not disappointed. We were in a group of seven (not an easy task to handle so many people at one table!) service was absolutely wonderful: courteous, attentive and professional. As it turned out, our waitress was the daughter of the hostess. Both ladies were friendly, bright and cheerful without being "over familiar". We later found out that Dad was the chef in the kitchen and the food was "Perfect".
The restaurant is tastefully decorated and the food / service could not have been better! I have absolutely no hesitation recommending this great dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CWRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    132
    51
    36
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Nice restaurant with good atmosphere, live music and excellent foods! 2 star Michelin Guid book 2013.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

A lovely atmosphere and excellent wine list with a very helpful sommelier; the food was delicious too but the service was slow.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous ambience, such potential ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is beautiful to be in and lovely to look at, but but the food simply misses the mark. The owners should spend more time at Cap Horn to learn a few tricks. The menu is far too complicated. Whoever has dreamed this menu up is catering to their personal taste buds instead of understanding what customers like to eat. Some simple and delicious options are missing. In my case, the waiter got my order wrong and sent me an incorrect main dish. Seeing as we had already waited 30 min for this dish I was not in the mood to wait for the right one after my dining partner had finished eating.
We had trouble finding items to order in the first place, everything seems to have clashing favours and strange combinations, so to not even get one's choice in the end was pretty tragic! Wouldn't bother going back there when there's Munchie, Cap Horn, Pie, Le Ferme, La Petite Kitchen, Chambre Neuf and so many more amazing places to eat in Chamonix.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lilyblake123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing New Year's Eve”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I had been looking very much forward to dining at this restaurant due to the many fantastic recommendations on TripAdvisor - so much so that we had decided to book this restaurant for New Year's Eve with a couple of friends. (set menu for €170 pr person without wine). The ambiance of the room is lovely, but that is unfortunately the only positive thing to say. We waited 1.5 hours for our starter, the majority of the courses were bland and we hardly ate most of them, our beef was extremely undercooked, several of the cooked vegetables were cold and the service was appallingly slow and inattentive. When we explained our complaint to the manager (citing all the specific points above), we were brushed off and receiving the bill, we were additionally disappointed to see that no discount had been given despite these factual shortcomings

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank niho05ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant L'Impossible also viewed

Argentiere, Chamonix
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Restaurant L'Impossible? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing