We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views - shame about the sleep quality”
Review of Vert et Blanc

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vert et Blanc
Ranked #7 of 29 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Bayeux, France
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great views - shame about the sleep quality”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed a night recently at Vert et Blanc. All in all, hospitable and friendly service - David is a warm and welcoming host. Our room was smaller than expected (and we have stayed in many chalets over the years, so we weren't expecting a Presidential Suite, but this was surprisingly small). Gorgeous bed linen! Small bathroom but certainly adequate (beware the small shower if you are a larger person - showers are never huge in France but this one was perhaps the smallest we've ever come across). Unfortunately, the night we were there, two or three groups arrived very late - we were woken at around 11 with suitcases clunking along the hallway and loud voices, then again not long after with more late-comers - and, finally, a very noisy group checked in at around 1 a.m. I think they finally settled in their rooms well after 2 a.m. - it was impossible to sleep while they were moving between rooms, talking loudly completely oblivious that anyone might be trying to sleep at that hour. Given that this is a B & B and not the Bellagio you might expect to get a decent amount of sleep which unfortunately eluded us. I would recommend Vert et Blanc to a younger group of guests but I think we are well past the age of paying for broken sleep.

Room Tip: One with sound-proofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    38
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
128
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our party of 4 had a fabulous time staying at Vert et Blanc during the week leading up to and during the Marathon du Mont Blanc weekend. It was our first time in Chamonix, so we didn't really know what to expect. I was worried we would end up in an old and musty but over-priced place. But what we got was a lovely place, a superb host by way of David, fantastic service from Julie, and a bunch of other friendly travellers! David and Jackie did a brilliant job restoring and modernizing the chalet -- it's cozy and comfortable, but very modern and well-appointed at the same time. It is not too far from the town center, with easy access to the shops, bars and restaurants via an easy walk along the river. Our room at the top floor was quite comfortable, the bathroom was very clean, breakfast was always filling, and the lounge was a nice place to relax with a glass of wine at the end of the day. David even went the extra mile to send via parcel post some items we inadvertently left in our room. We will certainly go back and stay there again...perhaps next year, if we sign up for the summer trail running events again! I have no qualms recommending this place -- definitely a brilliant B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seekingsatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were met at the train by David, shown around town and then taken to his beautiful chalet with magnificent views of the snow covered Alps. David's hospitality and genuine love of what he does was obvious. We were offered tea and coffee whilst being filled in on the chalet and the surrounding area. The chalet is a lovely easy15 minute walk along the river to the lively town of Chamonix. We preferred to be just out on the outskirts where it's a bit more quiet and peaceful. The view from our room was magnificent as was the view from the lounge and sundeck. The hot tub was welcome for our aching legs after a walk down from the mountain. Breakfast was generous. The honesty bar is a nice touch. I would thoroughly recommend staying here for the views and the way in which we were made to feel very welcome !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place is outside the main town area and very quiet. It was a little difficult to spot if not for the GPS. Our family of four loved this place and Julie provided excellent service and hospitality. We were greeted with hot tea and pastries and made to feel very welcome. The kids immediately fell in love with Angel the cat. We were shown to a larger top floor room with an excellent view of the mountains. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable, and we slept with the window open at night to keep cool. The shower was small (and we're not large) but other than that the room was perfect. In the morning we had delicious hot breakfasts with made to order eggs. Julie was a font of advice. The free wi-fi worked well. We enjoyed our 2 night stay, met some wonderful guests, and took in the fantastic views from the top of Aiguille du Midi (see it!). If we return to Chamonix, we will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Four-Kitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed only one night but have easily could have stayed more. Nice and relaxing with friendly and welcoming hosts David and Jackie.

The rooms were well appointed and tasteful. The huge lounge I can imagine being gorgeous in the winter by the fire. Because it was summer we enjoyed the outdoor terrace with a view of Mt Blanc.

Thoroughly recommend it and hope to be back there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was the first visit to the Alps for my partner and I and we had two wonderful stays at this B 'n B before and after hiking the Mount Blanc Circuit. The host, David, was so helpful and welcoming making us feel completely at home. The rooms are big (though smaller on the top floor) and the bed was great. The ensuite bathrooms were very well equipped with excellent showers and/or baths. There is also a sauna and outdoor spa pool. Breakfasts were hearty and expansive setting us up well for a day in the mountains. A large and very comfortable lounge with a small bar and a billiard table and a large outdoor deck gave plenty of space to relax and chat with other guests. We would recommend this to all though probably not the best pick for a family.

.

Room Tip: The room at the far end on the first floor up is the best if you can get it. There are a few stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaxland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great base for cycling the nearby Cols and byways with well informed hosts providing all the local knowledge that gives you the advantage when choosing that special restaurant or item.
Close to the main hub, although not too close, so that guests can enjoy solitude if wanted.
Stunning views and substantial breakfasts set the scene for any chosen activity. I totally enjoyed my four night stay and will stay again when back in Chamonix.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#15 of 73 in Chamonix
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Lanchers
Hotel Les Lanchers
#8 of 73 in Chamonix
331 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
523 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
397 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vert et Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vert et Blanc

Property: Vert et Blanc
Address: 997 route des Praz, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Vert et Blanc is owned and operated by Jackie & David and has been open since 2004. Operated as a catered chalet during the winter ski season and bed and breakfast during the summer months. The chalet is a real home from home. Guests have use of the spacious sitting room dining room 8 en- suite bedrooms sauna & outside hot tub. The winter catered package includes, breakfast, packed lunch, afternoon tea and dinner 6 nights a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vert Et Blanc Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing