We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel!”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Vancovuer
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little hotel!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice location atop the hill near the castle. Close to everything. Cute rooms all with ensuites. Basic but good breakfast. Great hotel cats on site with a beautiful terrace to sit on. Staff very friendly and parking is very close.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank get0uttat0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    103
    34
    13
    4
See reviews for
28
119
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very nice hotel. Lovely location, ideal for exploring the old town. Considerate but ineffectual owners. Clean and basic. You MUST check, before booking and before registering who else will be staying with you. We unfortunately hit on a very, very loud Italian party who were literally having a party in the breakfast room all afternoon and evening and who then came in noisily until 2AM. We were then awakened at 5AM from noise on the street, and then a total CACAUPHONY took over from 7 AM onwards. You must go down to the breakfast room yourself in order to get the breakfast, so best not to misinterpret their breakfast in bed offer. Could have been a lovely hotel, but after three hours of sleep, two exhausted parents who were hoping for a quiet night and a lie in were DEEPLY disappointed. We were offered an apology, but no reduction for our sleepless night. To be recommended in all other ways. Just bring earplugs! Lovely view on a beautiful garden and the castle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DVDS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We are at Hotel du Chateau for 2 nights and the other reviews match our experience. Owner is very helpful and responsive. The room is small and clean with a great view and updated window that opens nicely. Bathroom is tiny and standard for this type of hotel. We did motice a slight odor of sewer gas in the bathroom that we attribute to the age of the building and nothing to do with what appears to be overall good cleanliness ofvthe hotel. The bed and linens are very comfortable and we love the location for easy walking to the town, lake, shops and restaurants. We got here early and secured one of the few parking spots. We are cat lovers and really enjoyed the two resident kitties who are quite friendly!!! Breakfast is convenient and reasonably priced for good coffee, yougurt, fresh fruit and croissants. You can hear other guests but this has not been a problem.
Overall, a great value for basic comfort in a terrific location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sastillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here on our way home from the Alps for one night only. The hotel is perfectly placed for the town, restaurants, chateau and the lake.
Our room had a view out over the rooftops of the town but we couldn't see the lake or the chateau. The room was clean, warm and prettily decorated but we would have to agree with other reviewers that sound proofing is pretty non existant. It was a shame that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
Breakfast was minimal but lovely fresh croissants and bread.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murraysDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Location is super. Rooms are simple but clean and nice. Castle (Chateau) is 20 meters far. View from the windows is great. All town attractions and restaurants are a short walk away. Quiet, good place for a short stay. We stayed there on our way to ski for one night, and enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonidbrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We first stayed in this hotel some 20 years ago and still find its charm, location and value-for-money delightful. Our Saturday night stop there in February 2013 confirmed this opinion. A short stroll down one of the many cobbled streets or flights of stone steps takes you right into the heart of old Annecy with its beautiful old buildings and waterways leading to the gorgeous lakeside park. On Sunday morning there is a wonderful street market in the old town selling mainly local produce - the cheeses are amazing ! Hotel staff (and cats !) are very friendly and helpful, breakfasts are sumptuous, rooms and bathroom facilities are perfectly clean and kitted out and not too small. There seems to be quite a variety of room configurations available : we had a triple room as we had our teenage son and 2 little doggies with us ! The beds and bed linen were amongst the most comfortable we've ever come across. The only down-side is that, as the walls are very thin, even the comfort of the beds will not guarantee an unbroken night's sleep !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The lady at the reception was very nice and checked us in very quickly. No lift so you have to walk up the 2 flights. The view from our room was very nice and the room very quaint. It was clean and very quiet. The bathroom is not very big but its fine. There was free wifi, reception was not great but it did the trick. the price was very fair for the location. I would stay here again if i go back to Annecy. You can park in front of the hotel for free but it can be full, otherwise there is a parking right beside the chateau.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.2 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 47 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Carlton
1.0 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 16 Rampe DU Chateau, 74000, Annecy, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing