We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best burger in Chamonix” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poco Loco

Poco Loco
Ranked #4 of 220 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Fast Food, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Small restaurant of burgers hot sandwiches and salted and sugar crêpes. Very cosy atmosphere, atypical and warm decoration. Very old adress of Chamonix where it's easy to meet people who love the mountain because the restaurant room is very narrow and tables are like table d'hôtes.
Lancashire
1 review
“Best burger in Chamonix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have been to Chamonix 4 years running and always visit Poco Loco every holiday. The Poco special is awesome and on our visit last week, my son even encouraged me to take him there 10am for his brunch. If I lived in Cham, I think I would put of a few stone so just as well I only visit once or twice a year :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danneeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    304
    59
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome fries and great burger, went there three in a row”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Not your ordinary burger joint. We had the soups and mulled wine here and they were delicious.

The Burger: Ok, the burger here tastes great and has a large and tasty bun and multiple (smaller) patties placed next to each other to fill the area. I concluded that the reason is that the chef has a very small grill and can fit more small diameter patties than bun-sized ones.

The Fries: Large cut, and Belgian style, great taste.

The Beer: They have a small selection of decent beer. There is a happy hour as well (6-7pm) where a 1 litre is half price if I recall correctly.

We liked this place so much we ate there two nights in a row. We event went there a third night (around 8pm) and he had no more burgers left so we had to move on.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RMando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, good barmaid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Sat on the Main Street of chamonix this place is tiny but has a great atmosphere. We stopped here the first time and had a takeaway burger which was really nice and reasonably priced. Then the second time we went, we ate at the bar as it was so busy upstairs, always a good sign, but that was good too. Just chilling with a nice burger and a beer. Can't go wrong.

Helpful?
Thank Atlas_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go to this place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Where do I Start. Up in Chamonix for the day. It was good and snowy.. We didnt know where to go and we found Poco Loco and it was amazing! The Food and the staff. We went upstairs in a very small little room with a window overlooking the town. But it's what we were looking for Authentic Alps type stuff.
We had the ham/cheese and then a banana crepe and garlic Fries. ALL AMAZING. Totally the feel of what the tourist wants for a great price!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“FunKy spot, great for a quick bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Great, non pretentious spot to grab a quick bite and a delicious vin chaud on the main high street. Waitresses delightful, head upstairs to share a table and stories with other travelers. Perfect hole in the wall spot.

Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poco Loco also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Poco Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing