We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in Chamonix”
Review of La Petite Kitchen - CLOSED

La Petite Kitchen
Price range: $6 - $53
Cuisines: European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: La Petite Kitchen is a new Modern-European style restaurant in the heart of Chamonix. You'll find a warm welcome, good prices, and excellent food.We offer bistro-style food during the day in a fun and chilled café environment. In the evening the space changes into a cosy and relaxed dining room, with great wines from all over Europe and South America which accompany a select, freshly prepared and inventive menu.You won't find better value for money in Chamonix!
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Small and cosy. Great service despite being a quiet evening. The menu is small, but offers more than enough to give one a great selection on Savoie cuisine. The wine list is not extensive, but compliments the dishes and even features a South African Pinotage. Spent a great night out with friends!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GlobetrotterOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 283 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visited for my friends 50th birthday as a party of 9. The set menu seamed reasonably priced especially when compared with other food prices in the area and up the mountains. Most of our meals were easily a 9/10 and although some of the mains didn't quite reach the mark, the whole experience was excellent. We loved the additional touches of cauliflower purée before our starters and petit fours to follow dessert. Great alcoholic milk shakes too :)

Thank rocciojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Petite Kitchen

The restaurant is rather small and furnishings are quite simple, but: Service is managed by one young lady who is very nice and efficiently and the food is very good. You get an entire menu for € 35 and can select the courses from the menu. The dishes are presented beautifully and they are creatively prepared. We went there twice during our stay in Chamonix and can highly recommend this restaurant, and please: try the desserts, they are great.

1  Thank in-style-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The menu is quite expensive for what they serve. We enjoyed the starter (salmon and scallops) but the main dish was not as tasty as expected (when you pay this price!) and the desert (brownie) wasn't fresh at all.
The waitress was pushing us to order some digestives and coffee as we were a big table of 9 people. At the end we had to pay 56 euros per person! First we were surprised. Then we noticed they add 10% of service (50€) which is ILLEGAL in France!!! Stop doing this! Thank you! Disappointed group.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LotteVinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivaLondon, Owner at La Petite Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

I am disappointed to read the review from this client. At the end of the meal when asked if they had enjoyed everything they replied that they had, in fact they said that they would come back the next time they visited Chamonix. We did not receive a complaint about the dessert, and if we had we certainly would have changed it immediately.

We ask every table if they would like a digestif with their dessert and coffee as do most restaurants, so this shouldn't seem unusual.

56€ per head is average for a 3 course meal with wine, coffee and digestif in Chamonix. We operate in a seasonal town and the prices reflect this.

Finally the service charge is optional, as explained to the client at the time. They were under no obligation to pay it, it is merely a guidline for international guests as they often are unsure how much to leave for service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We enjoyed this place. They have good aura. Restaurant is were cosy and staff is friendly. We chosen scalops as starter and it was delicious. Steak also was good. This is great place for friends diners and family diners. As we are from Riga we were happy to meet person who was with Latvian origin in restaurant

Thank Ralfs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Kitchen also viewed

Argentiere, Chamonix
 
Vallorcine, Chamonix
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing