We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Annecy!!!”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Perfect location near the castle 20 metres from the city centre.
Nice and big bedrooms
Very clean
Friendly owners

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betti2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 226 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nice hotel located on the highest hill in Annecy, next to the Chateau with great views. The room was small but very comfortable.
At the bottom of the hill is the main town center with great shops, bars and restaurants.
Driving-follow directions to the Chateau, drive past front entrance and bear right to hotel, limited free parking.
A large Merc estate was unloading when I arrived, blocking access to the last small space for my car. The owner/manager took my keys and parked it for me later, while I went off sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This was an excellent place for us in the old section of the truly gorgeous Annecy. The hotelnis up a hill, so if you have trouble with knees it could be difficult. But we liked it a lot. There's the option to take your breakfast on an outdoor terrace looking out on the city. The room was good - roomy and nice. We particularly liked the people who worked there - very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhusting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

If you're looking for a nice, simple place to stay for a couple of nights, I'd highly recommend this hotel. (It's not a business type hotel with characterless executive rooms and all mod cons. Rather it's small and has some character. The location is just perfect - ask for a window looking out over the town toward the lake - we had a wonderful view over the rooftops. On arrival the person behind the desk was very friendly too - no hassles whatsover - room booked online via hotel.com and it was all ready and sorted when we arrived. The hotel is small and simple, as was the room. The bathroom was rather pokey dark and stuffy though, but all very clean. We didn't bother with breakfast as for the same price you can have something nice at one of the cafes by the canals. Don't worry about the hotel being up a hill - it's a very very short stroll and so worth it for the view. An easy 5-10min walk from the train station too. And it's perfect for visiting the castle, literally across the road. All in all, for a simple, down-to-earth, local hotel, this place was great.

Room Tip: Email to ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Firstly, you must like animals - they have two cats and a lovely golden labrador who will greet you enthusiastically. (Not a problem for us, we love animals and have two dogs ourselves.)

This hotel is clean, pretty, comfortable and perfectly located for the old town of Annecy, right beside the castle and literally a 2 minute walk away. Beware, it is 2 minutes *up* a very steep hill on your way back from the town - that said, our 2-yr-old daughter was ok to walk up unaided, albeit slowly, so it's not as bad as some other reviews might imply - it's a fairly short climb and there are steps.

There is also parking (limited, but my parents and I both got a space) which seems to be unique amongst hotels this close to the centre. Free parking *and* a 2 minute walk in to the old town is just great!

Some other reviews refer to the top floor rooms as shabby. I am writing this review from a decent sized top floor room (number 18, for reference - worth requesting this one specifically, as it seems to be larger than most, though all are nice) on the gable end overlooking the old town and judging by the smell of fresh paint on the top floor, fortunately overwhelmed by the more pleasant smell of new pine furniture in our room, it is very recently refurbished. The shower isn't great, but I can live with that. And obviously there's free wifi - I'm using it right now.

Our room is delightful, the view is great, the bed is comfortable and they have provided a cot for our daughter. My parents are in the room next door which, while smaller, is just as nicely and newly decorated.

Breakfast was a simple one, continental, but perfectly nice and served in a cute little dining room.

Note, I've given it three stars for Service simply because there is no real service (there's no lift, no minibar, etc. etc.) - this bears no reflection on the staff, who are really nice people, it simply reflects the hotel is simple in the services available.

In terms of value for money this hotel is definitely a full 5 out of 5. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

From the exterior Hotel du Chateau appears to have been refurbed but the accomodation on the top floor belied this impression. The rooms were tiny and accessed by a winding staircase, no lift. The mattress, linen and toiletries were barely adequate and there are few facilities in the property. The position is good if you are fit - a fairly stiff hill. All in all, we felt guest house would be a better description.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanNWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Good location. Steep short hill to climb but it was not a problem for us. Very clean and comfortable.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank travelerkailuahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.2 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.2 mi away
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 47 in Annecy
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Carlton
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#5 of 47 in Annecy
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: 16 Rampe du Chateau, 74000, Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range: $75 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing