We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, warm, friendly place, don't be put off by bad reviews.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet les Frenes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet les Frenes
Ranked #9 of 27 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, warm, friendly place, don't be put off by bad reviews.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

First off I would like to say thank you to Phil and Michelle for the wonderful hospitality they showed us on our stay. They made us fell welcome in their home, were helpful from the first to the last day.
I received a welcome text from Phil with details of how to get in if he wasn't about when we arrived and to let us know about the dog (in case we hadn't read the description - like I noticed some other trip advisor reviewers hadn't).

Upon arrival Phil greeted us n gave us the tour, indicating the kitchen bathrooms etc. The room was clean, warm and tidy, exactly what you expect for a good value price.

Chamonix town center is a short drive from the chalet about (5 mins), and to the reviewers complaining about this distance I'm sorry they couldn't move the whole building closer for you.

The owner recommended we booked for tea if we were eating at the local restaurant as he knew it would be busy on a Friday night, he actually booked it for us when we asked. It's the only restaurant close enough to walk to but the food and wine was good!

To people who have read other reviews, the bad reviews, don't be put off. What a lot of the pompous, pampered sounding people on here forget is that this is Phil, Michelle and Pepper's home they are inviting you into. Treat it with respect and they will treat you likewise, they lent us there personal equipment (snow shoes were great fun Phil thank you) and were helpful and polite, genuine people.

Other comments that are not helpful on these reviews are the times for the local buses, again I don't see how this is the owners fault, unless of course he writes the local bus schedule!

All in all Chalet du Frenes is a lovely place to stay away from the noise of Chamonix itself. Water was always warm, as were the bedrooms; bathrooms/ bedding clean, good selection of books in rooms. Great croissants and coffee in the morning as well! Bonus points to the owner, for the path being dug through 4 foot of snow to get to the hot tub, even though we didn't have time to use it!

Thank you Phil, Michelle. Wish we could have stayed the middle nights also, cheers Martin and Ben

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinKearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gomersal, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just returned from a weeks break at chalet Les Frenes with my 3 daughters. The accommodation was ideal, clean, warm and comfortable and more than catered for all our needs. The chalet is located in the lovely peaceful surroundings of les Bossons, yet only a couple of miles ( 10 minutes bus ride) from the center of the busy town of Chamonix and all the ski lifts. The hosts Phil and Michelle were both very welcoming, friendly and couldn't do enough for you from providing a hearty breakfast to helpful info on where and what to eat. We all had a fabulous time and wouldn't hesitate to book again when travelling to Chamonix with friends and family. Thanks :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I've just returned from staying at Chalet Les Frenes with a few friends and had a great time.

Phil and Michelle are excellent hosts. They always insured we were comfortable and well fed for breakfast. Croissants were amazing by the way!

Accommodation is basic (as you would expect for the price) but very clean and comfortable. Toilets and and showers were extremely clean and water was always piping hot.

All in all this is an excellent place to stay for a fantastic price. I would stay here again and recommend to others. I think there are some very unfair reviews on here probably by people who have very little respect for the people who are inviting you in to their home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Clean, simple, functional. Great peaceful location away from the buzz of Chamonix, with a lovely lawn and deck with unobstructed view onto Mont Blanc. Very low-key, similar to a very small hostel and great for those with commensurate modest expectations. Don't miss the best fondue in the valley, eaten on the deck of the restaurant just around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trinhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

As soon as you enter in the so called 'chalet' the smell of dirty sox will welcome you. We arrived late afternoon and have been told that our name will be on a board saying which room is ours but we couldn't see our names and as nobody was around we had to guess!! The waiting room was so dirty that I felt sick to take of my shoes as this is a requirement! Toilets are dirty and fridge was smelly! The living room advertised on websites was private and the famous hot tub out of use! During the night some drunk neighbour tried to enter our room and all night you could hear your next door neighbours snoring!
Not to say that our room was downstairs next to the toilets and you wouldn't want to know the smells and noises coming out of there in the morning as these are the only toilets in the house! Shower dirty and dark!!!
Next day morning we canceled our second day with a fight with the owner who was very rude!!!
Please avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TamasTegzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philhennem, Owner at Chalet les Frenes, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
This pathetic little weasel told us a pack of lies to get out of his contract. Told us his Mum (who he was traveling with) was very ill and had to get to hospital. Because of this, I let him off paying for the other night he had booked for (which I could have demanded as he agreed to it in his booking contract).

He never complained, never asked for a different room, never asked for anything. I let him off and next thing I get this review.

But in answer to his comments. The entrance room is a boot room so yes, there is a chance you may smell boots and shoes.
Living room is not advertised as public, and that is made very clear.
Hot tub may have been out of use, I cannot remember. If it was it was because people had used it without showering beforehand and the water gets murky and needs a day or 3 to recover. They would not have used it anyhow.
There are 3 toilets and showers in the chalet. Not just one as you state.
The owner (me) was not rude.

When all is said and done, Chalet Les Frenes is a cheap bed and breakfast. Rooms are 60€ per night for 2 people with breakfast included. Don't expect en-suite showers, don't expect 4 star luxury. Expect simple but comfortable accommodation and friendly helpful hosts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very straight the owner, very limited the breakfast 2x croissants per person and the breakfast it is served at 8.30 am which is very late because the bus to chamonix is at 9.35 it means you start doing ski or snowboard at 10:30. You can't use the living room the reason I dont know why the pictures in the website. You can't use the kitchen except for coffee or tea or the microwave... For dinner you shall find problems because the last bus goes at 19:30 to the city. To comeback by Taxi get yourself ready to pay 40 Eur.
To complete the check out is at 11 am, but the owner woke me up at 9 am because he wanted to clean the room, even after several times I said to him I will check out at 11 am he keep ed knocking in the door to wake us up earlier. That's really RUDE. The only friend we found in the house was the Dog.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jorge E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philhennem, Owner at Chalet les Frenes, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
In answer to your comments.

You could have taken breakfast earlier. All you needed to do was ask. Others who were staying at the same time as you had breakfast earlier.

It is clear when you book that the lounge/dining area is where the owners live. You were also sent a mail with links to our site which make this clear. It is also clear that the kitchen is private - it's a bed and breakfast - if you want a kitchen and lounge you should rent an apartment.

Getting back from town at night is easy. There is a night bus at 22.00 and 23.30 - costs 2€ for a return journey. This is clearly marked on the board in the chalet.

I knocked on your door at 9.00am because you did not appear from breakfast and I did not know whether you were in you room or had run off early without paying.

Sorry your stay was not what you hoped. I am sure I could have been more welcoming to you but my overall attitude to you was not helped when you called me at 3am the day before your scheduled arrival to ask for a room for that night when I had already told you earlier that day that all rooms were booked and I could not help you. I did offer suggestions for alternatives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Based on previous reviews we were expecting a lot more from Chalet les Frenes. We tend to book accommodation where we know that the owners will be welcoming, helpful and full of local information, but unfortunately the owners were away for the period of our stay and the lady who was looking after the chalet (although very nice) lacked knowledge about the local area. We had been looking forward to advice about walks/snowshoeing and instead felt a little disappointed that there was no knowledge to tap into. In addition, the hot tub that we read about so eagerly was out of bounds, and despite there being a picture of a communal room (where we anticipated being able to eat dinner) we were told that this was private. Our rooms were perfectly adequate and acceptable for the reasonable price, but this was the only space that we could use.

This, combined with the distance of the chalet from Chamonix did unfortunately leave us feeling disappointed. Although we knew that the chalet was a few km from Chamonix, we found that the bus although good in the daytime made things quite a challenge come evening. As there was nowhere to go other than our room at the chalet we wanted to spend the evening in Chamonix but the last bus was just before 8pm, meaning that we often had to rush our dinner in Chamonix in order to get the last bus. Anyone wanting to enjoy Chamonix in the evening needs to be aware of this - as the walk is 45 minutes (not enjoyable in the rain!).

I do need to emphasise that things could have been very different had the owners been present during our stay, but unfortunately many disappointments combined during our stay to make things little more than average, and certainly lacking in any positives we had expected.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sal_onhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#9 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet les Frenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet les Frenes

Property: Chalet les Frenes
Address: 637 route de Vers le Nant, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Chalet les Frenes 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free breakfast, bike hire and jacuzzi. A typical alpine chalet offering an economic alternative to costly hotels and catered chalets. The chalet is set in the corner of an alpine meadow and looks up at the mont blanc massif and it's glaciers. There are 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a terrace and huge garden for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Chalet les Frenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing