We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Chalet and host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vert et Blanc

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vert et Blanc
Ranked #7 of 27 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Chalet and host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

A brilliant chalet. Great location, wonderful host (thanks Dave). Amazing combination of relaxation, good food, great company, skiing and a bit of dancing. The chalet is lovely, James the chef cooks excellent food and Dave was incredibly helpful in every way. I would highly recommend this chalet to anyone looking for a ski break. Interesting and entertaining combination of other guests who made the stay highly enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    38
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
128
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pozzuoli, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I don't think an Alpine ski vacation can get anymore perfect than at the lovely Chalet Vert et Blanc in beautiful Chamonix France. My friends and I loved every minute of our stay and could not get over the amazing cooking by James the Chef. He is a true artist!
The chalet is located a little ways outside of Chamonix on a residential road. By foot it is about 20 minutes to the town center on the river path which is walkable even on snowy winter nights. There are free bus stops right in front of the chalet, and the buses are very regular and a super convenient way of getting to/from town or the slopes.
The Chalet host, David, makes organizing daily activities very easy. In the mornings while everyone enjoys a great breakfast David comes in to help everyone make ski plans for the day based on weather conditions, or provides information on planning alternative activities. He then takes everyone out to the slopes and drops them off and arranges a pick up time for the end of the day. How simple is that? David also books lift tickets upon arrival and takes everyone to pick up their gear the first morning.
Evenings in the chalet are all about luxury and begin with drinks and canapés next to the fire in the bar/living room area. A little while later dinnertime begins and everyone moves to the table to eagerly await James' announcement of the dinner menu. Dinner is comprised of an appetizer, main course, desert and cheese service. Every aspect of the dinner service is exceptional and the meals are amazing. Wine is included with the dinner service and so is after dinner coffee, tea and sweets.
Our room in the chalet was small, but very clean with a modern bathroom and plenty of hot water. I found the thinness of the walls pretty uncomfortable as I could hear even the slightest noises in the room next to me. This is was not a huge issue because all of the people staying at the chalet were very quiet and considerate. However, I think that adding a fan or air purifier in each room to use as a white noise maker would go a long way to providing an added sense of privacy.
We could not have met a nicer group of people staying at the chalet. The environment was very relaxed, and everyone seemed to enjoy sitting in the living drinking some wine, discussing their day and playing some pool. As is typical with a ski trip, most folks were off to bed not long after the dinner service to get rested up for another day of skiing.
Chamonix itself is a beautiful town with tons to do even for non-skiers. It is full of wonderful and picturesque restaurants, amazing shopping and several apres ski bars. The town is most active during the apres ski hours, which is a great time walk along the pedestrian areas drinking vin chaud from the sidewalk stands and shopping for treats at the beautiful charcuteries.
Overall I cannot say enough about the chalet. Vert et Blanc is an elegant, yet laid-back, European chalet experience not to be missed.
Traveler tip: Bring some warm slippers from home because outdoor shoes are not permitted inside to keep out the mud/snow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a wonderfull week in chalet vert et blanc with 2 family's single use. We were 12 adults and 4 kids from 1 to 3 year old. The chalet had a good size living room,( ideal with 4 kids) bar, snooker table, a lovely hot tub and sauna.David was a super host and brought the skiers to the slope and back home in the evening. Nathalie provided a good service during the meals and was always very friendly. Every morning there was a special of the day( omelet with cheese our salmon etc) but also any other cooked option, prepared by James who also cooked a wonderfull meal every evening : lam, fish, confieted duck ( the real one, it took him 2 days of preparation) everything was just delicious. So thank you to all of them for this super holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerdaEdegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My son and I have recently been on out first ski trip together. I work away so time with my boy is precious. Chamonix is of course a fantastic venue and has everything you could want in a French ski resort, with fantastic slopes and facilities, restaurants and shops to cater for all. That being said a holiday is not complete without a great place to stay.
Vert et Blanc is a very comfortable, warm and welcoming place to stay. The rooms are good and there is nothing that you really need left wanting. The food is excellent with a very good selection of wines served, all differing every night. All of the food is prepared by a great chef, James. He was absolutely great with my son and really listened to what he needed and put so much effort in to making his dining experience special. All the guests were looked after very well in all aspects whether it be ski related, or anything else for that matter. Dave and Jackie, the owners, are fantastic. They help in any way possible and simply cant do enough for you.
I must admit I can be fussy particularly where my son is concerned, as I think all parents are. I was not disappointed at Vert et Blanc. My son really felt at home and very relaxed around the place, and was able to really relax and be himself. This of course helped me to do the same.
In short, if you have kids or if you don't, Vert et Blanc is a place that you can go to with confidence that you will have a good holiday and will be looked after.
Thanks to all the guys, we will both be seeing you again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pants73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice Chalet in a good position. The food was excellent - breakfast, which included a cooked special or you could choose a cooked option/cereal etc. Dinner was also a very enjoyable experience with hor d'erves and 3 courses including wine + cheese which I only managed on one evening due to the generous portions.

We stayed for a week and thought the chalet was very comfortable, we had some issues with the heating in our room (top floor) but David was quick to sort it out. WI-FI was a bit patchy on the top floor but worked fine in the lounge.

Chalet location was fine, we walked into Chamonix on a few evenings along the footpath which follows the river and it took around 20 minutes. We also walked to a bar les rhododendron in Le Paz which was only a about 10 minutes away.

The skiing was good and David dropped us at the lift of our choice and also offered advice of best place to ski for that particular day, he offered to pick us up in the evenings from the lift but we used the local free bus service which was simple and excellent to use and dropped right outside the Chalet (the stop is "Les Illettes").

We picked the Chalet as we expected there would be other couples but the week we picked was mainly groups of guys, a mix of Brits and ANZACs plus a group of Norwegians and a group of Dutch all of whom were excellent company.

Overall, a very enjoyable holiday.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChefGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay here after looking at reviews for accomodation in Chamonix. It is indeed, as the reviews all say, a comfortable, warm and homely place to stay. We were welcolmed by our host David, who also helped us with our ski hire and ski passes, which we appreciated. Each day he advises the best area for skiing, and will take you there.
Our room was comfortable and clean, if a little on the small side. I would suggest, as other reviewers have, that more hooks in the room would help, and the modern bathroom needs more shelving to store your bathroom products.
The standard of the meals provided is very good and the other guests at the long dining table made for very entertaining evenings in a cozy atmosphere.
The ski Domains in Chamonix are spread over a wide area, which means transport to and from the slopes is required. As we have only skied at ski in/ski out places, we found that a lot of time is taken either driving or getting 2 buses, to and from the chalet.
However if you choose to ski in Chamonix, Chalet Vert et Blanc is a lovely friendly home away
from home.
My only other suggestion would be an update of their website, which clearly gives the impression that Jackie and David are a team on site to look after you. All your enquiries and bookings are done through Jackie, so it is quite disappointing to find she no longer lives on site. One gets the impression that the chalet would be better served with two hosts instead of one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first time vacationing chalet-style. Apparently it is more of vacation style of Europeans, but seeing as we were going to Europe for a ski holiday we thought we'd do it the European way! Upon arrival, David, one of the two chalet owners, showed us around and offered to drive us into town (Chamonix). We ended up walking into town (it took us about 30 minutes, probably faster in the summer when the path is free of snow and ice). It was a beautiful walk along a protected pathway adjacent to a cute stream.

We spend the next two days skiing. David offered to drive us each morning to whatever ski area we wanted to visit. (He even drove us to the ski rental shop the night we arrived and helped us choose our equipment.) The chalet is closest to the Flegere ski lifts, but accessible by car to all the other areas in just a few minutes. The buses are also quite efficient, and there is a bus stop for the 2 and 11 lines right outside the chalet.

The highlight of our stay was the food we ate at the chalet and the social atmosphere in the evenings. David recently hired a new chef who made outstanding food. We indicated by email ahead of time that one of us was a vegetarian, and although I don't believe the message made it to the chef, he was extremely flexible when we told him in person, and cooked outstanding food for both the general group and the vegetarian.

After a long day of skiing, it was wonderful to come home to tea and freshly made baked goodies, lounge around in the hot tub or in front of the fire place, and then sit down to a delicious multi-course meal. Everyone staying there was friendly, and we thoroughly enjoyed the diversity of the guests and the fun we had getting to know them all.

The rooms are cozy and perfect for falling into bed. While the internet wasn't so strong on the second and third floors, we found that it worked well enough in the common space.

All in all, we had a terrific weekend and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eytan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Lanchers
Hotel Les Lanchers
#8 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vert et Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vert et Blanc

Property: Vert et Blanc
Address: 997 route des Praz, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Vert et Blanc is owned and operated by Jackie & David and has been open since 2004. Operated as a catered chalet during the winter ski season and bed and breakfast during the summer months. The chalet is a real home from home. Guests have use of the spacious sitting room dining room 8 en- suite bedrooms sauna & outside hot tub. The winter catered package includes, breakfast, packed lunch, afternoon tea and dinner 6 nights a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vert Et Blanc Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing