We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forget this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Dru

Le Dru
Ranked #175 of 221 Restaurants in Chamonix
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nice, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Forget this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

It has been the worst place we visited in Chamonix (we have tested around 6 restaurants during our stay): service, food, wine and price. Do not want to waste my time in preparing the review when we have nothing to recommend and your time for reading the review.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngkorGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    85
    62
    55
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“don't go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Staff is not interested is their guests. Don't want to try to understand people who are not speaking French (Japanese family). You have to wait very long before you can pay your bill. If you ask for water you get water from the tap, but not cool (it was warm!)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tasduivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
317 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good fondue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We ate here our first night in Chamonix and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The fondue was great with a green salad and nice bottle of Gerwertztraminer. Staff was friendly and moved us inside for dessert during a thunderstorm. Panna cotta was yummy with yellow raspberries that we never experienced before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TakeMeAway44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worst service ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

The waitress looked rough and was. The worst customer service I have ever experienced. Dirty smelly plates as well - DO NOT EAT HERE.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CheddarClimbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very poor.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The barbie option is to be avoided. Staff not intetested - typical of Chamonix. The at table barbie was cold and unable to cook the meat provided. To be fair the meat was of good quality.

Go else where.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Agincourt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Dru also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Dru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing