We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A port in a storm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Novel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Novel
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Annecy
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A port in a storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in July 2013. In France for Classic Motorcross with motorhome, BUT,
husband (rider) crashed heavily & had to spend 2 nights in a neurosurgical ward in Annecy Hospital.
My son booked the hotel on line, pre Tour de France race weekend so lots of men in lycra
and hotel rooms at a premium. Anyway the hotel was spotlessly clean obviously very recently
renovated to a high standard, and the welcome was well very much appreiciated. I had the
best lasagne I have ever had, they looked after me as I was a little shell shocked by all that
had happened. All my friends had gone back to the UK taking my motorhome with them, and the Hotel owners couldnt have been more kind and considerate. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    64
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
36
58
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for four nights at the end of August 2012. We found the hotel to be fair for the price. I don't know where othe reviewers have got their comments from (maybe from a different hotel) . The accomodation is over four floors (there isn't a fifth floor). The rooms are kept clean and the towels are changed for fresh clean ones every day. The staff were friendly and helpful and made our stay a memorable one.
The rooms where well fitted out with modern decor and furniture. The hotel was at the same standard as an Ibis or Campanile. The standard is good, basic if a little plastic
The location is about 20 minutes walk from the lake and there are one or two restaurants in the area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Tim5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

For £100+ a night in a place like this I would expect a clean room with a decent bathroom. It felt more like a bail hostel. The staff were friendly enough but it doesn't compensate for the dirtyness and lack of refinement. Disappointing. How do these places stay in business I don't know.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flagstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Annecy hotels

London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We needed an overnight stop on route across France to the UK. This Hotel is in a pleasant residential location and the staff are friendly and helpful. With regard to the room, it has seen better days (about 25 years ago judging from the state of the furnishing). However if you want to relive the 70's, in a shabby sort of way, this would be OK. However, I think stained grouting, saggy mattresses and worn out bed spreads probably were not popular then either. Oh, and there was not ONE plug available to charge up a phone etc. Any plugs in the room were inaccessible or sort of fused to the wall. Not very useful these days.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

but would need a renewal and new decoration to make it more appealing to customers.
Our room looked more like a room at a hostel, not a hotel. It was also quite noisy and there was no air conditioning. Because of the noise coming from the quite big road just outside (we had to keep the window open since it was so hot), we could not sleep very well. I think the price was too high.
There was no fridge/mini bar.
A good quality free wi-fi connection that worked perfectly well at all times!
A good restaurant at the hotel.
And I want to stress that the staff was really great and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniina73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
2.3 mi away
Mercure Annecy Sud
Mercure Annecy Sud
#2 of 4 in Seynod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN International Annecy
1.1 mi away
Hotel Catalpa
Hotel Catalpa
#7 of 40 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
1.3 mi away
Mercure Annecy Centre
Mercure Annecy Centre
#13 of 40 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novel

Property: Hotel Novel
Address: 69 avenue de France, 74000, Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet wooded area in Annecy, the Hotel Novel - Restaurant La Mamma is open all year round for holiday or business. Our hotel offers free public parking, free wifi connection and a room for storing bicycles. Connected to the lake by a wide pedestrian and bike trail, and to the city by urban bus lines, its location is ideal for quiet vacations. Our three-star hotel has sixty-eight rooms renovated in 2012 that combine comfort and functionality. Three of them are accessible to people with reduced mobility and a dozen can accommodate families. All rooms are soundproofed and have a private bathroom, flat-screen TV, air conditioning. The reception is reachable 24 hours / 24 and 7/7 and our staff speaks several languages. Our restaurant "La Mamma", recognized as Maître-Restaurateur, offers home cooking with specially selected products. The Chef serves traditional cuisine with Savoyard and Italian specialties. Also take advantage of our two terraces for a meal or a coffee break at the hotel's bar. Our hotel is a great place for seminars and meetings. Our four modular rooms suits your needs and can accommodate 150 people. We have a nightclub for private parties. We also offer circuits for groups to discover the Pays de Savoie and accommodation or food services. Two places for buses are close to the establishment. Enjoy a quality stay in Annecy in our establishment with a family atmosphere and with our warm and available team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Novel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing