We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is really impossible.”

Restaurant L'Impossible
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Restaurant L'Impossible is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 221 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Wonderful corner in the Mont-Blanc Valley where you can find organic food, everything homemade in a peaceful atmosphere.Cooking is an act of love!All our ingredients are fresh and seasonal
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“It is really impossible.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Having read the information available on the web I was really happy booking there a table for two. Every real experience was unfortunately totally different. The food was mostly banal. Pureed beans occured to be the base for both starter and first course in one set menu. The wine recommendation was totally wrong (I've asked for something light and fruity and what I got was the opposite). Quite pricey. What else... - we waited 40 minutes for the desserts. The desserts looked and tasted like just bought at the superstore. Regular superstore, not organic. C'est impossible!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piotr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    134
    51
    37
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Beautiful historic venue, FANTASTIC food and wine and great service. This family run restaurant is just amazing and I highly recommend it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bailey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful on every level”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We enjoyed a spectacular meal with our three small kids this week while staying in Chamonix. We booked via the website as we were looking for gluten free meals. We were welcomed warmly to our table. The inside is amazing and very wooden snow chalet with an open wood fireplace. The food was great and we were happy to pay for the good quality large kids meal (we ordered 2 meals between 3 kids and there was still too much). Our waitress was a gorgeous English girl who grew up in the area. The standout was the trio of brulee dessert. My husband says the best dessert he has had in a long time! He wants to go back for desserts! Make sure you visit if your in Chamonix.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The owners are warm, welcoming and make you feel right at home. The gorgeous wooden beams, huge central fireplace and lovely decor are cozy and authentic. The food is excellent, wine is excellent, service is excellent, location is excellent just a few steps from the center of Chamonix. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting or living in Chamonix.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TNMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contagem
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely and fancy place”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Me and my fiance have been there in may 2011, the restaurant was almost closed when we arrived, despite this fact we've been lovely served by the young owner.
We had a fine bodeaux wine with italian cut pork meat and home made pasta (the best I ever tasted).
Highly recommended for couples.
We wish to come back there for sure!!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant L'Impossible also viewed

Argentiere, Chamonix
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Restaurant L'Impossible? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing