We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous place for a romantic evening meal, with disabled access!”
Review of La Petite Kitchen - CLOSED

La Petite Kitchen
Price range: $6 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: La Petite Kitchen is a new Modern-European style restaurant in the heart of Chamonix. You'll find a warm welcome, good prices, and excellent food.We offer bistro-style food during the day in a fun and chilled café environment. In the evening the space changes into a cosy and relaxed dining room, with great wines from all over Europe and South America which accompany a select, freshly prepared and inventive menu.You won't find better value for money in Chamonix!
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place for a romantic evening meal, with disabled access!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We ate here this evening and were really pleased with the care and attention we were shown by the staff and with our food. We were made to feel really welcome by the waitresses, and the restaurant looked gorgeous with candles both outside and on all the tables. I had scallops to start which were fresh and very tasty, followed by the rib eye steak and chocolate mousse, a real feast. The evening was made extra special by also being given a free amuse bouche of creamy soup, accompanied by local french baguette which came with homemade walnut, and bacon butters. The attention to detail was very much appreciated and we felt very special and well fed! Having a broken leg, and struggling with crutches in the snow, one of the reasons we chose to dine here is because unlike a lot of chamonix's restaurants, it wasn't unaccessible by car, and there were no steps to get into the restaurant as it is all on the ground floor. You will have a lovely evening if you go here for dinner; relaxed, informal, intimate, friendly and very fine food. Thanks for a great dining experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLover L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    82
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We have visited La Petite Kitchen for the last 3 years initially after reading the Tripadvisor reviews. The food is always very good an service attentive.
One point thou, this year we had the table just as you walk in the door. Try to avoid this if possible as
A. you are right in front of the toilet.
B. there is a big draft that comes in from the front door, despite the curtain.
If you get another table, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaz2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent try”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The place is cute, staff is really friendly but the menu just struggles really hard to become fancy. Overall not too bad but this fake fanciness is really putting a ceiling to their own expectations. The chef is british and not a particularly good one. We had the entrecôte which was their most expensive dish and i requested to be rare and my friend ordered a medium rare. They both came well done but deeply well done like no importance was paid on paid on our request or like the chef had no clue. It was tasty though. Anyway, we requested to have a new set of entrecotes cause these were too far away from what we've ordered and the staff happily accommodated. Our newly served entrecotes were a tiny bit closer to our requests but still far far away from the desirable outcome. This time both came medium to well-done instead of rare. We ate them either way cause the didnt taste bad and didnt want to wait longer but we were deeply disappointed. The salad tasty but nothing too special and overly pretentious. Overall nice flavors but nothing special. Wouldn't visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Lef T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and perfect.”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stopped here for a quick lunch. Best pancakes I have ever eaten. Not too spongy but a little bit of body. Perfectly fried in butter. Loved in New York and all around and these were the best. Delicious coffee and tea. Warm friendly service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MFT12371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit!!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Went to this restaurant with two mates as one had been here in the summer. No table available on a busy Sat night but the two charming waitresses proposed us to sit at the small bar area. This gave us a view right into the kitchen where we could admire the fastidious attention of the British (owner) chef and his Swedish co-chef. The plat du jour of stuffed lamb chop with pea samosa certainly didn't disappoint and the roasted chicken was succulent. Adina and Niara were extremely attentive and the food preparation and service operated as a very tightly run ship. The desert of a chocolate mousse with caramel was divine. All in all, it was a very good meal for a very reasonable price. A great way to end a lads' ski break. Try to book to avoid disappointment.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Kitchen also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing