We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a budget stop in Chamonix”
Review of Hotel Le Chamonix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Chamonix
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed April 4, 2011

The room was large and clean and the staff were very accommodating letting us check in at 10 am on arrival and use a room to shower and change at 6pm on departure, a great location, and fine if your not worried about a dated interior and no frills. We would certainly book again but next time try to get a room on the side of the hotel with the balconies overlooking the square

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciderparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 135 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2011

Lovely very helpful staff, great location with views of Mt Blanc.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RajeevSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

upgrade to balcony view of mont blanc! large bathroom with full tub and view of Alps from bathroom window. large bedroom but a long climb up stairs. no elevator. Nice breakfast. heart of chamonix. English speaking staff. absolutely breathtaking view out of balcony. VERY good value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LBGtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed 3 nights and loved the Mt. Blanc view from our room. I would like to mention that the hotel does not have Wifi, but Office de Tourisme which locates in front of the hotel is a Free Wifi spot 24/7 and we were able to use our ipod from our room in 2nd Fl(US 3rd Fl).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photographerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We chose the room with the Mont Blanc view. I'm sure the views would have been spectacular had it not rained all the time we were there. There was a very small balcony. The room was tired and extremely dusty, particularly around the bed frame but the room was comfortable. There was no tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast was additional and basic but sufficient. The English staff were so friendly and they were the best thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelmadpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights for my 30th birthday. We choose the room with the Mont Blanc view and it was stunning to look out on the glacier and snow covered peaks.
The room was good for a 2 star and the bed was very confortable. Breakfast was extra and very basic but there is a great boulangerie across the street for an alternative.
The english staff were friendly and recomeded a great cafe down the road.
On the whole we loved chamonix and enjoyed staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

The adress given on this website is different to the address on the hotel's website (11, Rue de l'Hôtel de Ville - hotel-le-chamonix.com). We booked over the interent and stayed here on two separate nights, before and after a 7 day hike. The English staff were really good. Our extra bags were stored while we hiked with no problem. The room we stayed in (206, both nights) looked out onto the town square opposite the tourist information, and Mont Blanc! It was magnificent. The bed was really comfortable. The cafe downstairs on the square was handy and very busy. The patisserie across the square was fabulous and opened early which was good since we had to catch a train before breakfast time in the hotel both mornings. We sat out on our room's balcony with cheese and wine and watched the world go by and the watched the changing colours on Mont Blanc as the sun set. This hotel, and Chamonix, were a highlight of our 3 week trip to Europe.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roslyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#38 of 73 in Chamonix
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#17 of 73 in Chamonix
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
2.6 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Chamonix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chamonix

Address: 11 Rue de l'Hoel de Ville, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range: $67 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Chamonix 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Chamonix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing